SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2008, 12:24 AM
MichaelFraser MichaelFraser is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
HD Media Extender - non-responsive at menu

I just got my HD Media Extender set up over a wireless-N network. Everything is dandy at first: it recognizes my server and connects to it. However, once it's connected, that's it. It simply sits at the main menu. I can't select anything, or even move to a different option. However, the Extender is responsive if I want to turn it off, and has the right time displayed, meaning that's it's clearly connected to the server at least in some sense.

Any ideas what might be causing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2008, 12:41 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,612
Does the sage.properties file on your server have ui/rc_mappings/<command name> lines?

If so, exit SageTV on your server, then edit sage.properties to remove all the ui/rc_mappings lines, and restart SageTV.

If you need those lines in sage.properties in order to use a remote on the server & you are not using service mode, then you could copy all the ui/rc_mappings lines from the RemoteClients.properties.defaults file (found in the same dir as SageTV.exe) to the extender's properties file -- found in the "clients" subfolder using a name of <extender mac address>.properties.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2008, 12:51 AM
MichaelFraser MichaelFraser is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks for the quick reply.

There were no ui/rc_mappings/<command name> lines in the sage.properties file on my server.

My extender's properties file has no ui/rc_mappings lines in it either. It's about 10 lines long. It reads:

#Sage Preferences
#Fri Mar 28 23:49:14 PDT 2008
osd_rendering_height_ntsc=540
osd_rendering_width=960
rc5_disable=false
ui/accelerated_rendering=false
ui/animation/background_surface_name=BG
ui/animation/preferred_scrolling_surface=Foreground
ui/force_full_ui_rendering=false
ui/scaling_insets_base_height=480
ui/scaling_insets_base_width=720
zzz=true
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2008, 07:11 AM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelFraser View Post
I just got my HD Media Extender set up over a wireless-N network. Everything is dandy at first: it recognizes my server and connects to it. However, once it's connected, that's it. It simply sits at the main menu. I can't select anything, or even move to a different option. However, the Extender is responsive if I want to turn it off, and has the right time displayed, meaning that's it's clearly connected to the server at least in some sense.

Any ideas what might be causing this?
The power button is responsive because it is handled locally on the extender itself. The wireless-N network is causing most of the slowdown. You should hook it up wired and then configure it properly by turning off animation and insuring you have acceptable speed. Then go back to wireless, I think your skips will still be slow compared to a wired connection.
You can try adding the following line to the extender properties file to turn off animation but I am not sure if it is enough:
ui/animation/core_enabled=false
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2008, 10:25 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,612
I would certainly check out a wired connection to get it set up. I'm not going to say not to try changing the animation setting, of course, but I don't think the animation setting would do anything because the issue is not a slowdown in how fast the UI responds; it is a complete lack of response to any input at all, at least according to the description.

Several things to look at: What version of SageTV are you using on the server? It should be at least v6.3.5. Have you checked the firewall ports for using an extender? Does the time on the Main Menu get updated?

In the past, a lack of response to the remote was caused by the remote's codes not being assigned to any commands, so that's why I was starting there. Is there a RemoteClients.properties.defaults file in the same directory as SageTV.exe & does it have the ui/rc_mappings lines? The first one of those lines should be:
ui/rc_mappings/0=14208,14272,6016,6080,1397643529,2146466815,5888,

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Media Extender and PowerDVD Ultra bbenkstein SageTV Customizations 1 12-27-2007 01:48 PM
SageTV HD Media Extender Narflex SageTV Media Extender 386 12-14-2007 12:25 PM
Server hardware requirements for HD media extender? tch65721 SageTV Media Extender 6 12-12-2007 04:06 PM
Congrats on the HD media extender and Sage Server system mikesm General Discussion 288 09-26-2007 08:35 AM
Media Extender Server menu option mrblack SageTV Media Extender 4 02-19-2006 01:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.