SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2012, 11:27 AM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
XBMC for Android viable alternative?

Just saw this elsewhere:

http://xbmc.org/theuni/2012/07/13/xbmc-for-android/

Could be a good use for the Logitech Revue boxes and such out there?
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2012, 11:47 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Along with a Pivos XIOS xx box may be the answer.

Right now the DS version is on newegg for ~$100 with an XS verison to be anounced according to there forumns. Also on AVS.

I just ordered the DS from newegg to play around with.

XBMC is talking about how they worked with Pivos, so this could be interesting. Especially when the apk hit's the PlayStore for easy download and install.

Last edited by Skybolt; 07-18-2012 at 12:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2012, 11:52 AM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybolt View Post
Along with a Pivos XIOS xx box may be the answer.

Right now the DS version is on newegg for ~$100 with an XS verison t be anounced according to there forumns. Also on AVS.

I just ordered the DS from newegg to play around with.

XBMC is talking about how they worked with Pivos, so this could be interesting. Especially when the apk hit's the PlayStore for easy download and install.
Grab the APK from this mirror:

http://indroid.info/news/pre-built-x...-on-a-nexus-q/

You can install it when you get your DS. I may order one of those this week as well, I already have a Revue on the basement TV (never used really, but it's there to play around with), but sounds like they either won't support the Revue, or it'll be a while before support gets there (if at all).

But at 114.99+1.99 shipping, if they can get it working well enough with their PC-installed XBMC headend (for PVR and everything else), it'd definitely be a decent PC-replacement extender..
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2012, 12:36 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Thanks, I'll let you know how it works out. I should have it by the weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2012, 01:54 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by heffe2001 View Post
Just saw this elsewhere:

http://xbmc.org/theuni/2012/07/13/xbmc-for-android/

Could be a good use for the Logitech Revue boxes and such out there?

My understanding from reading the thread in the android forums is that they are limited to software decoding, and these arm boxes don't have a lot of oomph. So that translates to 720p at best.

I have a galaxy nexus I've been meaning to try it on.

Drew
__________________
Server HW: Xeon CPU E3-1270, 16GB RAM, 9TB Raid-Z + L2Arc,
Server SW: Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64, ZFS on Linux, Java 1.6.0_21, SageTV 7.1.9.1
Tuner HW: Pinnacle 800i, Pinnacle 801e USB, HDHR
Client: HD300, HD100
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2012, 02:09 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewg View Post
My understanding from reading the thread in the android forums is that they are limited to software decoding, and these arm boxes don't have a lot of oomph. So that translates to 720p at best.

I have a galaxy nexus I've been meaning to try it on.

Drew
Mine to, but it should make a decent player etc. for an outside Tv. The AVS write up wasn't that favorable either.

But limited surround sound is fine for bedrooms and outdoors tv, the other things this device brings to the table are pretty cool as well, a complete app store. And who knows what the XS version will bring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2012, 02:19 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Actually it looks like later releases of XBMC will have hardware support.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=136149&page=5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2012, 08:03 AM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Yeah, I was going to mention that too, they don't have hardware decoding YET, but it's planned. I think I'm going to pick up one of those XS boxes when they come out, with this, and the playon android app, I'd be able to access most if not all of my current setup's imported data..
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-19-2012, 10:20 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
If you read the full link in my other post, later this month XBMC should have DS hardware support. The XS sounds like it will be a dedicated XBMC box.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-21-2012, 05:07 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
I guess I should say something about the xios ds - I received it the other day. Its pretty cool, a full tablet ICS 4.0 on the TV. That's also it's down fall, unless you actully want a tablet on the tv. The full app store is available as with any other tablet.

It all works excellant, except, the need for both the IR and RF remotes or an RF mouse/keboard would probally be the best. The RF remote acts as a gyro mouse, but it can't turn the device on or off and its not that easy to scroll with it, the IR remote has power and can scroll. Go figure what they were thinking.

All of the apps seem to wrk real well including the $5 Plex app. Although my BD player has it for free ...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-03-2012, 10:32 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
I was looking at this today and started messing around with XBMC and Sage integration. Sadly, the things I've been finding are pretty outdated. Does anyone know of a guide/plugin/etc for integrating SageTV content with XBMC?
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-03-2012, 10:42 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Have you looked through this yet? http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=87261

EDIT: It might appear to be outdated but it should still work; if not, post to that thread and hopefully someone can help you out.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2

Last edited by darcilicious; 08-03-2012 at 10:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-05-2012, 10:00 PM
kricker's Avatar
kricker kricker is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,137
Send a message via AIM to kricker Send a message via MSN to kricker
That is outdated. It kinda works, but not perfectly anymore. I've been bugging Pix64 to take a stab at writing an add-on for XBMC to work like the Plex add-on. He has gotten busy with real life though and hasn't had the time to tinker with it.

Last edited by kricker; 08-06-2012 at 08:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-2012, 10:16 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Might be time to give Plex a try then
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-06-2012, 07:10 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by kricker View Post
That is outdated. It kinda works, but not perfectly anymore. I've been bugging Pix64 to take a stab at writing an add-on for XBMC to work like the Plex add-on. He has gotten bust with real life though and hasn't had the time to tinker with it.
Way to call me out in public kricker! :-)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-06-2012, 08:40 AM
kricker's Avatar
kricker kricker is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,137
Send a message via AIM to kricker Send a message via MSN to kricker
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
Might be time to give Plex a try then
Been there, done that. Not a fan. Yes I'm an XBMC team member, but I did not let that cloud my judgement. The Plex server just did not run well on my unRaid system and I did not want to load it up on another system. I knew this Android version was coming as well as some other cool things on the XBMC roadmap.

I'll just patiently bide my time waiting for Pix64 to not be busy anymore

Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Way to call me out in public kricker! :-)
Semi public I guess. I mean... how many people still hit the Sage boards and an XBMC topic for that matter?

Last edited by kricker; 08-06-2012 at 08:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-06-2012, 09:01 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
Might be time to give Plex a try then
Be careful with Plex, it requries a HUGE amount of space in your "User" directory.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-06-2012, 11:42 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
Might be time to give Plex a try then
I really don't see what is so great about Plex. I have tried it out and from what I can see, Sage does as good or better of a job for ripped content. Plex doesn't even support native Video_Ts support of ripped DVDs, and forget about BD.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-06-2012, 11:46 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by kricker View Post
I'll just patiently bide my time waiting for Pix64 to not be busy anymore
Semi public I guess. I mean... how many people still hit the Sage boards and an XBMC topic for that matter?
+1 on both statements!
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-06-2012, 11:57 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
+1 on both statements!
:-)

lucky for you all (I don't even use xbmc) but I am sorta not busy right now with work, so I will start reading up on it again kricker. No promises though cause while im not "busy" at the moment i am starting a new project this week along with the 3 I have going on for work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android ported to .Net bcjenkins The SageTV Community 6 05-06-2012 05:26 PM
DIY Android STB: NeTV KJake The SageTV Community 0 12-20-2011 11:15 AM
AppleTV 2 + XBMC as alternative? jdc SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 6 09-02-2011 11:40 AM
Is PlayOn viable for the long term? wayner SageTV v7 Customizations 13 02-15-2011 04:31 PM
Android client? equalize SageTV Placeshifter 1 07-22-2010 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.