SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2019, 12:48 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Ssagetv 64 can't find java error

I have 9.2.1 32 bit installed and it works fine
I installed the 64 bit but I get the can't find java error
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (15.9 KB, 83 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2019, 12:55 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by krbaugh View Post
I have 9.2.1 32 bit installed and it works fine
I installed the 64 bit but I get the can't find java error
Did you install 64-bit Java? The registry key SageTV is looking for is

HKLM\Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2019, 02:18 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
yes it was installed when I installed it the 64 bit version I removed it then reinstalled it with the same error
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2019, 03:32 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by krbaugh View Post
yes it was installed when I installed it the 64 bit version I removed it then reinstalled it with the same error
What does the registry key above show on your machine?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2019, 09:45 AM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
when I do a search for HKLM\Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment
regedit does not find anything
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (31.7 KB, 62 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2019, 10:48 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,195
Try searching for just "Java Runtime Environment"

k
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2019, 05:03 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
I did that there are a bunch of entries fo that
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2019, 06:02 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by krbaugh View Post
I did that there are a bunch of entries fo that
HKLM\Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment\CurrentVersion is the specific key that SageTV is looking for. Does your system have that? It should be set to the version number, like "1.8". Then in turn there will be a HKLM\Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment\1.8\RuntimeLib entry with the path the actual java DLL.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2020, 10:17 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
I have cycled back around to this and yes I have the correct java entry in the registry
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2020, 10:56 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by krbaugh View Post
I have cycled back around to this and yes I have the correct java entry in the registry
What is the currentversion (value) stored in the registry and what is the hard drive path stored in the similar registry key I described above? Then check the disk for jvm.dll in that location.

That’s specifically what the loader tries to do to load the JVM.

Post screenshots of everything under HKLM\Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment with the branches all expanded.

Last edited by wnjj; 02-05-2020 at 10:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-06-2020, 04:30 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
version 1.8 see attacheed pictures
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (266.0 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg Capture1.JPG (171.2 KB, 33 views)

Last edited by krbaugh; 02-06-2020 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:20 PM
JREkiwi's Avatar
JREkiwi JREkiwi is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,096
I don't understand how you have update Java 8 Update 241 (64-bit) in the registry and folder, but Java 8 Update 191 (64-bit) displaying in your Installed Programs

John
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:28 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Those look ok, assuming Java Runtime Environment\CurrentVersion value is set to "1.8" (didn't see it in the pics).

The specific error message you posted in the first post happens when the SageTV launcher program tries to load the jvm.dll. The only reasons I can think of are:

1. Mixed bitness between exe and dll (i.e. 32-bit sagetv.exe loading 64-bit jvm.dll or vice-versa).
2. Bad path to jvm.dll (looks ok though)
3. Missing jvm.dll (look ok too)
4. File/user permissions preventing read of jvm.dll (unlikely)

To help prove that the sagetv.exe is using those specific keys and trying to load that exact jvm.dll, you can try the suggestion I made to temporarily modify "CurrentVersion" in a similar thread here: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...38&postcount=8

Unfortunately BigSwifty's solution of uninstall/reinstall fixed his issue without knowing why. Again, the code path from sagetv.exe to loading that dll is pretty straightforward so I'm not sure what else to suggest right now other than trying that mod to see if the error message changes.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:29 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by JREkiwi View Post
I don't understand how you have update Java 8 Update 241 (64-bit) in the registry and folder, but Java 8 Update 191 (64-bit) displaying in your Installed Programs

John
I suspect a newer version was tried after the original failure.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:34 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
One other thing I found from an old thread (https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...2&postcount=16):

Make sure there isn't a "jre" folder under the sagetv folder. It will find that one first. This shouldn't happen from a fresh install but in case you copied over "stuff" from your 32-bit setup.

Looking closer at the loader code, I don't think you'd get the error message you see though. If the local JVM fails to load (i.e. wrong bitness), it falls back to using the registry.

Last edited by wnjj; 02-06-2020 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-06-2020, 06:10 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
I suspect a newer version was tried after the original failure.
Correct
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-06-2020, 06:28 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
One other thing I found from an old thread (https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...2&postcount=16):

Make sure there isn't a "jre" folder under the sagetv folder. It will find that one first. This shouldn't happen from a fresh install but in case you copied over "stuff" from your 32-bit setup.

Looking closer at the loader code, I don't think you'd get the error message you see though. If the local JVM fails to load (i.e. wrong bitness), it falls back to using the registry.
I decided to uninstall sage 64 and remove the program file\sagetv folder to insure i did not have any old files when i tried to remove the folder I found that wiz.bin file was in use by my 32 bit install not sure why wiz.bin is not in my C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTv\SageTv folder??
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-06-2020, 06:47 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by krbaugh View Post
I decided to uninstall sage 64 and remove the program file\sagetv folder to insure i did not have any old files when i tried to remove the folder I found that wiz.bin file was in use by my 32 bit install not sure why wiz.bin is not in my C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTv\SageTv folder??
???

That's a problem. It sounds like there is some serious mixed up paths going on. Are you running service mode or application? In service mode you can only have one of them running at a time without issues.

wiz.bin is loaded from the same directory where java engine was launched from (i.e. working directory).

Is there still a wiz.bin in the (x86) directory and what is the last updated date?

At this point I'd suggest stopping all SageTV stuff (programs and services), reboot and start fresh with one thing at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-06-2020, 06:50 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Also you can check the sage.properties file for an entry with "widget_db_file" to see the path to wiz.bin. Do that for both 32 and 64-bit properties files.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-06-2020, 07:22 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
ok these 2 entries had the wrong path
I changed to
wizard/db_backup_file=C\:\\Program Files (x86)\\SageTV\\SageTV\\SageTV\\Wiz.bak
wizard/db_file=C\:\\Program Files (x86)\\SageTV\\SageTV\\Wiz.bin
now it is using wix.bin from the 32 bit folder
and yes I am running as a service
I have to give up the tv for now the wife wants to watch TV

Looking at all the other entries many had the wrong path
so I changed the rest to \Program Files (x86)\

I will test further when I can

Last edited by krbaugh; 02-06-2020 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java error: java.lang.NullPointerException neil.prasad SageTV Software 8 12-13-2011 07:43 PM
Java Error! Please help cash SageTV Software 17 03-04-2011 09:44 PM
I can't find references to this error bigbill SageTV Software 1 11-27-2008 06:35 PM
Java error jt4033 SageTV Linux 5 03-16-2008 03:22 PM
Placeshifter can't find Java Mahoney SageTV Placeshifter 4 02-20-2007 09:41 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.