SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-03-2019, 11:09 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by emveepee View Post
On my home PC with my DNSmasq ad protection no issues, but on my phone on the cell network using the forum looks very scary with ads

Looking at the mobile browser page in chrome at home see some potentially bad sites I don't see with the desktop site

serconmp.com viatepigan.com and oodsotoso.com

Definitely I would stay away from the mobile forum.

Martin
I didnít know there was a separate mobile forum. As far as I am aware there is only the one forum at forums.sagetv.com and it is not optimized for mobile viewing. You can view it on a phone, but it looks the same as it does on a PC, so navigation is a little clunky.

I havenít noticed any corrupt links on the forum itself. However, when the forum was down over the weekend I tried searching Google for any news about why it was down and most of the search results led to weird addresses and pop-up ads.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-03-2019, 11:33 AM
jt4242 jt4242 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 160
Thank you Narflex!! I was lost without the site and, like some others, in a bit of a panic.

It's wonderful to be back up. Like others, I am seeing some redirects but only in Chrome. In Firefox I have adblockers so all is well.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-03-2019, 11:52 AM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 327
Your right the issue is there on my desktop chrome I didn't see it earlier because js is disabled on FF my main desktop

According to https://sitecheck.sucuri.net and siteguarding.com it looks like there might be an issue with

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/cli...obal.js?v=3811

I downloaded the suspect file with curl decoded the obfuscated document.write code (which is suspicious in itself) and found a reference to serconmp.com

Martin

Last edited by emveepee; 12-03-2019 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-03-2019, 12:35 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,112
I never got popups the first time but now get them on an iPad and PC.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-03-2019, 01:26 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
OK, those should be removed now...but I'm not sure how much longer I'll be able to keep these forums up since I may need to do a full rebuild to clean things out and I don't really have the time for that....so hopefully you all can figure something out.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-03-2019, 03:42 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
I think I found the problem now; and removed it...hopefully we will be good at this point.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-03-2019, 05:24 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I think I found the problem now; and removed it...hopefully we will be good at this point.
So far it good here
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-04-2019, 12:58 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,509
looks good here too - Iíve never seen any pop ups, at least not to my knowledge.
Any idea how many terabytes to store the whole site?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-04-2019, 01:09 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
OK, those should be removed now...but I'm not sure how much longer I'll be able to keep these forums up since I may need to do a full rebuild to clean things out and I don't really have the time for that....so hopefully you all can figure something out.
in case we do, actually, have to ďfigure something outĒ, what would that entail, and when? As a non-programming kind of user, these forums are invaluable and absolutely necessary to me with regards to ANY chance of using Sage in the future,
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-04-2019, 01:32 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 268
Groups.io is used by a number of interest groups and is, from what I hear, easy to adm inister. The issue would be in transferring the archives, since the platforms are so different.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 12-04-2019, 10:46 AM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 308
It doesn't look like groups.io can migrate data from vBulletin.

Ideally, if we wanted to migrate the site and its existing content to another CMS system, we would need a dump of the DB.

If we just want a static copy of the site for historical purposes, that can be done easily but it takes up more space.

And then we would still need a place for future discussions.

--John
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-04-2019, 12:45 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 327
The NextPVR forums recently converted from vbulletin to mybb and as a user it wasn't to bad. The big issues to consider

-losing attachment, it was way to slow to migrate them so sub opted not too.
-internal link url's changed so if you get a hit on a post you can't quickly jump to referenced links.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-04-2019, 01:40 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 443
More importantly, there has to be several people who are committed and able (access-wise) to maintain the site. Moving the forums to another platform and/or hosting service doesn't address this fundamental issue.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-04-2019, 08:54 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,243
I hope someone comes around that can give us some direction on how to archive all this information, because we can't depend on Jeff to keep supporting us.

To clarify, we can't expect Jeff to continue to hold this up.

Last edited by KryptoNyte; 12-04-2019 at 09:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-04-2019, 11:07 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I hope someone comes around that can give us some direction on how to archive all this information, because we can't depend on Jeff to keep supporting us.

To clarify, we can't expect Jeff to continue to hold this up.
Iíd be willing to pay a yearly fee for this service, say $25 - same as Schedules Direct? Are there enough forum users at that price to make it worthwhile for someone to administer at present quality?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-05-2019, 12:45 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 268
I'd also be willing to pay something annually. I don't have the knowledge to help in a more technical way.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-05-2019, 12:45 PM
jt4242 jt4242 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 160
me too

Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I'd also be willing to pay something annually. I don't have the knowledge to help in a more technical way.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-05-2019, 06:28 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 278
I was getting some spammy site popping up when I'd log in here on both the phone and the PC. At first I thought my phone got hacked.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV-quadHD USB, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-05-2019, 08:00 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,243
I would also pay yearly to keep the old forum archived (maybe even just frozen), and a new active forum beside it from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-05-2019, 08:13 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I would also pay yearly to keep the old forum archived (maybe even just frozen), and a new active forum beside it from scratch.
A way to archive it was suggested by Slugger using wget but I don't have a link but I'm sure a google search for slugger and wget on this site would find it unless it wasn't Slugger who suggested it of course. Anyway with this you could create your own archive.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting (scary?) article in Wall Street Journal pjpjpjpj General Discussion 20 02-13-2009 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.