SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2016, 12:00 AM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 306
Purging library database

I removed hhd that were used for library & changed it for new one. When i removed & replaced library location it gave me duplicate entries for all the files. i tried the suggestion to remove all listings for library import location & hit rescan with locations blank but all the old entries are still showing. how do i properly purge the database & start fresh without having to lose all my other settings or reinstall everything from scratch.

Win 10 Pro
ver 9.0.4.287 with java 1.8.0_101
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2016, 11:15 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I believe you misunderstood what you read. You need the former, exact paths to exist, but be empty and then do a rescan. Sage will see that those old paths no longer contain the files it expected and remove them from the database.

So, if you had a path of C:\Videos\TV Shows\* in the old one and now you have C:\Media\TV Shows\*, Sage needs to see C:\Videos\TV Shows\* as existing, but being empty. Once it sees that and updates its database, you can remove that path. If you had subfolders (i.e. the *) containing media files, those will need to exist and be empty, as well.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2016, 12:20 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,313
You can also set this in Sage.properties:

seeker/disable_root_path_existence_check=true

And then you don't need to make the root directories exist for it to remove the files. It will automatically set it back to false after it checks everything once so you don't need to worry about reverting the setting to false after you make it true.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2016, 02:02 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
You can also set this in Sage.properties:

seeker/disable_root_path_existence_check=true

And then you don't need to make the root directories exist for it to remove the files. It will automatically set it back to false after it checks everything once so you don't need to worry about reverting the setting to false after you make it true.
Woah. Where's that documented?!

EDIT: I had asked why this shouldn't be set to true permanently, but had missed where you said it resets itself. Is there a reason not to let Sage keep this setting as true?
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7

Last edited by Skirge01; 09-02-2016 at 02:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2016, 04:48 AM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 514
Because drives do temporarily go offline, particularly if they're networked drives. But generally speaking, there'd be a lot of screaming to be had if people had SageTV installs which purged a significant portion of it's database because it randomly couldn't access a particular file path at a particular time during startup one day.

Which is why what little (forum FAQ) documentation that comes with that flag typically has warnings about use of it. It is very easy to lose things you don't want to with it turned on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2016, 10:36 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I get that, but wouldn't they just get reimported when the drive comes back online?
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-03-2016, 03:46 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Yes, but you'll lose your watched status on all those files then. And if the drive just happens to be offline when the rescan happens, those files will be gone from Sage for at least the whole day, before Sage rescans again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2016, 12:08 AM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 306
Thanx for the tip! I figured there had to be a way. Since I don't know much about the ins & outs of the coding I thought I' d defer to the experts.

As a side comment, I must admit it would be nice to have functionality like plex that will check & update/purge as needed.

Last edited by Galaxysurfer; 09-04-2016 at 12:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-2016, 11:33 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Yes, but you'll lose your watched status on all those files then. And if the drive just happens to be offline when the rescan happens, those files will be gone from Sage for at least the whole day, before Sage rescans again.
That's the piece I hadn't thought of: watched status. Thanks for pointing that out. As for the rescan, my setup performs one every 90 minutes, so that part wouldn't be that big of a deal.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to rebuild database? Wified Sage My Movies 10 11-19-2010 12:09 PM
Demand for Custom Picture Library and Music Library screens? PLUCKYHD SageMC Custom Interface 62 09-13-2009 06:52 AM
Database Location? PeteCress SageTV Software 4 02-01-2009 03:19 PM
Purging Watched Shows - Looking to backup harddrive personalt SageTV Software 3 11-01-2008 08:40 PM
Database help. stanger89 SageTV Customizations 7 04-16-2006 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.