SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2009, 02:08 PM
uberpixel uberpixel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 238
Fast single core better than slow dual core?

Here's my current SageTV server setup:
---
Pentium 4 530 (3.0ghz) single core
MSI 915G Combo Mobo
2gb DDR2 800 RAM
HDHomerun
Windows Home Server

Would I have better or worse performance if I moved the server to this config instead?

Proposed setup:
---
Intel Core2Duo E4300 (1.8ghz) dual core
Abit AB9 QuadGT
2gb DDR2 800 RAM
Windows Home Server
HDHomerun

My current setup works fine with my HD200, but Placeshifter on my laptop (Dell Inspiron 6000 w/ 2.0ghz Pentium M) either pegs the server cpu with transcoding or maxes out the laptop without transcoding. This test was run with the Laptop connected to a LAN and while the server was also recording 1 HD program via HDHomerun and streaming 1 SD program to the HD200.

This is all hardware that I have on hand. I'd prefer not to spend a lot more money, but I could possibly swing a new CPU for the ABIT mobo. Maybe a low cost quad core like the Q8400 (2.66ghz).

Any ideas out there?

Thanks!

Last edited by uberpixel; 11-21-2009 at 04:57 PM. Reason: made title more general
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2009, 09:40 PM
MrD MrD is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 387
go for a e8400 -- speed kills peaches

half the power too
__________________
[size=1]-MrD
=============
Linux Server 7.1.9 (1)HD300 (1) HD200 (1) HD100 (2) PC Clients
Intel Xeon L? 32Gb
CetonTV cable card /FIOS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2009, 12:55 AM
uberpixel uberpixel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrD View Post
go for a e8400 -- speed kills peaches

half the power too
Thanks for the advice, but I have no idea what you mean by that.

I'd really prefer to work with what I have already.

Will a dual core E4300 @1.8ghz be better than a single core P4 @3ghz?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2009, 06:13 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by uberpixel View Post
My current setup works fine with my HD200, but Placeshifter on my laptop (Dell Inspiron 6000 w/ 2.0ghz Pentium M) either pegs the server cpu with transcoding or maxes out the laptop without transcoding. This test was run with the Laptop connected to a LAN and while the server was also recording 1 HD program via HDHomerun and streaming 1 SD program to the HD200.
If you're concerned with transcoding being done on your server the 1.8GHz dual core is not going to solve your issue. You would need both the additional cores and the speed to solve that issue. Especially if you may look at commercial skipping on that same server. The 1.8GHz dual will work for WHS but the transcoding and other processes are CPU intensive as you have discovered. With multiple cores Sage can run on a core and the transcoding can run on another. Single core (including your 3.0GHz hyperthreading) is still a single core.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2009, 07:02 AM
Graygeek Graygeek is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 193
When I jumped from a P4 to and E4500, similar to the E4300. It was a huge difference, CPU Temp was at least 10c lower and processor utilization was much, much lower. I run two extenders etc. See my sig. I recently upgraded to the PDC6300, nice value processor. Difference was not that noticeable. I run commercial skip and do some transcoding. The E4500 was fine for that, not a fastest but it let me enjoy my cup of coffee I tend to be a bit fugal (cheap according to wife) and found the PDC6300 to be a nice balance of performance and cost, the E8400 was just to much cost for my need. Intel has created a very confusing number scheme. This seems to have created a lot of confusion when you are trying to decide what best meets your need. Good luck .... let us know what you choose.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2009, 07:30 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,299
The dual core will definitely be faster. If my memory serves me right, at some point, Intel changed the way they measured their clock speeds - so you cannot compare 3.2ghz to 1.8ghz. The old P4 chip was measured one way and the dual core is measured another way. 1.8ghz under the new measurement system is much faster than 1.8 ghz under the old system.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High CPU use on server, while live playback of R5000. jprine01 SageTV Software 1 01-08-2008 05:31 AM
Can E4300 handle HD Playback? * NO Overclocking * castylx Hardware Support 27 08-23-2007 08:17 AM
Best CPU for a new Sage Server. ybrew Hardware Support 30 06-17-2007 08:25 AM
High CPU usage on SageTV Server jimakrause SageTV Linux 3 04-23-2007 08:35 PM
CPU for new server flavius Hardware Support 33 04-03-2007 03:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.