SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2006, 12:59 PM
Rezolution Rezolution is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 147
Which PVR-150 to buy as a "second tuner"

So I bought the model 1045 PVR-150 from Hauppehauge and I love it. Now it's time to add another card, but for the life of me, I can't figure out which one I need...

I bought the 1045 model that came with all the extras I didn't need because it said it was Win XP compatable. Now I need to get the second card as an add on, but can't figure out which of the non white box ones I need so that it is the same card that came in the model 1045 box... which of the following is the same card as the one that came in the 1045 box?

Model #: 1062

Or

Model #: 274

Or

Model #: 1042
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2006, 03:36 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
All of the PVR150s work with XP.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2006, 07:57 PM
camus camus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 357
What do you plan on connecting to it?
__________________
AMD Athlon 3000 |1GB Memory | eVGA 7600GS | 80GB, 300GB and 500GB SATAII | HDHomerun |Hauppage PVR-150 | SageMC 16x9 | Windows XP Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2006, 09:04 PM
AngelofDeth AngelofDeth is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 359
Well, as others said, all the "PVR-150s" are basically the same. One of the part numbers you listed below is the MCE "kit" which comes with a remote. If you need a remote you could get that one, if you don't, just get the regular MCE edition which is the cheapest one and does not come with a remote. The MCE cards also come with an FM radio tuner, and standard audio inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2006, 09:22 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Rezolution,

I vaguely recall something about the hauppauge drivers having problems when you try to put an MCE (FM tuner, no remote) and non-MCE (with remote) pvr150 in the same system. I don't know if that ever got resolved, but it is probably worth checking if you are planning on mixing them. If I'm wrong, I apologize for spreading FUD.

Aloha,
Mike

EDIT: Here is a link to another thread where this was mentioned.
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)

Last edited by MeInMaui; 08-14-2006 at 09:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2006, 12:21 PM
Rezolution Rezolution is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 147
All is good...

I just got my new tuner card...

(to recap) -- I had the 1045 pvr150 installed, then then I added:

WINTV-PVR-150 MCE NON-FM WHITE BOX W/ MCE 2005 DRIVERS ONLY - 274
It did not use the same drivers as the 1045 (when added the card, it came up with a question mark and would not accept the PVR150 drivers that came with the 1045), so I had to go to their website and download the "latest pvr150 drivers". After I installed the "lasted pvr 150 drivers", then XP recognized it. I'm not sure if it updated the drivers for the 1045 or not, but I know it worked for the 274.

Now I can record from two different channels at the same time! SageTV uses less than 2% of my CPU when recording two different channels and I can still run World of Warcraft at about 50fps!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2006, 05:42 PM
garyellis garyellis is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 511
Better choice for me was to get a PVR 500. It is just (2) 150's on a card and works with XP,even though it says MCE...Now with my 150 and my 500, I have 3 tuners. And only one coax for the 150 and 1 coax for the 500. The 500 splits the signal to the (2) 150's on the card..and the same drivers work for all.

If I remember right..the 150 is about $90 and the 500 is about $130.

just my 2 cents..

Gary Ellis
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.