SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Recorder Software

Notices

SageTV Recorder Software Discussion related to the SageTV Recorder application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Recorder should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2005, 02:10 PM
jaelanicu jaelanicu is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
No AV Capture Device

SageTV Recorder 1.5.6 seems unable to ignore the presence of my Leadtek WinTV2000 XP card.
My card are not in its AV Capture Device list.
I found out about this from its SateTVRecorder.properties file.
Why is that?

I've tried to manually delete the setting but it keeps ignoring the card.
FYI, I can use SageTV (not client) locally.
Someone care to enlighten me?

Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2005, 09:14 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
You mean SageTVRecorder doesn't recognize the Leadtek card, right? It is not on the SageTVRecorder System Requirements list of supported TV tuner cards. It is probably a software encoder card; only hardware encoders are supported & that inlcudes those listed on the requirements page.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2005, 02:16 PM
jaelanicu jaelanicu is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Ah, you're right (sorry, I must've knocked my head somewhere).

But one thing is still confusing me:
What the difference between SageTV Recorder's network encoder and the SageTV Server's network encoder?

As far as I know (correct me if I'm wrong), if SageTV Server already has built-in network encoder feature, why SageTV Recorder is used instead?
What feature which doesn't included in SageTV Server?


Sorry for these bombardment of questions, but I'm confused of how things should work.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2005, 03:05 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaelanicu
What the difference between SageTV Recorder's network encoder and the SageTV Server's network encoder?

As far as I know (correct me if I'm wrong), if SageTV Server already has built-in network encoder feature, why SageTV Recorder is used instead?
What feature which doesn't included in SageTV Server?
As far as I know, that just means that SageTV can talk to SageTVRecorder via your network to use the tuner controlled by SageTVRecorder as another encoder. ie: both programs are needed for a network tuner setup.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2006, 12:52 AM
rlb2 rlb2 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
HDTV SageTV Recorder....

Ok So basically all HDTV Addin cards must be in the SageTV Server installation? I tried to use the ATI HDTV card with SageTV recorder with no luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:02 AM
ke6guj ke6guj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,355
No, you can install SageTV supported cards into a second computer. YOu would need to run a second copy of SageTV (not SageRecorder or SageClient) as a network encoder.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.