SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV Australia/New Zealand

Notices

SageTV Australia/New Zealand SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the Land Down Under - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in Australia and New Zealand.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2015, 03:17 AM
SimonH SimonH is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, AUS
Posts: 9
Alternatives to IceTV for Australia

Now that IceTV is officially dead - I'm looking for an alternative source of Australian FTA EPG data for my SageTV server.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2015, 07:31 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,588
I think Schedules Direct offers EPG data for Australia.

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2015, 07:47 AM
rkulagow's Avatar
rkulagow rkulagow is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
I think Schedules Direct offers EPG data for Australia.

Andy
It's something that we're looking into but it's still extremely alpha at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2015, 08:00 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkulagow View Post
It's something that we're looking into but it's still extremely alpha at this point.
Sorry, I misread something as listing Australia.

Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2016, 11:51 PM
mickp's Avatar
mickp mickp is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonH View Post
Now that IceTV is officially dead - I'm looking for an alternative source of Australian FTA EPG data for my SageTV server.

Any suggestions?
Hey Simon,

It's been a couple of years since my SageTV box died and I'm just investigating getting things back up and running now.

Just before everything died I had cancelled my ICETV subscription and changed over to using the included OTA programme guide. SAGE TV can just pick this up from the broadcast when tuning TVB-T. IIRC you just need to not specify a guide source and it "magically" starts to populate the guide. Last I saw the guide was limited to about a week ahead for most channels.

I was living in Coffs Harbour at the time and found that there were multiple transmitters for each station/network some with and some without programme information provided. YMMV.

Mick.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2016, 12:00 AM
SimonH SimonH is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, AUS
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickp View Post
Hey Simon,

It's been a couple of years since my SageTV box died and I'm just investigating getting things back up and running now.

Just before everything died I had cancelled my ICETV subscription and changed over to using the included OTA programme guide. SAGE TV can just pick this up from the broadcast when tuning TVB-T. IIRC you just need to not specify a guide source and it "magically" starts to populate the guide. Last I saw the guide was limited to about a week ahead for most channels.

I was living in Coffs Harbour at the time and found that there were multiple transmitters for each station/network some with and some without programme information provided. YMMV.

Mick.
Hi Mick,

Yes, I did swap to using the OTA EPG information - the problem with this is that you don't typically get consistent handling of series or first run / repeat information - which is where IceTV excelled.

As it turns out IceTV has phoenixed, so I've signed up with them again after getting frustrated with the OTA data.

Simon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you in Australia/NZ? mickp SageTV Australia/New Zealand 1 07-30-2009 05:34 AM
IceTV vs Broadcast (free) EPG floyd_2 SageTV Australia/New Zealand 4 12-01-2008 11:28 PM
iceTV Timezones antplugger SageTV Australia/New Zealand 2 09-24-2008 03:09 AM
Anyone in Sydney Australia using IceTv with Sage ? I need help... :-( vvulture SageTV EPG Service 2 03-18-2008 06:37 AM
Which solution for Australia? SliceMan SageTV EPG Service 1 09-11-2006 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.