SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2019, 08:28 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 265
Curious about Hauppauge pci card lifespans

Wondering from other Hauppauge pci card users about how long your cards are lasting. I have a graveyard of old HVR -2250s & 2255s. They seem to suffer from tuner component failure. ( same thing as the Quad I returned for warranty replacement.) The quad is just a dual 2255 with an input splitter according to Hauppauge. Is this hardware a lemon? I"m not comfortable replacing cards so regularly. My main pc components are way older & still going strong.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2019, 09:35 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxysurfer View Post
Wondering from other Hauppauge pci card users about how long your cards are lasting. I have a graveyard of old HVR -2250s & 2255s. They seem to suffer from tuner component failure. ( same thing as the Quad I returned for warranty replacement.)
Repeat failures make me suspect something else: what's the input source? Rooftop antenna? If so, nearby lightning (or similar) can destroy the input stage of **any** tuner. A direct hit isn't required. An HDHR can suffer the same fate. Always a good idea to ground the antenna mast.

Is the incoming coax properly tied to ground at a single point? Lack of a good ground can allow foreign voltage to enter via the coax and damage the tuner, too. This applies both to rooftop antenna or being fed from your local cable company.

Is the coax also connecting to other powered devices (antenna amplifier, TV, cable box, etc)? I've seen situations where a faulty TV has injected voltage back into the coax, causing other equipment to fail. Once such case involved a TV with a broken ground pin on the AC power plug. Bad things happen in the absence of proper grounding.

Quote:
The quad is just a dual 2255 with an input splitter according to Hauppauge.
That might be true from a marketing perspective at a 30,000 ft. altitude, but I'm very skeptical that's true from a hardware component & design perspective. My Quad and 2250 appear to have very different hardware. Of course, I haven't attempted to de-solder the can that covers the actual tuner front-end, so I reserve the right to be dead-wrong here. SHS can probably report the inside scoop from HCW engineers.

Quote:
Is this hardware a lemon? I"m not comfortable replacing cards so regularly. My main pc components are way older & still going strong.
As I previously posted, I've had no tuner failures with over a dozen tuners of various types in 10 years. Only one wall-wart failure during that time.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.

Last edited by JustFred; 03-06-2019 at 09:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2019, 09:55 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 265
The older cards were hooked up to coaxial cable & cable tv service until a few years ago, before I switched to rabbit ears. The newest Quad one is strictly indoor antenna. Is it due to a change in electrical current?

Not sure of the purchase date of each unit. The older ones may have went through pc change. Original tower was a Dell Dimension, then switched to current custom build in Lian-Li server case about 8 yrs ago. I remember one card I no longer have kicking around that did get fried. It was black looking after it met it's demise.

So verdict is I'm just hard on my tv cards? I do put them through their paces. ( full days of taping often) Only thing I can think of doing now is passthrough antenna via surge protector, but that may alter signal.

Last edited by Galaxysurfer; 03-06-2019 at 10:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2019, 10:15 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 265
Quote:
The quad is just a dual 2255 with an input splitter according to Hauppauge.
I could be wrong on that. I am only going by a comment from Huappauge tech guy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2019, 10:35 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxysurfer View Post
The older cards were hooked up to coaxial cable & cable tv service until a few years ago, before I switched to rabbit ears. The newest Quad one is strictly indoor antenna. Is it due to a change in electrical current?
Voltage spikes on the building's AC wiring can certainly get coupled into the tuner input and destroy it, but I'm hesitant to offer a specific guess without knowing EXACTLY what all your system wiring looks like. Equally hard to speculate about a common cause if the input source (antenna, cable) has changed over the history of dead tuners. And I'm unclear about the exact failure symptoms (PCIe card no longer recognized by Windows, vs. tuner no longer receives stations).

Are the current rabbit ears connected ONLY to the tuner input, and the antenna wire several feet away from any other wiring? All bets are off if this is an amplified antenna with it's own wall-wart.

I have a lovely tale-o-woe about an (outrageously overpriced) AC surge suppressor that promised to protect everything under the sun. It connected to the incoming coax, telephone line, power cords, etc, etc. And it failed in a subtle way that sent the phone line's 90 volt ring voltage into the STB, causing pixelization on the recorded program whenever the phone rang. Fun stuff.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.

Last edited by JustFred; 03-07-2019 at 01:00 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2019, 12:35 AM
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 913
I've been running 3 Nova-S2-HD cards from when the BBC went HD, which google tells me was 2010.

I'm also running an Nova-T-500. I searched my emails and found one to Sage support in 2008 about that card, so it's over 11 years old.

All of those cards are still working fine.

The only card I've had fail on me was a Terratec Cinergy 2400i dual tuner DVB-T card, which lost one of it's tuners.

Last edited by doc; 03-07-2019 at 01:18 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2019, 05:45 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,798
I've had several of their tuners, including the 2250 with zero component failures. I still have the original tuner I bought when I first tried BeyondTV and then SageTV.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2019, 11:21 AM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxysurfer View Post
... I switched to rabbit ears. The newest Quad one is strictly indoor antenna. Is it due to a change in electrical current?
Discharge of static electricity can do permanent damage. Walking across a carpeted room and then touching the rabbit ears (maybe to re-orient the antenna) could do it. Wool carpet with low humidity tends to be bad. Best to touch some grounded metal object (the metal faceplate of an AV receiver?), to bleed off the charge on your body, before touching the rabbit ears.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Curious online TV idea samgreco General Discussion 5 10-19-2012 09:09 PM
Just Curious--what's up w/ the betas? rwc SageTV Beta Test Software 23 05-30-2011 07:50 PM
Just curious. How do you all use Sage? Fountainhead SageTV Software 24 08-26-2007 12:03 PM
Curious, Anyone close to me? traker1001 The SageTV Community 11 12-14-2006 12:07 PM
A Curious Interlacing Issue Mahoney SageTV Software 2 09-19-2005 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.