SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations

SageTV v9 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 9 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 9 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2016, 06:36 PM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 175
V9.0.9 and Windows Not Sleeping with Service

Anyone other than me having problem with their systems not sleeping with the service running in V9.0.9?

Running powercfg -requests shows the SageTV Service running, while V9.0.4 does not. In 9.0.9 if I stop the service it goes to sleep.

******************* Update *******************

Now upp'd to V9.11 and it goes to sleep - until you do a conversion. At that point NOTHING will get it to sleep again, restarting service, restarting computer, etc.
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4

Last edited by RBraverman; 11-28-2016 at 08:31 AM. Reason: Clarification
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2016, 05:44 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,376
Can you test something for me? When your server is in that "won't sleep after a conversion" state, check the list of conversions (Videos -> Video Conversions). It is probably showing the completed conversions in there. From there, you can remove the completed jobs, so the list is empty, and see if the server will then go to sleep.

I think this is an issue from a change I did a few months back to prevent the server from sleeping when there are transcode jobs in progress, but I may not be ignoring already completed jobs.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: Phenom II X4 965, 16GB RAM, 120GB cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA. HD-PVR 1212 w/USB-UIRT for premiums
Primary ClientHD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room

Last edited by Fuzzy; 11-29-2016 at 05:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2016, 12:54 PM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Can you test something for me? When your server is in that "won't sleep after a conversion" state, check the list of conversions (Videos -> Video Conversions). It is probably showing the completed conversions in there. From there, you can remove the completed jobs, so the list is empty, and see if the server will then go to sleep.

I think this is an issue from a change I did a few months back to prevent the server from sleeping when there are transcode jobs in progress, but I may not be ignoring already completed jobs.
THANKS for reply.

I have been leaving them there ...

In the middle of "playing" - my wife would re-phrase it - comskip to create the proper vpj file for VRD V5.

But I'd LOVE to get this fixed. Then I'd only have ONE problem and ya' all could get rid of me ....


************************UPDATE**********************

I just KNEW you could figure this out, A GRAND DAY OUT! and a beer to ya!

FWIW I'm using V9.111 or is it 9.0.111, or 9.1.0111
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4

Last edited by RBraverman; 11-29-2016 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2016, 05:53 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,376
okay, if that confirms the problem, it should be an easy fix when I'm back near my dev machine. So after that's fixed, and a new build comes out, failed and completed jobs in the queue will not keep it awake, only running and waiting jobs will.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: Phenom II X4 965, 16GB RAM, 120GB cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA. HD-PVR 1212 w/USB-UIRT for premiums
Primary ClientHD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2016, 07:55 PM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 175
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
okay, if that confirms the problem, it should be an easy fix when I'm back near my dev machine. So after that's fixed, and a new build comes out, failed and completed jobs in the queue will not keep it awake, only running and waiting jobs will.
Cool, take your time. At least I know what it is that was/is keeping the service going. And thats why even a reboot or service restart wouldn't clear it.

Any ideas of having time contraints for conversions? Say only run from 12:00am to 6:00am?

Anyway, MANY thanks.
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4

Last edited by RBraverman; 11-29-2016 at 08:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2016, 02:33 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBraverman View Post
Any ideas of having time contraints for conversions? Say only run from 12:00am to 6:00am?
I'm sure it's been discussed before. Can't really see much real world point though, as really the only times a conversion are going to be added are right after a favorite is recorded (for an auto-convert), or manually requested - both of which the system is already awake, and may be better to just get it over with then, while the system is also likely to be up for other reasons (further prime-time recordings, or viewing) than some off-hours time where it'd only be awake for the conversion.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: Phenom II X4 965, 16GB RAM, 120GB cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA. HD-PVR 1212 w/USB-UIRT for premiums
Primary ClientHD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2016, 02:17 PM
RBraverman's Avatar
RBraverman RBraverman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I'm sure it's been discussed before. Can't really see much real world point though, as really the only times a conversion are going to be added are right after a favorite is recorded (for an auto-convert), or manually requested - both of which the system is already awake, and may be better to just get it over with then, while the system is also likely to be up for other reasons (further prime-time recordings, or viewing) than some off-hours time where it'd only be awake for the conversion.
Ya kinda have to remember that a lot of the boxes used - the ones that aren't nix boxes - are win7 with older H/W.

In the middle of converting a 1:45hr movie and I'm into my 4th hour, now if there were recordings scheduled IN between that ... this poor ol' Core2Duo would be a' strugglin'.
__________________
Core2Duo 3.0, 8gig Memory, Win7 x86, LOTS O' Storage tucked into an Antec Case. OLD aTI Remote Wonder.
Sage V9.0.13.536
Java V1.8.0_121 (8.11)
Base STV V7.1.9.12
JettyWebServer V2.3.0.14
Phoenix Core V 3.0.4
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running SageTV at Windows startup (as a service) orrd SageTV Software 11 02-06-2016 06:55 PM
Windows installer and running as a service Opus4 SageTV Open Source 13 01-01-2016 07:33 AM
XP to Windows 7: SageTV service does not autostart owilsky SageTV Software 6 04-14-2010 04:50 AM
SageTV 5.04 Service Goes to 100% after Windows Updates KB935839 and KB935840 djssage SageTV Software 0 07-25-2007 11:50 PM
SageTV Service crashes after Windows XP autoupdate techtips SageTV Software 42 01-12-2006 04:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.