SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2019, 06:26 PM
Media Quest Media Quest is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 26
HD300 responds slowly

New Windows 10 x64 install, and my HD300s are responding very slowly. I get the swirling donut for 5-10 seconds sometimes when I navigate the menu (SageMC STV) and it can take a second or two to jump forward or back 10 seconds.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2019, 06:50 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Quest View Post
New Windows 10 x64 install, and my HD300s are responding very slowly. I get the swirling donut for 5-10 seconds sometimes when I navigate the menu (SageMC STV) and it can take a second or two to jump forward or back 10 seconds.

Any ideas?
Are there media directories full of shows/DVD's that are importing or is this system completely fresh? If SageTV is busy importing it may be causing lots of disk accesses and will slow things down.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2019, 06:54 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,086
Also there is a setting related to photo loading that some have found to help resolve circles (at least where photos or movie posters are loading).

The sage.properties setting is in my post here:
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...2&postcount=15
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2019, 07:38 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Quest View Post
New Windows 10 x64 install, and my HD300s are responding very slowly. I get the swirling donut for 5-10 seconds sometimes when I navigate the menu (SageMC STV) and it can take a second or two to jump forward or back 10 seconds.
I don't have a solution because I have the exact same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:00 AM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 438
What are the values for JVM Heap (found on the Setup -> System Information screen) ?

Post a copy of the sagetv_*.txt log files (captured within minutes after the spinning donut occurs) to allow inspection and go beyond guessing at the problem/solution. In your posting, tell us the approx. time the issue occurred so we can correlate it to a timestamp in the log.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:36 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
What are the values for JVM Heap (found on the Setup -> System Information screen) ?

Post a copy of the sagetv_*.txt log files (captured within minutes after the spinning donut occurs) to allow inspection and go beyond guessing at the problem/solution. In your posting, tell us the approx. time the issue occurred so we can correlate it to a timestamp in the log.
263MB/377MB/1909MB

The txt file was too large to attach so I truncated it to ten minute period but it was still too large to attach so I will paste the ten minute period that includes the spinning circle issue which happened at ~9:56.

Well... even when I cut it down to a two minute period, it is still too large to paste or attach.

How would you suggest I get the file to you? (I have forgotten how to share Dropbox files.)

Oh, let's try it with OneDrive - https://1drv.ms/t/s!And3oqMOSdYIiIJ3Ff7vly3Db0vo2Q

Last edited by RonBoyd; 10-13-2019 at 11:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2019, 04:27 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
263MB/377MB/1909MB
Looks like you've allocated plenty of JVM heap space, so no problem there.

Quote:
The txt file was too large to attach so I truncated it to ten minute period but it was still too large to attach so I will paste the ten minute period that includes the spinning circle issue which happened at ~9:56.

Well... even when I cut it down to a two minute period, it is still too large to paste or attach.
Easiest way to post your logs is to zip them up first.

Looking at the log, the most relevant events are:
@ 9:44 - "Countdown to Kickoff" starts recording from Silicondust HDHomeRun Tuner 1074B30E-3
@ 9:56:36 - recording ends
@ 9:56:37 - Comskip finished processing the recording
@ 9:56:38 - Hang Detected (lasts for about 8 seconds)

When Sage-x64 (and plugins) was installed, was a COMPLETELY clean installation performed (as opposed to installing on top of the existing .properties files and x86 plugins) ?

Do the spinning donuts occur when no Sage plugins are installed?
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.

Last edited by JustFred; 10-13-2019 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2019, 08:12 PM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
When Sage-x64 (and plugins) was installed, was a COMPLETELY clean installation performed (as opposed to installing on top of the existing .properties files and x86 plugins) ?

Do the spinning donuts occur when no Sage plugins are installed?
Yes, it was clean install on a new machine... with no other major programs installed on it.

I don't know, I am unsure about uninstalling all the plugins to find out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my HD-300 slowly dieing? menace SageTV Media Extender 5 01-14-2014 11:41 AM
SageTV only responds to 2 remote commands Reefkeeper Hardware Support 4 08-07-2011 08:22 PM
HD300 Pictures loading slowly Zeek SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 8 10-04-2010 06:58 PM
Firewire going away, slowly aflat Hardware Support 0 06-30-2010 10:01 AM
Windowed interface responds slowly; full-screen normally; cause? GoldenTiger SageTV Software 0 01-22-2006 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.