SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2015, 01:33 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Rebuild Sage.jar (Windows and Linux and probably Mac)

See the BUILDING file for details on rebuilding the Sage.jar and setting up Eclipse and/or IntelliJ build projects.

The goal would be to extend the cross platform gradle builds, but for now, rebuilding the Sage.jar is just just 2 steps

1. Clone the repo
2. run gradlew.bat sageJar

I think it goes without saying that you also need to have a JDK (not JRE) installed as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2015, 03:06 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,842
Brilliant. I suspect 99% of development will be done in Sage.jar.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2015, 06:26 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I've noticed, that for peak usability, we need to rebuild the exe's as well. At least in the client exe, it still asks for license keys. They are not required, and you can hit esc 4 times to get by it, but it does appear to need that check removed and recompiled. I have yet to attempt compiling it, as I've got to somehow find a copy of vs 2005.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2015, 06:36 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I've noticed, that for peak usability, we need to rebuild the exe's as well. At least in the client exe, it still asks for license keys. They are not required, and you can hit esc 4 times to get by it, but it does appear to need that check removed and recompiled. I have yet to attempt compiling it, as I've got to somehow find a copy of vs 2005.
Forgive my ignorance, since it's been about 20 years since I've developed on Windows... but isn't Visual Studio a free download?

https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/p...xpress-vs.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2015, 06:41 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I've noticed, that for peak usability, we need to rebuild the exe's as well. At least in the client exe, it still asks for license keys. They are not required, and you can hit esc 4 times to get by it, but it does appear to need that check removed and recompiled. I have yet to attempt compiling it, as I've got to somehow find a copy of vs 2005.
Will the express version of VS 2005 work? I found links to the microsoft ISOs here: http://apdubey.blogspot.com/2009/04/...5-express.html
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2015, 07:02 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
Will the express version of VS 2005 work? I found links to the microsoft ISOs here: http://apdubey.blogspot.com/2009/04/...5-express.html
probably.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2015, 05:22 AM
Damstas Damstas is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 39
Hi. Should I wait for an installer for Windows? I have no coding skills :P
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2015, 05:31 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damstas View Post
Hi. Should I wait for an installer for Windows? I have no coding skills :P
Probably... it's going to take some time to get everything in order.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2015, 06:12 AM
Damstas Damstas is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Probably... it's going to take some time to get everything in order.
Ok. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2015, 06:22 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damstas View Post
Hi. Should I wait for an installer for Windows? I have no coding skills :P
1) There's really no benefit to V9 yet, it's (from a user perspective) Functionally identical to V7.
1a) Unless you want the YouTube plugin with progressive downloading.

2) You can just install V7 and then swap out the sage jar file.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-14-2015, 07:27 AM
rickw rickw is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 108
Eclipse is still a mystery to me, but the gradlew worked like a champ. I'm now the proud owner of a shiny new Sage.jar.

Thanks,
Rick...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-14-2015, 07:37 AM
harrijay harrijay is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 152
Don't actually need Visual studio to build the solution. the commands can be sent to msbuild, which comes installed with .net by default. I will take a look at modifying the files and coming up with the command line to build without VS.

Jayson
__________________
ESXi Host Intel Xeon x3440 on Intel S3420PLX, 4GB RAM, 80GB Primary
Server:2 CPU's and 2GB memory Allocated, 15GB Virtual Primary, 1.5 TB RDM Physical Disk,
A180 using VMDirectPath, 1 xHDHR
Headless ArchLinux 2.6.34 64-bit, SageTV 7.0.15
Sun JRE 1.6.0_20
Comskip&PlayonWindows XP 2CPU and 1GB Ram Allocated
Clients: 1 Media MVP and 2 STX-HD100
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-14-2015, 07:56 AM
harrijay harrijay is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 152
Would it be better if I upgraded the projects and solutions to a new version of Visual studio? I have all versions at my disposal at work :-) 2003-2013

@Narflex
There are some projects that are missing in the SageWorspace solution, EVRPresenter, MPEG2Dump, MpegAudioEncLayer2, MpegMux, and MusicVisFilter, I am assuming this was intentional, and can be removed from the solution, but just wanted to make sure.

Thanks,
Jayson
__________________
ESXi Host Intel Xeon x3440 on Intel S3420PLX, 4GB RAM, 80GB Primary
Server:2 CPU's and 2GB memory Allocated, 15GB Virtual Primary, 1.5 TB RDM Physical Disk,
A180 using VMDirectPath, 1 xHDHR
Headless ArchLinux 2.6.34 64-bit, SageTV 7.0.15
Sun JRE 1.6.0_20
Comskip&PlayonWindows XP 2CPU and 1GB Ram Allocated
Clients: 1 Media MVP and 2 STX-HD100
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-14-2015, 07:58 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I would think EVRPresenter would be important since V7 could render to EVR.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-14-2015, 07:58 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrijay View Post
Don't actually need Visual studio to build the solution. the commands can be sent to msbuild, which comes installed with .net by default. I will take a look at modifying the files and coming up with the command line to build without VS.

Jayson
You're right, you don't need Visual Studio to build the solution, but you need the MS C/C++ compiler that comes with VS in order to build the DirectShow filters for instance.

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-14-2015, 08:04 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrijay View Post
Would it be better if I upgraded the projects and solutions to a new version of Visual studio? I have all versions at my disposal at work :-) 2003-2013
I'll vote MSVC2010 as this is the version I'm using to build the DVBDCC.ax filter

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-14-2015, 08:05 AM
moothekow moothekow is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrijay View Post
Would it be better if I upgraded the projects and solutions to a new version of Visual studio? I have all versions at my disposal at work :-) 2003-2013

@Narflex
There are some projects that are missing in the SageWorspace solution, EVRPresenter, MPEG2Dump, MpegAudioEncLayer2, MpegMux, and MusicVisFilter, I am assuming this was intentional, and can be removed from the solution, but just wanted to make sure.

Thanks,
Jayson
My vote is for VS2012 -- http://www.microsoft.com/en-US/downl....aspx?id=34673

I have a normally licensed version of 2012 - but seems like the express edition would work for these purposes?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-14-2015, 08:49 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrijay View Post
Would it be better if I upgraded the projects and solutions to a new version of Visual studio? I have all versions at my disposal at work :-) 2003-2013

@Narflex
There are some projects that are missing in the SageWorspace solution, EVRPresenter, MPEG2Dump, MpegAudioEncLayer2, MpegMux, and MusicVisFilter, I am assuming this was intentional, and can be removed from the solution, but just wanted to make sure.

Thanks,
Jayson
In reality, I'm thinking since all the launcher really does is that, launch the jvm, that it might not be that difficult to essentially write a replacement in .net, or any other more modern language. Would likely be far more maintainable.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-14-2015, 08:52 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
The community editions are pretty full featured. I think they include pretty much everything except maybe features that are available in the Ultimate releases.

I think it's interesting that Microsoft has now made the Windows development tools free. I think it shows a change in mindset that getting software built for Windows is a larger priority than selling the tools. The tools are just a means to an end rather than a means unto themselves.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-14-2015, 08:54 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
The community editions are pretty full featured. I think they include pretty much everything except maybe features that are available in the Ultimate releases.

I think it's interesting that Microsoft has now made the Windows development tools free. I think it shows a change in mindset that getting software built for Windows is a larger priority than selling the tools. The tools are just a means to an end rather than a means unto themselves.
I think the major differences between the community and commercial editions is in the license to sell the work.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any threads out there on how best to rebuild your sage server??? MickBurke SageTV Software 5 06-07-2015 08:11 PM
database rebuild on sage startup comet48 SageTV Software 4 03-16-2011 06:12 PM
Transition from Windows to Linux Sage Server tsheal SageTV Linux 21 11-09-2010 06:57 AM
How do I rebuild sage from scratch rdefino SageTV Software 3 11-15-2008 04:27 PM
Will this method work to rebuild my Sage box? Fountainhead SageTV Software 6 05-23-2007 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.