SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Mac Edition

Notices

SageTV Mac Edition Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Mac edition. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Mac edition should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2010, 07:13 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 829
SageTV on MACs and webfeedencoder

Hi,

I want to make my plugin usable for Mac users.

Pretty much this means spawning processes in the right way and refering to file paths properly (generally and specifically with respect to where SageTV is generally installed).

Can anyone tell me are there any significant differences between different versions of MAC OS?

And which one(s) should I look to support?

Also - would anyone be prepared to do some beta testing of WebFeedEncoder in a Mac environment?

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer

Last edited by michaeldjcox; 10-11-2010 at 07:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2010, 08:40 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Michael,

Currently Sage7 is not available on Macs so you will need to stick to Sage6 for this. From what I've seen as long as your plugins work on Windows and Linux, they will work on Macs as well BUT you need to keep some special cases in mind.

While Java eases the pain of cross-platform development, it does not eliminate it entirely. For example Windows has no problem with spaces in the name of the .jar files, Linux chokes on the spaces.

You also have to take special care when manipulating files in code that may get executed on SageClients because Java assumes the filesystem of the JVM and not the actual target filesystem. So if you have a Windows based SageClient that is working with a Linux (or Mac) server, calls like myFile.getAbsolutePath() invoked against MediaFiles that reside on the (Linux) Sage server will return goofy results (like C:/this/is/the/path). The same for some Sage API's like CreateFilePath(), they build paths based on the JVM it is running in, even if the File is on another OS.

Tom
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2010, 02:12 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 829
Hi Tom,

My OS detection is a bit primitive at the moment.

I say if the file separator is \ then its windows else it must be linux or Mac.

Based on that assume file paths are like linux or like windows and add escaping and quotes where necessary.

I call out from java to run CMD.EXE or /bin/sh and pass in commands lines to run VLC.

The command lines after that are generally scripted.

It seems that Mac is a bit like linux and I'm not dealing with a whole new beast - is that correct?

Is the command line interpretor for Macs /bin/sh?

Where does SageTV generally get installed on a Mac?

Are paths the same sort of syntax on a Mac as on linux e.g. no spaces, '/' seperator, starts with '/' etc?

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2010, 08:28 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
I say if the file separator is \ then its windows else it must be linux or Mac.

Based on that assume file paths are like linux or like windows and add escaping and quotes where necessary.
That's pretty much what I do as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
I call out from java to run CMD.EXE or /bin/sh and pass in commands lines to run VLC.
I typically run the commands directly, not via the shell, but it should work this way as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
It seems that Mac is a bit like linux and I'm not dealing with a whole new beast - is that correct?.
Yes, Macs are *nix based.

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
Is the command line interpretor for Macs /bin/sh?

Where does SageTV generally get installed on a Mac?
I'm not sure on either of these.

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
Are paths the same sort of syntax on a Mac as on linux e.g. no spaces, '/' seperator, starts with '/' etc?
Yes.

I don't actually own a Mac and that always makes testing difficult. I think Apple should send us all one so we can test properly. What do you think Steve would say?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:44 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
That's pretty much what I do as well.

:

I don't actually own a Mac and that always makes testing difficult. I think Apple should send us all one so we can test properly. What do you think Steve would say?
Hah thanks for the info Tom.

Seems like theres not that many Mac users here anyhow.

Even if Steve sent me one I'm not sure I could take on board all the other attributes of a Mac user...

....modern clutter free interior design..owning a range of "Man bags"..paying too much for MP3s... looking smug all the time ;-)

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2010, 11:30 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
....modern clutter free interior design..owning a range of "Man bags"..paying too much for MP3s... looking smug all the time ;-)
APPLE : Always Pay a Premium for that Little Extra
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2010, 05:01 PM
pkasin pkasin is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 20
Hey, enough Mac bashing here. There are some of us that are tired of BSODs and "An Illegal Operation has been performed" (Geez, I hope I won't get arrested!).

And quite frankly, I love my "Man Bag". I am getting in touch with my feminine side and my wife says I look beautiful. Did I just say that? I better start pumping iron and check my testosterone levels - this is getting scary!

All kidding aside, there are tons of Mac users who would be very thankful for a Mac Client or Placeshifter, I assure you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:37 AM
reema12 reema12 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India
Posts: 5
Plug-ins work properly on Windows and Linux and as far as Macs are concerned I am not pretty much sure. Though I couldnít make them work on my Mac, I feel itís because you have to consider many things while working on a Mac. Path name are an important criteria. Without properly setting path name it is impossible to get it right. I too advise you to use java as they work independent of the platform they are working on.
__________________
pop up tv lift
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2010, 05:49 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 829
Yes Web Feed Encoder is java.

Going back to my original post - any fancy beta testing WebFeedEncoder on Mac?

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WebFeedEncoder: where next? michaeldjcox SageTV Customizations 27 11-29-2011 03:00 PM
Connect SlingBox to WebFeedEncoder ambush276 SageTV Customizations 1 07-18-2010 03:40 PM
cannot configure video source using webfeedencoder slimyosra SageTV Customizations 3 08-30-2009 08:08 AM
New dual tuner coming for Macs from ATI dhalsim007 SageTV Mac Edition 3 05-09-2008 03:05 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.