SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2011, 11:37 AM
nyc6035 nyc6035 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 9
Taking the show(s) on the road

I've been using Sagetv for about 6 months with the sagetv server happliy recording shows for rendering to the sagetv extenders for tv display.

Now I would like to grab some of the content and place it on a pc for local viewing on the road. The files from the server appear to be .ts files.

The laptop is running windows 7 and I'm using VLC player which handles 'most' anything....except it seems the 'native' sagetv *.ts recordings.

This is probably a 'basic' question - but I didn't find anything on search.

I would appreciate if you could point me in the right direction as to how to play/convert/tweak whatever necessary to make this work. Not sure if I need a standard codec on the laptop -or if I need to tweak the recording parameters on the server.

Thx.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2011, 12:08 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
What is the source you are recording from? .TS is just a container, and can hold quite a variety of video and audio streams.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2011, 01:15 PM
nyc6035 nyc6035 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 9
I am recording from the SageTV Media Center V7. I haven't tweaked anything. I have also the placeshifter...which I could use if I wanted to do a network connection...but what I'm looking to do is jus move the source file from the sagetv server to the local laptop and play.

I haven't made any modifications to the sagetv software for the recordings it makes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2011, 01:20 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyc6035 View Post
I am recording from the SageTV Media Center V7.
That's what you're recording with. But where is the actual TV signal coming from? Digital broadcast, analog or digital cable, satellite? How is that TV source connected to your computer, and what sort of tuner device are you using to capture it? These are what determine the format your files are recorded in.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2011, 01:35 PM
nyc6035 nyc6035 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 9
Silicon Dust HDHomeRun Tuner. I'm using an OTA antenna to pick up digital broadcast channels. The PC that's the DVR is using the ethernet connection to receive the signal from the HDHomeRun.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2011, 02:31 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
In that case Sage is just saving to disk the already digitized signal sent out by the broadcaster, in whatever format they broadcast in. There are no settings in Sage to tweak because it's not doing the digitizing; it's just saving the bit stream as it comes in.

If you want to see what the format is for a particular recording, go into the Recording Details screen for that recording.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2011, 06:20 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,181
If you are using an HDHR for OTA signals then your files should be actually saved as MPG files which can easily be handled by VLC and almost any media player including Windows Media Player.

You might want to try MPC - Media Player Classic as well as VLC
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2011, 02:55 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,142
I used to be able to watch with VLC in v6 (.MPGs recorded via HDHR), but have not even tried in v7. Does the embedding of metadata by Sage into recordings possibly cause problems with viewing, or is that not even a factor?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2011, 03:00 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,181
Metadata embedding is not a factor - I use VLC as well as other programs, such as AirVideo on the iPad.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2011, 03:28 PM
nyc6035 nyc6035 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 9
Still no luck

So I tried MPC ...I also deleted and reloaded VLC 1.19; Deactivitated and then reactivated Windows Media Player, updated Directx. Still no luck.

Using MPC this is the media profile of a typical file I'm having no luck playing:

General
ID : 1 (0x1)
Complete name : \\BASEMENTSERVER\SageTV\NBCNightlyNews-704344-0.ts
Format : MPEG-TS
File size : 2.20 GiB
Duration : 29mn 48s
Overall bit rate : 10.6 Mbps

Video
ID : 512 (0x200)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : MPEG Video
Format version : Version 2
Format profile : Main@High
Format settings, BVOP : Yes
Format settings, Matrix : Default
Codec ID : 2
Duration : 10s 644ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 9 476 Kbps
Nominal bit rate : 24.0 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
ActiveFormatDescription : Pillarbox 4:3 image
Frame rate : 29.970 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Interlaced
Scan order : Top Field First
Compression mode : Lossy
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.152
Stream size : 12.0 MiB (1%)

Audio #1
ID : 513 (0x201)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Format version : Version 2.5
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Codec ID : 129
Duration : 29mn 48s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 81.9 MiB (4%)
Language : English

Audio #2
ID : 514 (0x202)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Format version : Version 2.5
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Codec ID : 129
Duration : 29mn 48s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 192 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : -404ms
Stream size : 40.9 MiB (2%)
Language : Spanish


Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-25-2011, 08:13 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,181
I have no problem playing most Sage files in VLC - just tried using version 1.19 and I have used previous versions over the past several years. This is using OTA recordings from my HDHR as well as recordings from the HD-PVR.

The only time I had problems was with HD-PVR recordings when the recording started at a different channel and different video format and then the format changed - from 480i to 1080i for example as the HD-PVR started recording before the channel change occurred.

Are you recording QAM or OTA? All of my HDHR recordings are OTA and they are stored as .mpg files.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Take an HD200 on the road ericscottf SageTV Media Extender 29 10-03-2010 01:42 PM
Using the HD200 on the road. Media Quest SageTV Media Extender 0 01-13-2009 11:41 AM
Sage on the Road AWS SageTV Software 1 08-28-2006 07:39 PM
Frustration is taking over trevorst SageTV Software 20 12-28-2003 09:40 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.