SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:25 AM
reboot_this's Avatar
reboot_this reboot_this is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Big D"
Posts: 257
Looking for a reputable computer repair shop/person

I am having massive issues with my office computer. I was getting a black screen no POST screen nor any beeps. I did take out the video card at one point and the bios beeped properly, so I swapped in another video card and it booted on the first go, but then crashed a little while later. I then noticed my "LED" equipped RAM sticks doing odd things, too.

I don't have time to troubleshoot each and every component and definately don't have gobs of money to buy and swap parts to pinpoint the problem.

Does anyone here know of an honest and competent computer repair/diagnostic store or person? I live in the N. Dallas, TX area between Denton and Carrollton... and need to get this computer back up and running ASAP!!!

HELP!!!
__________________
HTPC HW: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Q9400, 2GB Corsair RAM, PNY Nvidia GT210 vid card, 3 HVR2250s, 2 PVR250s, USB-UIRT (2 STBs), Internal FireWire/Dual IDE Converter (IFC-1)
HTPC SW: XP Pro/SP 2, SageTV v7.1.5.252 Beta, Java v1.6.0_10, PVR drivers v1.18.21.23257, HVR drivers 7.6.1.27118
HD100 Extender: 2 (server is just a server)
Future plans: 1 more HVR2250, 1 Ceton CC 4-way tuner, 10TB diskspace
Issues: 1 PVR250 not working, system board?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:53 PM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Concord, Ca.
Posts: 1,104
does the ram chip smell? If so, you self diagnossed it already!
__________________
If you're not cheating, your not trying...

My sage rigs:
Server - Windows 2003, Intel 865 PERLL w/ P4 3.2g 1gb ram, 3-PVR250, 3-PVRUSB's, 1 Skystar2, 1 twinhan 102g, 1 starbox DVB-S Cards. Evo network QAM encoder. 1.2TB storage 6.x server + MTSAGE for DVB
Client 1/Master BR - MediaMVP running a 30" Olevia LCD TV.
Client 2/Front Room - Shuttle ST61G4 XPC 1gig ram, 60gb HD, BTC9019 wireless keyboard/mouse & Harmony 880. 6.x client. GF6600GT driving a Sony WEGA 55" rear projection tv.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2007, 06:33 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
I can't help you with finding a repair shop, but I do have a suggestion on your problem. This sounds very much like some of the power supply problems I have had. I would seriously consider changing out your power supply if you can't find a good repair shop in a reasonable time frame. HTH

Aloha,
Mike

P.S. You can PM me if you want any help with troubleshooting.
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)

Last edited by MeInMaui; 02-08-2007 at 06:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2007, 12:19 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
I would second the PSU theory.
My brotherr's PC went kapoot a month ago and the same thing. Black screen with no Post and no MoBo beeps. Changed the Ram first, Vid card second and finally mobo itself... I had an extra pc with the same mobo.
After changing the mobo it booted fine for a while day and then crapped out. Changed the PSU and no problems since...
__________________
If this doesn't work right, Then:
"I'm going to blow up the Earth!"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2007, 01:28 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Yup, that's very similar to what I saw. I built two identical computers two years ago (one for me and one for my neighbor). A few months ago, within 2 weeks of each other, they both came down with the same symptoms. The computers wouldn't boot and wouldn't POST even though the power indicator LED on the motherboard was always lit when plugged in. Removing all non-critical components didn't help until I removed one of the two memory modules. It would then POST. If I reinstalled the module, no POST. If I removed the other module, it would not POST again. If I unplugged the power from the motherboard and jumpered the PS startup circuit (connect the green wire to any black wire in the power connector) it would start up every time. It came down to a problem with the PS under load and the memory module seemed to be the proverbial straw that gave that camel so much trouble. I Replaced both supplies and have not had a problem since. It was a very frustrating problem to troubleshoot, because it seemed so inconsistent at first.

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.