SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2005, 02:58 PM
rpartridge rpartridge is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to rpartridge
Odd Delete Behavior

When playing back a non-favorite recording that was scheduled manually (a selection in browse by category), I accidentally hit the record button. When I stopped the recording, it was deleted. I tried it again with another show that i had watched and didn't care to keep, and the same thing happened. Is this a bug or a feature?
I'm using 2.1

Thanks in advance for the help/info,
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2005, 03:08 PM
pcuoco pcuoco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 207
I don't know if this is a "feature" but I believe it's working as intended. Manual records will not delete even after being watched, unless manually deleted. However, by toggling the record button, it now appears to Sage as a non-manual extra recording which gets deleted first when Sage needs more space for other recordings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2005, 04:10 PM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
You can disable this feature by setting the sage.property value (when sageis shut down):
seeker/clear_partials_and_unwanted_when_ir_off=false

This means that partial recordings and 'unwanted' recordings (those that are not marked as manual records and not favourites) will not be deleted ASAP.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2005, 04:23 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,614
That property should only apply now if the recording mentioned above was still in progress when it was watched & had the Manual Recording setting cleared. v2.1 _should_ leave all existing recordings alone until space is needed for a new recording, in which case ALL non-Manual Recordings & Favorites set to autodelete are eligible for deletion. In other wiords, in v2.1 & later, you should be able to clear the Manual Recording flag and still have the recording remain until space is needed. The v2.2 betas probably fixed some more of this.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2005, 04:45 PM
rpartridge rpartridge is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to rpartridge
Thanks for all the quick responses!

ok... i think i understand that the record button was toggling the recording type. I'm not at my sage box now but if i remember correctly the title outline changed colors. The recording was not still in progress, by the way.
I'm far from out of space on the drive though so i'm not sure why the recording would be deleted right away. Is that the bug that was fixed in a later version?

thanks again,
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2005, 04:59 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,614
An existing, already-completed, recording isn't supposed to be deleted immediately after clearing the Manual Recording marker in v2.1 & later. As nielm suggested, you could try that property -- live TV & such will then only be deleted when space is needed. Also, double check the space settings for your Video Directories in Detailed setup -- there may be plenty of space left on the drive, but perhaps that free space is what SageTV was told not to use.

Appendix C in the v2.1 manual (in your SageTV directory) explains when recordings are deleted.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.