SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2006, 02:43 PM
wheelrandolph wheelrandolph is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 190
Unhappy 45 button remote loses focus

Hi All,
I recently upraded to 4.1.6(?) and also tried new pvr-150 drivers to cure no sound issues on some channels (didn't work). I've reverted back to old drivers and completely Uninstalled Sage and did a clean install and I still have this new problem of remote stopping to work for no reason. It will work fine and if I put Sage to sleep it won't respond. Also, even if Sage is left full screen it will be unresponsive sometimes. The only thing that fixes it is rebooting the pc and it lasts for a while and then Stops working??? Does anyone know what I can try? Thanks for any help.

Randy
__________________
Sage Server: PhenomII X2 550 AM3 3.1Gz, GA-MA770T-UD3P, 4GB G.Skill DDR3-1333, OCZ MXP 700w PSU, WD Caviar Blue(2): 320GB (system), 500GB(videos), HVR-2250, PVR-150, Harmony 880
Windows7 Ultimate

HD-200 extender, 37 in. lcd tv (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2006, 10:23 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,615
It depends on what the issue is... there was a problem where the remote simply stopped working after a while & nothing short of a reboot would get it working again. Restarting ir.exe didn't work. If this is your problem, then you should check out other IR drivers from Hauppauge. (This sounds like what you mean, since you mention rebooting.)

If the remote still works, but it just doesn't work to wake SageTV when it is sleeping as an icon in the system tray, then check out the Hauppauge links in my sig lines -- post 3 of link 1 or post 15 of link 3.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2006, 09:02 AM
wheelrandolph wheelrandolph is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 190
Talking

Thanks Andy for the reply. I uninstalled Haup. drivers and used th CD from my latest pvr-150 card to reinstall and it seems to work ok now. Still have to use mouse to awake from tray so I will re-visit your sig lines and like you suggest--it has been a while since it has worked so well for a year now. It is just annoying having to reach for mouse.

(ps. I am orig. from N.J.--live in AZ now)

Randy
__________________
Sage Server: PhenomII X2 550 AM3 3.1Gz, GA-MA770T-UD3P, 4GB G.Skill DDR3-1333, OCZ MXP 700w PSU, WD Caviar Blue(2): 320GB (system), 500GB(videos), HVR-2250, PVR-150, Harmony 880
Windows7 Ultimate

HD-200 extender, 37 in. lcd tv (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:11 PM
Athfar's Avatar
Athfar Athfar is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 151
Hey, I am having similar problems. I think its if I sleep sage using the actual ir.exe (not having it sleep on its own). I am constantly having to log back into my server and restart the IR (really annoying)... other than that the whole thing works great.

Could you post the install for the older version of the ir software you are using?
__________________
System (Windows Vista Ultimate): AMD Athlon 64 3500 / BFG Tech NF4S (nForce4 Ultra) / 4GB PC3200 / Sapphire ATI 2400PRO (Passive)
Drives: 2x 500gb Seagate 7200.10 (Mirrored) / 1x NEC DVD-R/W
PCI Cards: 1x Hauppauge PVR 150 & 1x Hauppauge HVR 1600
Remote: Media Center Remote / Keyboard
Case: MCE-701 w/ 7-Inch Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:54 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
After I upgraded to 4.0 I have been having some issues as well, although not as serious as others here. When waking Sage, Starting Sage or when returning from an external player back to Sage it does not give Sage focus...
I have the red button on the bottom to open/focus SageTV. I have to press it twice to get Sage to focus right. This is not a huge problem until a friend or guest comes over and gets pop-ups from the ir.exe Exit dialog box.

I tried reverting back to 2.2.8 and it does not have the same problem with opening and focus but I do not want to revert back just for this, especially if someone knows what could fix it?

Does anybody else have this issue or is it just me?
__________________
If this doesn't work right, Then:
"I'm going to blow up the Earth!"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2006, 07:15 PM
Athfar's Avatar
Athfar Athfar is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 151
Well, I am not 100% certain that the problem lies with sage for me, but its pretty damm annoying... everytime I try to use my box I have to restart ir.exe... the ir.exe is stille working though because I have it eject my DVD using keys CTRL - L or something and it works fine... Maybe it lies within the sendmessage application???
__________________
System (Windows Vista Ultimate): AMD Athlon 64 3500 / BFG Tech NF4S (nForce4 Ultra) / 4GB PC3200 / Sapphire ATI 2400PRO (Passive)
Drives: 2x 500gb Seagate 7200.10 (Mirrored) / 1x NEC DVD-R/W
PCI Cards: 1x Hauppauge PVR 150 & 1x Hauppauge HVR 1600
Remote: Media Center Remote / Keyboard
Case: MCE-701 w/ 7-Inch Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.