SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:25 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
I need a good attic/outdoor antenna...

What antenna's are you guys using? I need one preferably for the attic, but I wouldn't hate the idea of an outdoor antenna. I've got my eye on this one from monoprice. What do you guys think? Seems kinda cheap to me, but it gets great reviews.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:56 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
really need more info on your location/reception. Check out antennaweb.org to get an idea of what you'd need.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:57 AM
ChaOConnor's Avatar
ChaOConnor ChaOConnor is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 355
Do what Fuzzy said, but this is what I have installed IN my attic and it's great:

http://www.amazon.com/Antennas-Direc...3360203&sr=8-4

If I put it on the roof I'd be picking up even more.
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz, ASRock 890FX Deluxe4 890FX, PNY Optima 8GB DDR3 1333
Media Storage: Rosewill RSV-S4-X 4 Bay Enclosure w/ 4 x 3TB via unRAID
Capture: HDHomerun Prime, HDHomerun x 2
Software: Sage Server 7.1.9 on Windows 7 (Virtualized in ESXi)
Clients: i3-2105, ASRock Z68 Pro3-M, 4GB DDR3 1600, 64GB SATA III (OS), 2TB WD Green (Recording), PNY GT 430 // 2 x HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:45 PM
Naylia's Avatar
Naylia Naylia is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 754
Was just going to recommend the one that ChaOConnor posted. There is also the smaller DB4 that is a little cheaper/smaller.
__________________
You can find me at Missing Remote. Or playing FF XIV. For XLobby users: XLobby MC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2010, 01:02 PM
melluap melluap is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Built my own after trying several

The design posted from amazon has been a DIY project for many - myself included.

http://lifehacker.com/5138746/build-...wn-dtv-antenna

Works great - better than what I have tried. Not the most attractive, but I bet your attic won't care. I also heard of people sealing it with a rubberized paint afterwards to put them outside.

I couple a few together and have great reception, cost < 10 dollars. Also, instead of coat hangers I used 12 gauge electrical wire.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2010, 01:30 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by melluap View Post
The design posted from amazon has been a DIY project for many - myself included.

http://lifehacker.com/5138746/build-...wn-dtv-antenna

Works great - better than what I have tried. Not the most attractive, but I bet your attic won't care. I also heard of people sealing it with a rubberized paint afterwards to put them outside.

I couple a few together and have great reception, cost < 10 dollars. Also, instead of coat hangers I used 12 gauge electrical wire.
Do you get any sort of VHF reception with those?
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:38 PM
Naylia's Avatar
Naylia Naylia is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Do you get any sort of VHF reception with those?
SolidSignal.com advertises it as follows:

Quote:
High gain across entire UHF band (UHF channels 14-69) and Enhanced VHF reception
Question to OP - How far are you from your towers?
__________________
You can find me at Missing Remote. Or playing FF XIV. For XLobby users: XLobby MC

Last edited by Naylia; 09-01-2010 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2010, 07:44 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
this might help...

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48146
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2010, 01:55 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
UPDATE: I purchased the cheap one from monoprice and it works great. I'm ~40mi from my stations according to antennaweb. I'm surprised this works this well in my attic. 100% signal on all but one station and it is solid 75% with no artifacts. Best purchase in a while.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2010, 02:23 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by melluap View Post
The design posted from amazon has been a DIY project for many - myself included.

http://lifehacker.com/5138746/build-...wn-dtv-antenna

Works great - better than what I have tried. Not the most attractive, but I bet your attic won't care. I also heard of people sealing it with a rubberized paint afterwards to put them outside.

I couple a few together and have great reception, cost < 10 dollars. Also, instead of coat hangers I used 12 gauge electrical wire.
+1. I used 12-ga wire as well, and it's in my attic, works like a champ. I have it facing towers about 14 miles away and it is flawless, and it DOES get a couple of VHF channels as well (physical channels 10 and 12), even though it's not supposed to. I tried it facing at other towers about 45 miles away, and it got all but one of the channels I wanted. If it had been outdoors, I'm sure it would have had no problem, but I'm keeping it in the attic.

To get all the channels on the towers 45 miles away, and I use this antenna with 12-ga wire: http://www.digitalhome.ca/ota/superantenna/
It took a little figuring out and a lot of reading, but it works great. Both it and the "DB8" above were super easy and super cheap to make - luckily, I had the baluns laying around, and all the other materials as well, so it was "free". I made mine with 1x4's as the backbone.

By the way, I prefer www.tvfool.com over antennaweb. Tvfool has better topographical data as far as hills between you and the antenna towers.

On edit: didn't make it to the bottom of this thread and saw that the OP solved the problem already... oh, well, maybe this will help someone else...
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:51 PM
david1234 david1234 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
+1. I used 12-ga wire as well, and it's in my attic, works like a champ. I have it facing towers about 14 miles away and it is flawless, and it DOES get a couple of VHF channels as well (physical channels 10 and 12), even though it's not supposed to. I tried it facing at other towers about 45 miles away, and it got all but one of the channels I wanted. If it had been outdoors, I'm sure it would have had no problem, but I'm keeping it in the attic.

To get all the channels on the towers 45 miles away, and I use this antenna with 12-ga wire: http://www.digitalhome.ca/ota/superantenna/
It took a little figuring out and a lot of reading, but it works great. Both it and the "DB8" above were super easy and super cheap to make - luckily, I had the baluns laying around, and all the other materials as well, so it was "free". I made mine with 1x4's as the backbone.

By the way, I prefer www.tvfool.com over antennaweb. Tvfool has better topographical data as far as hills between you and the antenna towers.

On edit: didn't make it to the bottom of this thread and saw that the OP solved the problem already... oh, well, maybe this will help someone else...
just because he solved the problem, doesn't mean we can't pile on

I built the gray-hoverman too, and it's awesome. I have a problem with one local station, but it's due to a combination of rain and mountains causing multipath problems. I made the mistake of building mine from bare 8 gauge copper wire. Way too much work to get that stuff bent into shape!

Here's a link to an antenna forum that I got a lot of information from:
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=186
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-13-2010, 07:24 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
I have struggled with a multi-path problem for years and have tried a lot of different tuners and antennas. Spent more money than I ever should have.

Best setup to date: HDHR with Winegard Model HD7210P (Ghost killer)
Good Rage and excellent for multi-path. At $62 well worth the money.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
antenna recommendation for attic mistergq The SageTV Community 23 07-02-2008 02:04 PM
Good screen or laptop for outdoor use taylormadearmy Hardware Support 5 06-09-2008 07:57 AM
HDTV Antenna in Family Room vs Attic duhaas Hardware Support 2 01-10-2008 11:49 PM
Which antenna? MattJackson86 Hardware Support 3 03-13-2007 07:47 AM
Antenna Signal snoopy Hardware Support 4 03-17-2005 06:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.