SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2009, 07:21 PM
Kypp Kypp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Playback Video_TS folders on PC

So I have ~200 DVD's backed up to my HTPC that play just fine over my HD200 extender. They are full backups of the entire discs from DVD Shrink in the Video_TS format.

I'd like to be able to play these back on my PC since it is staged in my exercise room and it would be great to be able to play back my DVD collection without the discs while I am burning the miles on the exercise bike. Can anyone let me know how to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2009, 08:00 PM
S_M_E S_M_E is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
My Sage Client plays DVDs in the VIDEO_TS folder format on my PC just fine. All you should need is the client, a network connection to the Sage server and the proper decoder for DVD playback on the PC. Most DVD drives come with a decoder like PDVD5 or whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2009, 08:06 PM
Kypp Kypp is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
I only have one PC that is the server and serves media to my HD200 in the living room. The server happens to be in my workout room and I'd like to be able to play movies directly from it. If I try and play them in Sage then I get a playback exception error.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2009, 08:09 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
You need to use a decoder in Sage that supports playing commercial DVDs. The Sage decoder does not.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2009, 08:20 PM
S_M_E S_M_E is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Yeah, if you're playing from the server that eliminates the client and the network connection but you still need a decoder.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:40 PM
mikel mikel is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 15
Just use this

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Works fine. It's small footprint works with almost any audio/video format.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2009, 04:48 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
You need to use a decoder in Sage that supports playing commercial DVDs. The Sage decoder does not.

Gerry
the MPC project includes a filter that just does the decryption (DECSS), you might be able to use that along with the Sage MPEG decoder w/o getting another one.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2009, 06:06 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
the MPC project includes a filter that just does the decryption (DECSS), you might be able to use that along with the Sage MPEG decoder w/o getting another one.
You can also google for Dscaler5. I believe it is still up on Sourceforge and can do commercial DVDs. And it's free.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2009, 06:15 PM
hingepin hingepin is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 76
KMPlayer is another good one. Easy to set up. Cnet reviewed it as one of the best freeware programs out there.

http://www.download.com/The-KMPlayer...tag=mncol;pick

Last edited by hingepin; 01-30-2009 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2009, 06:23 AM
jetradio jetradio is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 21
Quick question - did you rip your DVDs to one large file, or did you break them up? I didn't break up my files (using DVD Shrink) and I'm having major playback issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STX-HD100 Random Playback Problems with "some" h.264 recordings from HD-PVR shadeblue.com SageTV Media Extender 7 11-03-2008 04:16 PM
Help please! H.264 mpeg4 playback with R5000. cejota3 SageTV Software 9 11-02-2008 04:28 PM
SageTV and import folders bastafidli SageTV Software 0 01-27-2008 12:42 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.