SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2007, 03:29 PM
DRM2PVR's Avatar
DRM2PVR DRM2PVR is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 106
Which dual tuner should I buy? See my needs..

I'm setting up a "Free-vo" for a friend of mine using my current software/hardware which gives me a great excuse to upgrade to 6.0 and a new card. I currently have a PVR-250 w/remote which allows me the bare minimum of analog tuning of channels 2-99 and channel 100-999 via s-video and usbuirt from my external cable box. This setup has served me very well and I really have no gripes other than the ocational recording conflict, hence, my desire to add an additional tuner. I dont plan on adding an additional cable box any time soon so having 2 svideo is not immediately essential but definately desireable. Having 2 analog channel 0-99 tuners is definately required. I've been looking at the pvr-500 as a possible option and think this is possible since I have the usb-uirt but I will need a replacement remote (can I buy just the remote on ebay and will it work without the card on usbuirt?). I have a streamzap on my client machine in another room but I'm not imressed, it crashes if left alone. Any other options?

Also, while I have HD available, I do not yet subscribe... and I dont think there are any over-the-air ones that will reach me. I like the idea of adding HD if it doesnt limit the requirements above.

Help me out- what should I go with- Reviews?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:47 AM
bznotins's Avatar
bznotins bznotins is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 57
Depending on where you live you might get HD channels for free over Clear QAM. If that's the case I would definitely recommend the Hauppauge HVR-1600. Be sure to get the model code that supports QAM.

It has one digital tuner and one analogue. HD sure is pretty over QAM!

According to this thread the model that Sage is selling is the one you want.

To get QAM support with that tuner you have to be using the most recent beta RC since the feature has just recently been added.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2007, 10:03 PM
DRM2PVR's Avatar
DRM2PVR DRM2PVR is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 106
Thanks for you feedback. I suppose I could go this route but I'd need to piggyback an additional card onto this to get my dual tuner for a cable channels. Along those lines, maybe I'd be best to run 2 cards so as to get the Hauppague remote rather than the clunky streamzap one. Are there specific models cards that dont mix well, liek a 500mce and a pvr-250, or 2 pvr-250s.. or a 150 and 250, etc?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2007, 01:17 AM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
Get a snapstream FireFly remote, it's cheap and RF.

I would go PVR500, actually I did.

If you want HD add an HDhomerun.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:44 AM
Chroner Chroner is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
I've been using a nVidia dualTVMCE since last novemeber and haven't had any problems with it at all. setup was simple and sage recognized it right away. it came bundled with an MCE remote and the pureVideo bronze decoder. The product has been discontinued since March because it has only analog tuners on it, but there may still be some floating around.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost 2nd Tuner on terratec cinergy dual tuner michaeldjcox Hardware Support 2 07-10-2007 01:57 AM
Dual Tuner issues kck SageTV Software 4 05-25-2007 12:18 PM
help two dual tuner cards will not work rnewman Hardware Support 8 01-03-2007 07:48 PM
Dual HD tuner card that works with Australia and Sage Camels Hardware Support 0 07-25-2006 06:14 AM
BDA Tuner Test Application Stealth1971 Hardware Support 17 04-19-2005 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.