SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2010, 07:04 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
WHS Backup Recording Drive

I have my SageTV installed on my WHS and it has been working fine.

The recording drive is NOT part of the WHS storage pool. But, I have enough space in the WHS storage pool to back-up the recording drive.

So my question is, has anyone tried this? And is there a way to automate it?

Thanks,
John
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2010, 07:14 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Installing just about any backup program on your WHS (which is technically Windows server 2003) that can see the local drives and the share would be capable of backing up from the non-drive pool (seen as a drive letter) and putting the backup on any share of WHS (\\server\software\backup).

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2010, 08:33 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Wouldn't it be easier to just use the storage pool and let WHS duplicate the data for you? It just seems strange that someone would look for a 3rd party solution when it's already built into the software they're running, but maybe you have a perfectly valid reason.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2010, 07:23 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Wouldn't it be easier to just use the storage pool and let WHS duplicate the data for you?
I remember reading that it was best to have the SageTV recording directory OUTSIDE of the WHS storage pool for a number of reasons. One being the speed of writting to a storage pool directory with replication turned on. WHS replication is software controled and this slower than a true hardware RAID solution.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:06 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I remember reading that it was best to have the SageTV recording directory OUTSIDE of the WHS storage pool for a number of reasons. One being the speed of writting to a storage pool directory with replication turned on. WHS replication is software controled and this slower than a true hardware RAID solution.
I do recall reading that suggestion now. I record directly to my drive pool in WHS, but I do not have duplication turned on for that folder. You could always give it a shot and see what happens. It's probably at least worth a try.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:45 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
I do recall reading that suggestion now. I record directly to my drive pool in WHS, but I do not have duplication turned on for that folder. You could always give it a shot and see what happens. It's probably at least worth a try.
Sometimes I am recording 3 shows simultaneously and playing back a different show. I am concerned about the system being able to keep up.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2010, 10:02 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
I record up to 5 shows at a time in HD to the pooled drives. I also do not have duplication turned on for that folder.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2010, 10:40 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Sometimes I am recording 3 shows simultaneously and playing back a different show. I am concerned about the system being able to keep up.
As I said, before struggling with an alternate solution, doesn't it make sense to at least try it? Pick a day when you have nothing to record or when you have just one or two shows and can reschedule them for another time slot. You could very well be correct, but I would think it makes sense to try it first.

I can record 6 HD streams (2 HDHRs & 2 HD-PVRs) and play back a 7th, all from my (non-duplicated) drive pool and never see an issue. Could duplication cause me some issues? Maybe, but I have no way of knowing unless I try. Then again, that's me.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHS - System Drive Backup/Production Strategy matterw Hardware Support 12 02-18-2010 09:38 AM
Explain the difference in backup drive and pool drive in whs PLUCKYHD Hardware Support 3 02-27-2009 01:19 PM
WHS - Setting up an unmanaged recording drive jm9843 SageTV Software 11 12-09-2008 02:53 PM
WHS---Unmanaged recording drive SAGEaustin Hardware Support 1 08-28-2008 06:07 AM
WHS backup question othy General Discussion 4 05-25-2008 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.