SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2021, 07:11 PM
Doubledose's Avatar
Doubledose Doubledose is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. E. Indiana
Posts: 246
Updating

I currently have version V9.1.8.770 running on a duo core with win7 on it and I am thinking I want to build a new machine. So I have a few questions.
1. Will my HD-PVRS work with new software?
2. Will my HD Home run tuners still work?
3. Will my HD-300 extenders still work?
4. Will my USB Uirt still work?
5. Does comskip work with new version?
6. Anything else that I may need to do?
I want to build a new computer with win10 64 bit. I dont watch any video off of the server, it is all thru the extenders, So I am looking at onboard video.

I have not been on here for a very long time and it looks like things have changed.
Thanks
Wayne
__________________
Asus Commando MB | Intel Core Quad Q9400 CPU | 500 GB WD system drive | (2) 1TB Seagate drives pooled | 2 GB DDR ram | Viper HD4650 video card | Win 7 64 bit | SageTV 9 | (5) Sage HD TV extenders | (1) HDHomeRun Connect for HD OTA | (1) Older HDHomeRun set for HD OTA | (2) HD-PVR'S recording from 2 Dish Network VIP 211K's with Uirt ir control | MX-700 Home theater remote | 60" LED TV | (4) 32" Lcd TV's
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2021, 09:02 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doubledose View Post
I currently have version V9.1.8.770 running on a duo core with win7 on it and I am thinking I want to build a new machine. So I have a few questions.
1. Will my HD-PVRS work with new software?
Just as well (or poorly) as they have with v9.1.8.

Quote:
2. Will my HD Home run tuners still work?
Yes. I'm running a mixture of the oldest (white) dual-channel units, a pair of newer dual (black) HDHR-3US and a pair of HDHR Primes.
Quote:
3. Will my HD-300 extenders still work?
HD-200 and 300 extenders continue to work just fine.
Quote:
4. Will my USB Uirt still work?
"It depends". No problem if Sage is the *only* program talking to the USB-UIRT. But there's a limitation of the USB-UIRT software itself; it doesn't seem to work talking to 32- and 64-bit programs at the same time. Example: 32-bit EventGhost (which does NOT run as a Service) and 64-bit SageTv (running as a Service).
Quote:
5. Does comskip work with new version?
Others will have to answer this, since I don't use Comskip
Quote:
6. Anything else that I may need to do?
Assuming the equipment list in your sig is accurate, I'd recommend more system memory. There's a huge benefit to increasing the amount of memory in the system and then increasing the amount of Java heap space that Sage uses. Assuming that the system is only used for Sage, 8GB of memory and 3GB of Java heap are good numbers. (I have one Sage system w/3 extenders running this way.) You may want to increase the Java heap to 4GB if all 5 extenders are being used simultaneously. The Q9400 CPU is still up to the task, unless you're planning to start doing transcoding.

Quote:
I want to build a new computer with win10 64 bit. I dont watch any video off of the server, it is all thru the extenders, So I am looking at onboard video.

I have not been on here for a very long time and it looks like things have changed.
Changes have been for the better... IMO, the biggest and most useful change is the 64-bit version of Sage.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2021, 05:58 PM
Doubledose's Avatar
Doubledose Doubledose is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. E. Indiana
Posts: 246
Thanks for the info. I will probably start putting things together to update the computer then. I will probably put in either 16 or 32 mb ram when I do this. I know probably the more cpu cores the better.
I am looking at a I5-9600K 6 core processor. I am guessing this should be ok, any thoughts on this?

As for the Uirt all I am using it for is to change my 2 satellite receiver channels.

Also can anyone confirm comskip working in the new software?

Thanks
Wayne
__________________
Asus Commando MB | Intel Core Quad Q9400 CPU | 500 GB WD system drive | (2) 1TB Seagate drives pooled | 2 GB DDR ram | Viper HD4650 video card | Win 7 64 bit | SageTV 9 | (5) Sage HD TV extenders | (1) HDHomeRun Connect for HD OTA | (1) Older HDHomeRun set for HD OTA | (2) HD-PVR'S recording from 2 Dish Network VIP 211K's with Uirt ir control | MX-700 Home theater remote | 60" LED TV | (4) 32" Lcd TV's
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2021, 06:10 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 167
I'm running v9.2.1.826 x64 and Comskip works as good as it ever did.
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_231, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2021, 06:23 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doubledose View Post
I will probably put in either 16 or 32 mb ram when I do this. I know probably the more cpu cores the better. I am looking at a I5-9600K 6 core processor. I am guessing this should be ok, any thoughts on this?
Assuming no Comskip and no transcoding, that's probably massive overkill on both the CPU and memory. All 3 systems in my sig (all quad core) also run BlueIris video surveillance software in addition to SageTv. BlueIris typically uses 15% CPU and 2GB of memory (with 10 2MP cameras). Sage rarely accounts for more than 2-3% of CPU utilization and 4GB of memory.

You should be fine with USB-UIRT.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2021, 07:14 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 399
Comskip is fine. Just beware that the latest build requires Windows 10 for Windows installations. Some type of a dependency issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2021, 03:46 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 356
USB-UIRT works fine. Where it can get sticky is running USB-UIRT and Eventghost. There is no 64-bit Eventghost. I use USB-UIRT/Eventghost to do my remote control for SageTV as well as remote control for KODI and also for switching input to TV's built in tuner or Roku.

Since there is no Eventghost for 64-bit, I've been using Hauppauge's IR to change channels on the cable box.

This arrangement worked fine up until the current 64-bit builds stopped working with it Hauppauge IR. I'm still on an older SageTV 9 64-bit build and it's not giving me issues.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2021, 04:43 AM
Doubledose's Avatar
Doubledose Doubledose is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. E. Indiana
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
Assuming no Comskip and no transcoding, that's probably massive overkill on both the CPU and memory. All 3 systems in my sig (all quad core) also run BlueIris video surveillance software in addition to SageTv. BlueIris typically uses 15% CPU and 2GB of memory (with 10 2MP cameras). Sage rarely accounts for more than 2-3% of CPU utilization and 4GB of memory.

You should be fine with USB-UIRT.
Yes on the overkill, but if down the road if I decide to use the computer for something else, it would be a decent setup.
Thanks
Wayne
__________________
Asus Commando MB | Intel Core Quad Q9400 CPU | 500 GB WD system drive | (2) 1TB Seagate drives pooled | 2 GB DDR ram | Viper HD4650 video card | Win 7 64 bit | SageTV 9 | (5) Sage HD TV extenders | (1) HDHomeRun Connect for HD OTA | (1) Older HDHomeRun set for HD OTA | (2) HD-PVR'S recording from 2 Dish Network VIP 211K's with Uirt ir control | MX-700 Home theater remote | 60" LED TV | (4) 32" Lcd TV's
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2021, 04:44 AM
Doubledose's Avatar
Doubledose Doubledose is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. E. Indiana
Posts: 246
Thanks for all of the input. I feel better about doing this update.

Wayne
__________________
Asus Commando MB | Intel Core Quad Q9400 CPU | 500 GB WD system drive | (2) 1TB Seagate drives pooled | 2 GB DDR ram | Viper HD4650 video card | Win 7 64 bit | SageTV 9 | (5) Sage HD TV extenders | (1) HDHomeRun Connect for HD OTA | (1) Older HDHomeRun set for HD OTA | (2) HD-PVR'S recording from 2 Dish Network VIP 211K's with Uirt ir control | MX-700 Home theater remote | 60" LED TV | (4) 32" Lcd TV's
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7.1.9.256 not updating aairon SageTV Software 0 06-22-2013 11:42 AM
Updating rnadeau Phoenix 5 06-24-2011 08:02 PM
Updating TVs snoopy SageTV Software 2 05-26-2011 06:42 PM
updating mvp.bin - how? webfire SageTV Media Extender 4 07-22-2006 05:25 PM
Not updating? invisible_ink General Discussion 2 12-01-2004 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.