SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2005, 03:45 PM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 752
NVIDIA 6600GT, DirectX9c

I have been spending the last 24 hours trying to get my HTPC back up and running. I caved in and bought an AGP MSI 6600GT 128mb VIVO edition last night and a stick of 512 RAM to get away from the flaky PVR 350 TV output and finally be able to watch some DVDís etc.

I stuck it all in the box after pulling out the old graphics card and installed the latest nVIDIA drivers, and downloaded the trial of the PureVideo decoder. After about 2 hours of trying every single decoder combination I could think of, I just couldnít get playback to work without being at 100% cpu utilization with choppy video, and limited refresh of the OSD. The PureVideo decoder looked nice through Windows Media though.

I finally noticed that I could not get 3D hardware acceleration to enable in Sage and ended up tracking it down to a bad install of DirectX, I think. My old card didnít have 3D graphics, so I donít think it got configured correctly for the new card.

So I ended up formatting my boot disk and reinstalling windows XP SP2, the latest nvidia drivers, the latest Hauppauge drivers and applications and the Pure Video codec. Passed the Direct X 9c hardware test for 3d rendering etc. Yay.

But, now I canít get anything else to work. Every time I try to set up the WinTV2000 application it only detects 2 or 3 cable channels, and then hangs the system when it completes, auto programing. I have tried both the 250 card and the 350 card independently, in different PCI slots. Same result.

That got me thinking that maybe its something else. So after installing the intervideo codec for Hauppauge I tried to open some recorded video in Windows Media player. No, Joy, 100% cpu utilization between the explorer and wmplayer processes, no video, and the OS basically froze solid.

So I thought it was a codec issue. Removed the nvidia pure video codec, removed the intervideo drivers, and made sure there that there was nothing else set as a preferred codec, and tried to open a WMV recording in Windows Media 9 and the same thing happened. 100% cpu utilization between the explorer and wmplayer processes, and no video.

I tried connecting to some online content via the ďnow playingĒ thing in WM9 and it locked up good again

I removed all the NVIDIA drivers and installed the ones that came from MSI, and then updated them via the MSI utility. Same thing.

Now I am testing the RAM for faults, but there have been none detected in the last 45 minutes.

Next step is to take install Windows Media 10 to see if that helps, then I might have to take out the 6600GT and put the matrox back in to see if it is related to the card. Maybe load some alternate video software. I havenít even gotten Sage reloaded. I mean, I should be able to play windows media files on a fresh install shouldnít I? Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by Humanzee; 11-10-2005 at 07:18 PM. Reason: More Discovery
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2005, 07:23 PM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 752
Ok, i narrowed it down to DirectX and 3D acceleration. When DirectDraw, or Direct3D or AGPTexture Acceleration are enabled in dxdiag.exe the computer simply won't play most media formats. It will play some AVI formats though.

With 3d acceleration disabled it will work but with high cpu utilization very slow command response and only with the default video renderer. No VMR9.

Running DirectX 9c

Next is to look into motherboard compatiblility issues

Last edited by Humanzee; 11-10-2005 at 07:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2005, 07:26 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
I am guessing that there is some "residual" affects to your old video card. I have noticed problems like this when I tried to change from a burnt out nvidia to an old ati I had. It just didn't work right. I have always had to reinstall windows to get it to work right. I think there are utilities out there though that can whipe your registry of previous video card installs. You may want to search for it here in the forums or on the web.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2005, 07:35 AM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
He already mentioned that he reformatted with the same results. I'd point my finger at a faulty MSI video card. Sounds like it's just not performing like it should with 3d Accel turned on.
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2005, 04:53 PM
Humanzee's Avatar
Humanzee Humanzee is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 752
I got it figured out last night, I did some research online regarding my motherboard and that video card combination. Im not the only one who had problems. The motherboard was just in need of an updated chipset driver. Luckily my timing was good, the update was dated October 10. There hadn't been an update for a year before that. If I had tried making this switch a month ago I might have not been able to fix it.

Now everything seems to be working well, and I am quite happy with the PQ of the 6600GT. I think it is comperable to the PVR-350, and no more EOF lockups.

Thanks for your help anyway, I was pulling hair out there for a while. I guess the leason learned is to alway update all of your drivers first before you reinstall the operating system. Just to make sure. I bet I have learned that leason before though. I need a transfer out of the school of hard knocks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.