SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2015, 07:12 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,551
PlaceShifter Always Transcodes

It seems like no matter what I do - it always transcodes. Is there any way to turn it OFF or at least turn it off when the MP4 file are small enough so that it doesn't need to transcode? I tried the setting in properties to not transcode if it's more than 2mbs with this:

miniplayer/min_bandwidth_for_no_transcode=2000000

But, it continues to do it anyways and I even tried setting it down to 20000 and it still transcodes.

I also checked the task manager and transcoding is not taking up more than 10-20% CPU resources so I don't think that's an issue even though I have an old AMD Phenom IIx4 945 processor with 6GB RAM.

The other problem is that when it does transcode it seems that I can fast forward or rewind and the quality is just not good even though it seems that my upload / download speed is fine (about 8-12 mbs on average).

Any thoughts? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2015, 07:45 PM
trallyus trallyus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 392
If your using the PC Placeshifter , run it, and then choose settings before you click connect and click the streaming tab.

Over my local network I use playback media without transcoding but that should be what you want.

If your using some other placeshifter then someone else will have to help you out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2015, 02:04 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,551
We have already tried going into Settings in Placeshifter before running it and checking playback without transcoding. It still transcodes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2015, 06:20 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
What format is the file you are playing?
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2015, 06:59 PM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
I've seen this behavior as well. As soon as you go outside your home network placeshifter will transcode. I never found a solution myself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2016, 08:58 PM
dravenone dravenone is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 71
I believe what Gustovier stated is how it's suppose to work by design. I wonder if making a VPN connection back to your home network would work. Unfortunately I don't know how to setup a VPN.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extender transcodes online streams? Docholo SageTV Media Extender 1 01-14-2010 04:51 AM
Transcodes with bad audio -help needed kricker SageTV Software 0 11-13-2009 09:55 PM
Playon transcodes to mpeg2? bialio SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 6 09-28-2009 09:42 AM
Why is the iPod Transcodes set to 512x384 edbmdave SageTV Software 1 02-01-2008 11:26 AM
Placeshifter transcodes mp3 (sometimes!) motobarsteward SageTV Beta Test Software 0 03-13-2007 02:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.