SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2020, 10:15 AM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 456
What is the current status of HDMI and 5.1 audio support with HDPVR2?

Back in 2014, I followed this thread explaining a complex process of getting the HDPVR2 1512 with HDMI input to work with 5.1 audio.

How much of this is still necessary? With SageTV 9.2, have any of these issues been resolved? In particular, could I get rid of the HDMI spliter and HDMI to SPDIF audio extractor, and just run the HDMI from Google Fiber TV GFHD200 straight into the HDPVR2?

I'd like to clean up any unnecessary outboard boxes and cables if possible.
__________________
HD300 extender with (2020 New Build) SageTV 64 bit V9.2.2 (service mode), Running on Windows 10 (64 bit), Intel Core i7-10700K CPU, 16G RAM, GIGABYTE Z490 UD motherboard. NVidia GTX1650 Super; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun HDHR5-4US tuner, Hauppauge 1512 HD-PVR2 connected to Google Fiber TV GFHD200, tuned with USB-UIRT.

Last edited by timg11; 06-28-2020 at 10:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2020, 06:08 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 456
This is a follow-up with good news on the long thread from 2014-2017 linked above.

I'm now building a new system with the latest SageTV.
I want to free myself from the chain of devices:
Code:
GF200--> HDMI Splitter --->  HDPVR2
                       \-->  HDMI to SPDIF-opt -->HDPVR2 SPDIF In
So I tested HDMI audio though the HDPVR2.

Using SageTV 9.2.2.903 64 bit, and Hauupauge Capture 1.2.38311:

With Capture set for either "Video HDMI / Audio SPDIF Optical" or "Video HDMI / Audio HDMI", I can make recordings that have the following information in "Recording Detail".
So I should be able to eliminate the HDMI to SPDIF/Toslink extractor and just run straight HDMI (I'm assuming the splitter will still be needed)

Format: MPEG2-TS[H.264 16:9 1080i@29.97fps, Dolby Digital/448kbps@48khz 5.1]

This is also reported by Hauppauge Capture if I run it.

I can play this recording back on the HD-300, and I get DD 5.1 audio.

This test was done by playing a DVD in an upscaling player and driving the HDPVR2 with its HDMI output, since the GF200 is in use in the operational system.

I have not encountered issues with playing back live with the HD-300 yet. I think that was an unresolved issue in the older thread. I'll report back as I find any new information.
__________________
HD300 extender with (2020 New Build) SageTV 64 bit V9.2.2 (service mode), Running on Windows 10 (64 bit), Intel Core i7-10700K CPU, 16G RAM, GIGABYTE Z490 UD motherboard. NVidia GTX1650 Super; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun HDHR5-4US tuner, Hauppauge 1512 HD-PVR2 connected to Google Fiber TV GFHD200, tuned with USB-UIRT.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2020, 09:13 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
This is a follow-up with good news on the long thread from 2014-2017 linked above.

I'm now building a new system with the latest SageTV.
I want to free myself from the chain of devices:
Code:
GF200--> HDMI Splitter --->  HDPVR2
                       \-->  HDMI to SPDIF-opt -->HDPVR2 SPDIF In
So I tested HDMI audio though the HDPVR2.

Using SageTV 9.2.2.903 64 bit, and Hauupauge Capture 1.2.38311:

With Capture set for either "Video HDMI / Audio SPDIF Optical" or "Video HDMI / Audio HDMI", I can make recordings that have the following information in "Recording Detail".
So I should be able to eliminate the HDMI to SPDIF/Toslink extractor and just run straight HDMI (I'm assuming the splitter will still be needed)

Format: MPEG2-TS[H.264 16:9 1080i@29.97fps, Dolby Digital/448kbps@48khz 5.1]

This is also reported by Hauppauge Capture if I run it.

I can play this recording back on the HD-300, and I get DD 5.1 audio.

This test was done by playing a DVD in an upscaling player and driving the HDPVR2 with its HDMI output, since the GF200 is in use in the operational system.

I have not encountered issues with playing back live with the HD-300 yet. I think that was an unresolved issue in the older thread. I'll report back as I find any new information.
Good info. Staying tuned
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2021, 10:45 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 626
It's been a while since I have thought about that thread. I still have two HDPVR2s sitting unused on the shelf. But even with HDMI audio working, I don't think this fixes the underlying issue of some live TV shows lacking sound on HD300s, right? I thought that was an issue with the HD300 firmware and would never be fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2021, 06:17 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,552
I use HDPVR2's with Sage and HD300's. My HDPVR2's are using HDMI-in for video and Optical-in for 5.1 channel audio. I always purchase the HDPVR2's with Optical-in, most of them don't have it.

If I enter the Program Guide in Sage on an HD300, and select "Watch Now" or choose "Watch Live TV" from one of the higher menus [for a program that's not already recorded/recording), the HDPVR2 starts recording with about a 10 second delay (as I have it set for this). The program will play video, but sometimes without audio.

I resolve this by never attempting to enter live television directly. I find a show that I want to watch in the Program Guide, tell SageTV to record it, count to 15 and start watching the recording - the lost audio issue has never happened in this scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2021, 06:29 PM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 626
Thanks. Yea, that's the problem I remember having. I guess I'll stay with my original HDPVRs for now and leave the "2" on the shelf. Most of what is watched in my household is not on Sage anymore (streaming, ripped movies), so it's probably not worth messing around with this anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2021, 06:55 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post

Using SageTV 9.2.2.903 64 bit, and Hauupauge Capture 1.2.38311:

With Capture set for either "Video HDMI / Audio SPDIF Optical" or "Video HDMI / Audio HDMI", I can make recordings that have the following information in "Recording Detail".
Format: MPEG2-TS[H.264 16:9 1080i@29.97fps, Dolby Digital/448kbps@48khz 5.1]
This is also reported by Hauppauge Capture if I run it.

I can play this recording back on the HD-300, and I get DD 5.1 audio.

This test was done by playing a DVD in an upscaling player and driving the HDPVR2 with its HDMI output, since the GF200 is in use in the operational system.

After posting the message above, I moved the test system into regular use with the GF200 box.
I just discovered that DD5.1 is no longer working with SageTV.
I can tune the GF200 to a program with DD 5.1. I can send the HDMI passthrough from the HDPVR2 to my receiver and it plays DD 5.1
I can run Haupauge Capture on the same computer that SageTV server is running on, and Capture reports DD 5.1 with inputs of Video and Audio set to HDMI.

But when that program is recorded off the HDPVR2 by SageTV, the audio in the resulting file is AAC 48 KHz Stereo, and playback on the HD-300 is also Stereo.

In the HDPVR2 Capture Device setting for Input, I tried HDMI and HDMI+SPDIF, but neither setting enabled DD5.1

Are there any other settings in SageTV that I should review?
__________________
HD300 extender with (2020 New Build) SageTV 64 bit V9.2.2 (service mode), Running on Windows 10 (64 bit), Intel Core i7-10700K CPU, 16G RAM, GIGABYTE Z490 UD motherboard. NVidia GTX1650 Super; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun HDHR5-4US tuner, Hauppauge 1512 HD-PVR2 connected to Google Fiber TV GFHD200, tuned with USB-UIRT.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2021, 08:16 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,552
I followed your same path for setting up the HDPVR2's using optical cables a year or two ago, Win 7 Home premium 64 bit.

I recall setting these up with HDMI+SPDIF in the Sage Tuner settings, but I just went back into my latest SageTV 64 bit server install and they are setup with just HDMI as the input (I'm still using the SPDIF cable, though, as that was the only way to get this working with Arcsoft Showbiz). If you haven't found a solution, contact SHS via PM, he may have some helpful info.

Here is the Sage.properties entry for one of my HDPVR2's in case there is something in there that might be helpful:

Code:
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/brightness=36
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/broadcast_standard=
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/contrast=149
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/device_name=
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/hue=127
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/last_channel=
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/provider_id=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/saturation=154
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/sharpness=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/tuning_mode=
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/tuning_plugin=
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/tuning_plugin_port=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/video_crossbar_index=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/2/0/video_crossbar_type=2
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/brightness=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/broadcast_standard=
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/contrast=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/device_name=
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/hue=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/last_channel=
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/provider_id=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/saturation=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/sharpness=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/tuning_mode=
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/tuning_plugin=
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/tuning_plugin_port=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/video_crossbar_index=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/3/0/video_crossbar_type=3
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/brightness=36
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/broadcast_standard=
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/contrast=149
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/device_name=40512
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/hue=127
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/last_channel=1309
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/provider_id=-1684090972075851776
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/saturation=154
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/sharpness=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/tuning_mode=
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/tuning_plugin=C\:\\Program Files\\SageTV\\Common\\EXEMultiTunerPlugin.dll
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/tuning_plugin_port=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/video_crossbar_index=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/6/0/video_crossbar_type=6
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/brightness=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/broadcast_standard=
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/contrast=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/device_name=
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/hue=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/last_channel=
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/provider_id=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/saturation=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/sharpness=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/tuning_mode=
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/tuning_plugin=
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/tuning_plugin_port=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/video_crossbar_index=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/80/0/video_crossbar_type=80
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/brightness=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/broadcast_standard=
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/contrast=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/device_name=
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/hue=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/last_channel=
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/provider_id=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/saturation=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/sharpness=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/tuning_mode=
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/tuning_plugin=
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/tuning_plugin_port=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/video_crossbar_index=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/81/0/video_crossbar_type=81
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/brightness=36
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/broadcast_standard=
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/contrast=149
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/device_name=
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/hue=127
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/last_channel=
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/provider_id=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/saturation=154
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/sharpness=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/tuning_mode=
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/tuning_plugin=
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/tuning_plugin_port=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/video_crossbar_index=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/90/0/video_crossbar_type=90
mmc/encoders/392107985/audio_capture_device_index=-1
mmc/encoders/392107985/audio_capture_device_name=
mmc/encoders/392107985/audio_capture_device_num=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/audio_processor=
mmc/encoders/392107985/capture_config=1050624
mmc/encoders/392107985/default_device_quality=HDPVRMax
mmc/encoders/392107985/delay_to_wait_after_tuning=8000
mmc/encoders/392107985/device_class=DirectShow
mmc/encoders/392107985/dshow_tv_type=
mmc/encoders/392107985/encoder_merit=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/encoding_host=
mmc/encoders/392107985/forced_video_storage_path_prefix=
mmc/encoders/392107985/last_cross_index=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/last_cross_type=6
mmc/encoders/392107985/live_audio_input=
mmc/encoders/392107985/minimum_bitrate_error_threshold_bps=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/never_stop_encoding=false
mmc/encoders/392107985/video_capture_device_name=Hauppauge Siena Video Capture
mmc/encoders/392107985/video_capture_device_num=0
mmc/encoders/392107985/video_encoding_params=HDPVRMax
mmc/encoders/392107985/video_processor=
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-11-2021, 06:56 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
Thanks. Yea, that's the problem I remember having. I guess I'll stay with my original HDPVRs for now and leave the "2" on the shelf. Most of what is watched in my household is not on Sage anymore (streaming, ripped movies), so it's probably not worth messing around with this anyway.
Is the audio more important to you than the video? Because I have traded all my HDPVRs for HDPVR2's as the captured video quality is noticeably superior with the 2's.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2021, 09:57 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
Is the audio more important to you than the video? Because I have traded all my HDPVRs for HDPVR2's as the captured video quality is noticeably superior with the 2's.
I did think the video encoding quality was better on the 2. But as I recall (again, it has been a few years), I wasn't able to get the audio working with live TV on all channels reliably, no matter what settings I used. But perhaps I only tried SPDIF and HDMI audio. I can't remember if I tried analog audio. Are you able to get stereo to reliably play on live TV? If so, exactly how do you do this?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-12-2021, 10:30 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
I did think the video encoding quality was better on the 2. But as I recall (again, it has been a few years), I wasn't able to get the audio working with live TV on all channels reliably, no matter what settings I used. But perhaps I only tried SPDIF and HDMI audio. I can't remember if I tried analog audio. Are you able to get stereo to reliably play on live TV? If so, exactly how do you do this?
Yes, I have the input for each tuner set to "HDMI" and the audio records as AC3 Stereo. I haven't had any issues with audio playback, either with recordings or live TV. I use the LAV audio decoders on all my x64 systems, and usually Default audio renderer except on my HTPC where I have to specify DirectSound for my TV.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-12-2021, 10:53 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
Yes, I have the input for each tuner set to "HDMI" and the audio records as AC3 Stereo. I haven't had any issues with audio playback, either with recordings or live TV. I use the LAV audio decoders on all my x64 systems, and usually Default audio renderer except on my HTPC where I have to specify DirectSound for my TV.
Oh, ok. Live TV did work for me on a computer, but it was the HD300 that had the issue in live TV mode. Since I have HD300s on all my TVs, that's still an issue. If the Android client worked just a little better, I would consider switching over to NVIDIA Shields on all my TVs. I haven't tested the HDPRVR 2 on the Android client, but suspect it would work ok on that.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-12-2021, 06:12 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
Oh, ok. Live TV did work for me on a computer, but it was the HD300 that had the issue in live TV mode. Since I have HD300s on all my TVs, that's still an issue. If the Android client worked just a little better, I would consider switching over to NVIDIA Shields on all my TVs. I haven't tested the HDPRVR 2 on the Android client, but suspect it would work ok on that.
With the tuning delay that occurs with the HDPVR's, it takes forever to channel surf so I work-around the "live TV" issue by just setting a desired program to record, wait about 15 seconds and then start watching. This eliminates the Live TV problem. The HDPVR2 works fine on the Android client, at least with the FireTV4k stick.

Explaining that to the rest of the people in the house isn't quite a smooth
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
current status of Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD pci board Galaxysurfer Hardware Support 6 10-31-2016 04:03 PM
HDPVR2 (1512) VS HDPVR2 GE PLUS 1504 bigo93bronco Hardware Support 3 05-04-2013 07:34 PM
HD200-Blu Ray Menus-Current Status Linkin_Logs SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 13 12-01-2009 01:02 PM
What is the current status of the Media MVP and sagetv? AJ Bertelson Hardware Support 7 11-27-2009 08:23 PM
Current status of DVB Support in Sage AndersNolberger Hardware Support 10 02-05-2005 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.