SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-19-2019, 02:24 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
It might be overkill for just SageTV but once you get unRAID installed and realize that testing out things like Plex, Emby, Jellyfin, Sonarr, Radarr, etc, all become just a click away, you might just end up with a machine that is running 10+ docker containers + windows VMs (as I am).
I'm looking to simplify my setup and retire the machine I use as a Sage server. Moving Sage to a NAS that I already have running will accomplish that.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-20-2019, 04:59 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I'm looking to simplify my setup and retire the machine I use as a Sage server. Moving Sage to a NAS that I already have running will accomplish that.
I get that. When I first moved to unRAID I was looking to minimize my maintenance. Keeping a server up to date, etc, was more than I wanted to deal with. So I moved to unRAID because I wanted a NAS and I had a crappy machine lying around that could do the task. And it did for a while, but, I eventually bought a powerful server and then used that for unRAID because, as I said, installing and keeping things up to date wasn't a chore any longer, and trying new things was clean and simple, so today that machine runs 10 dockers and a Wind 10 VM, and is almost no effort to maintain, which is what I really like, because I don't have a lot of time to spend playing with stuff these days
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody running SageTV server and Plex server on the same machine? MickBurke SageTV Software 14 08-25-2016 10:24 PM
Connection options between storage server and SageTV server? Konig Hardware Support 18 02-22-2011 05:49 PM
Combining HomeSeer server and SageTV Server simonk1969 Hardware Support 1 11-23-2009 02:16 PM
How Does SageTV Media Server for Windows Home Server work? PhillTheChill SageTV Software 7 11-16-2007 01:46 PM
Samba Server went down for 60 minutes, files still on server, not in SageTV? perfessor101 SageTV Software 2 04-13-2006 12:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.