SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2861  
Old 04-16-2021, 12:01 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
To add to this - you can also use OpenDCT with streams from HDHR OTA tuners. But it has never been clear to me why you would want to do this rather than use them directly which I have done for over a decade.

There is also a variation on this (OpenDCT Generic HTTP Capture Device) that let's you capture other types of network video streams, such as an IP camera or even your PC screen, and capture these in SageTV. This would also work with HDMI encoders (BM1000,URay) which would be a way to be able to capture 4k cable/sat output.
Also, I think OpenDCT does some clean up of the OTA stream via FFMPEG, resulting in fewer viewing issues in miniclient.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #2862  
Old 04-16-2021, 12:29 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I can answer why you would want to use OPENDCT with HDHR Ota tuners is pooling. Where OPENDCT will check if a tuner is in use by another APP and if it is in use will move on to next available tuner. Without OPENDCT if sagetv tries to use a tuner in use it will just fail and not try another.
Thanks - I have had this happen as on my backup SageTV server(s) I will often point them to an HDHR tuner and occasionally I will have an issue where they try to use the same tuner as my main server. In the past I would fix this by removing a tuner or two from my main tuner. I have two dual HDHRs and rarely need more than one tuner these days so that isn't really a limitation.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2863  
Old 04-16-2021, 12:30 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Also, I think OpenDCT does some clean up of the OTA stream via FFMPEG, resulting in fewer viewing issues in miniclient.
I haven't really noticed issues when watching content in the miniclient, other than more complete dropouts or green blocks, but that generally happens during periods of bad weather.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2864  
Old 04-25-2021, 05:29 AM
peterjb peterjb is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 201
I've found that the native DVB-T support within in SageTV can be a bit hit and miss to use ( at least here in Oz ).. So I use OpenDCT as the source to clean up the streams and work around the tuning and recording issues. Works like a charm!
Reply With Quote
  #2865  
Old 05-02-2021, 10:05 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 663
Is (was) there a link to a .deb file for OpenDCT?
Reply With Quote
  #2866  
Old 05-09-2021, 06:54 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchiso View Post
Is (was) there a link to a .deb file for OpenDCT?
Bintray kind of pulled the rug out from under me with 30 days notice to move my stuff because they were getting rid of the free repositories. I will be uploading the latest build to GitHub soon.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2867  
Old 05-09-2021, 08:35 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 663
Thanks ...
Reply With Quote
  #2868  
Old 05-10-2021, 07:07 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,648
You can now find the latest compiled version of OpenDCT on Github.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #2869  
Old 05-11-2021, 09:30 AM
AlphaCrew AlphaCrew is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Whosevile
Posts: 284
Thank You
Reply With Quote
  #2870  
Old 05-11-2021, 07:36 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,475
Yes, thank you for keeping up with this.
Reply With Quote
  #2871  
Old 05-18-2021, 04:41 AM
Madz Madz is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 82
I'm trying to get OpenDCT setup (in a docker image) to work with my HDHomeRun Connect Quatro. I'm able to use this tuner directly in SageTV (using the native support) but am having trouble under linux with one particular channel - all sub-streams from that channel have issues currently - am hoping the magic of OpenDCT running them through ffmpeg etc will solve this.

Do I need tell it somehow to use the antenna input with australian channels (DVB-T)> When adding the tuner to sage, after it's gone through the process of "determining broadcast standard" there's the screen where you select the tuning option .... the only option there is to "Use Tuner on Capture Card to tune Antenna/Cable TV. then it says "(To selectr between Antenna or Calble, use the SageTV installation that is controlling this Network Encoder)"

So maybe there's something I need to do there??

Currently I get No Signal and the OpenDCT logs show:

Code:
09:54:22.718 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG SageTVRequestHandler - SageTV sent: 'START HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2 Digital TV Tuner|695555054|12914-12957-2085-26|3242663325434|/var/media/tv/7617_50_0518_1954-0.ts|Great'
09:54:22.719 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG HDHRNativeCaptureDevice - Capture device is now re-locked.
09:54:22.719 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG SageTVRequestHandler - Starting network encoder via upload ID '695555054' to file name '/var/media/tv/7617_50_0518_1954-0.ts'.
09:54:22.719 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] ERROR HDHRNativeCaptureDevice - The channel number 12914 is not a valid AU_BCAST channel number.
09:54:22.720 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG HDHomeRunControl - key: '/tuner2/lockkey' value: 'null' lockKey: '0' sendLength: 26 address: 192.168.0.49
09:54:22.722 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG HDHomeRunControl - key: '/tuner2/lockkey' value: '1062731716' lockKey: '1062731716' sendLength: 45 address: 192.168.0.49
09:54:22.723 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] INFO  HDHRNativeCaptureDevice - HDHomeRun is now locked.
09:54:22.723 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG RTPCaptureDeviceServices - Producer was not running.
09:54:22.723 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG BasicCaptureDevice - Consumer is not in progress.
09:54:22.724 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG DynamicConsumerImpl - Using default consumer 'opendct.consumer.MediaServerConsumerImpl' for channel '12914-12957-2085-26'
09:54:22.729 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] INFO  HDHRNativeCaptureDevice - Starting the encoding for the channel '12914-12957-2085-26' from the device 'HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2' to the file '/var/media/tv/7617_50_0518_1954-0.ts' via the upload id '695555054'...
09:54:22.729 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG HDHomeRunControl - key: '/tuner2/vchannel' value: '12957.2085.26' lockKey: '1062731716' sendLength: 49 address: 192.168.0.49
09:54:22.730 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] DEBUG HDHRNativeCaptureDevice - Unable to set virtual channel. Trying legacy tuning. => opendct.tuning.hdhomerun.GetSetException: ERROR: invalid virtual channel
	at opendct.tuning.hdhomerun.HDHomeRunControl.setVariable(HDHomeRunControl.java:238)
	at opendct.tuning.hdhomerun.HDHomeRunControl.setVariable(HDHomeRunControl.java:111)
	at opendct.tuning.hdhomerun.HDHomeRunTuner.set(HDHomeRunTuner.java:152)
	at opendct.tuning.hdhomerun.HDHomeRunTuner.setVirtualChannel(HDHomeRunTuner.java:516)
	at opendct.capture.HDHRNativeCaptureDevice.startEncodingSync(HDHRNativeCaptureDevice.java:631)
	at opendct.capture.HDHRNativeCaptureDevice.startEncoding(HDHRNativeCaptureDevice.java:497)
	at opendct.sagetv.SageTVRequestHandler.run(SageTVRequestHandler.java:226)
	at opendct.util.ThreadPool$1.run(ThreadPool.java:39)
	at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Executors.java:511)
	at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:266)
	at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1149)
	at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:624)
	at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:748)

09:54:22.731 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] INFO  ChannelLineup - '12914-12957-2085-26' was remapped to '12957.2085.26'.
09:54:22.731 [SageTVRequestHandler-130:HDHomeRun OpenDCT-2] ERROR HDHRNativeCaptureDevice - legacyTuneChannel: The channel number 12914 is not a valid ATSC channel.
--

Edit - I've found the "tuning_mode" option in Sage and changed it from "Cable" to "Air" but that doesn't seem to have helped.
Looks like maybe it has something to do with the logical/physical channel overrides I've got in Sage as I'm able to tune channels on a fresh channel lineup but the EPG setup is complicated for me using an old XMLTV importer etc and so I was hoping to be able to copy my existing lineup (and that seemed to be fine when using the HDHR directly).

Any ideas?

Last edited by Madz; 05-18-2021 at 06:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2872  
Old 05-20-2021, 08:34 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
You can now find the latest compiled version of OpenDCT on Github.
Hey, I just spent a week or two learning about unraid to I could move opendct and Sagetv to docker containers on an unraid server. Built the server and prepped the drives and finally tried to load the Docker Images today, but neither seems to be working. Could this be the issue? Is there someone who can update the Docker Installs for each? Sorry, I know little about this and am just confused and a bit frustrated that this does not appear to work after two weeks of prep...

Thanks for any help or insight you can provide........

Last edited by phantomii; 05-20-2021 at 08:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2873  
Old 05-22-2021, 01:46 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomii View Post
Is there someone who can update the Docker Installs for each?.
The beauty of the Unraid builds is that every time you restart the docker, I understand it grabs the latest version of Opendct or Sage (depending on which you're restarting). Therefore it is unlikely to be the software version.

However, which Java version are you using? I remember reading that one of the newer versions is not ready for prime-time yet. Are you using the Java8 version of SageTV? That one works for me.

One stumbling block you might run into is with OpenDCT. On Windows, I think the consumer defaults to FFMPEG. On Unraid, it defaults to opendct.consumer.MediaServerConsumerImpl. If, you're like me, that caused a problem when I first went to Unraid. I had to Stop Opendct, then override each device to opendct.consumer.FFmpegTransSageTVConsumerImpl so that it would use FFMPEG.

DO NOT override consumer.dynamic.default at the top. it will NOT save, by design, on Unraid. You need to override the devices individually.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.2.1, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #2874  
Old 05-22-2021, 03:22 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,409
Well the beauty of a system that always downloads and updates falls apart when the download system changes as is the case with Bintray going away. In fact that is a never-ending problem with the internet. Sometimes there’s something to be said for install once and leave alone. My Windows setup has been running since 2012.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #2875  
Old 05-22-2021, 11:04 PM
Madz Madz is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 82
Totally agree wnjj and my windows setup was much the same - hence why still running WHS2011 (and would have been perfectly happy with it except I need to run some windows docker containers and newer IIS etc).

phantomii I feel your pain as I've also picked this time to do a Windows to Linux sage rebuild... (i'm moving to a Synology NAS)

I'm away at the moment so can't send you anything specific, but basically you've got 3 issues:

The SageTV docker - this isn't so much of a problem as the sage files sit outside the docker container and wnjj has uploaded the latest binaries to the OpenSageTV GitHub so you can just drop the files into the folder that's bound into the container. The update check fails, but container still spins up with whatever files are there currently.

The OpenDCT docker - although the files are still stored external to the container this is a bit more difficult as I don't think it will spin up without being able to access bintray - from memory it crashes with an error. I modified the docker image (locally) to pull from github instead - haven't got around to doing a PR yet but can help out when I get back if you aren't able to get it working.

The biggest problem though is most of the plugins are broken atm as they also depend on bintray so even when you get Sage up and running you can't go through and install things the way you want. It took me quite a while as the versions and platforms weren't the same, but I migrated things over from my existing windows sage install and that seems to have worked although I have had HDHR tuner issues to resolve so haven't used the linux version much yet to confirm.
Reply With Quote
  #2876  
Old 05-24-2021, 08:19 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Thanks so much for the response. I am also away from home at the moment. I will look through your comments and suggestions when I get home and see what I can do but might be a bit over my head. More learning in store for me I guess!

On a related note, does anyone know if there is a way to put an announcement on these forums about the three impacts noted above by Madz? Seems like kind of a big deal and could discourage folks from using, or continuing with SageTV, and that would be a shame.
Reply With Quote
  #2877  
Old 05-28-2021, 03:41 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Well the beauty of a system that always downloads and updates falls apart when the download system changes as is the case with Bintray going away. In fact that is a never-ending problem with the internet. Sometimes there’s something to be said for install once and leave alone. My Windows setup has been running since 2012.
Kind of unrelated to this, but I have read that this is a potential problem with some NFTs as they have a URL hard-coded into what you are buying so that if a host goes away then you lose the content of your NFT.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner & SageTV nyle Hardware Support 4 02-17-2009 10:12 PM
ATI TV Wonder Digital Cable Tuner rajczi Hardware Support 4 01-14-2008 08:24 PM
ATI TV Wonder™ Digital Cable Tuner dadams Hardware Support 4 01-09-2007 10:55 AM
Digital Cable - one guide - need HD on one tuner reg tv on other Kimper SageTV Beta Test Software 14 11-27-2006 08:15 PM
Multi-tuner Digital Cable mlbdude SageTV Software 0 06-26-2003 01:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.