SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2020, 04:54 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,929
TiVo Stream - anyone using one?

TiVo has decided to get in on the streaming services gadget game, and now has a streaming device like Roku, Apple TV, Firestick, etc., called 'TiVo Stream'
Points for originality.
Anywho - anyone using one? I think they run the standard, Android TV software, which would possibly make them good for running the SageTV Miniclient on?
Could be nice....and only $50 at them moment, not to mention TiVo's excellent interface.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2020, 08:04 AM
Worldling Worldling is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1
I haven't heard of Tivo Stream. I only know chromecast since that is the only stream I am using.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2020, 08:27 AM
tomatodave's Avatar
tomatodave tomatodave is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Illinois
Posts: 43
I bought a Tivo stream a few months ago for all of the streaming capabilities. I initially had no thoughts of using it for SageTV. But I loaded it on the Tivo stream and it works well for the most part. It does seem to just crash on rare occasions, gut starts right back up. I found that this crash usually happened on initial startup and waiting a couple of minutes reduced the frequency.
The remote really does work well after getting used to it.
The miniclient on the Tivo stream in my opinion performs far better than it does on the Firestick.
__________________
8 gig ram windows 10 64 bit, sage V9.2.0.441 64 bit running in a VM on a ESXI 6.0 host - Xeon 1246 E3 - 32 GB ram, 2 TB recording drive with the controller passed through and 5 TB recording drive spave in a Freenas server, 1 silicon dust HDHR DUO and 1 Quatro for 6 OTA tuners, 1 HDHR Prime for 3 cable tuners, 2 BM1000-HDMI network encoders for cableboxes, 2 Placeshifters, 3 extenders, 1client
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2020, 08:33 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomatodave View Post
I bought a Tivo stream a few months ago for all of the streaming capabilities. I initially had no thoughts of using it for SageTV. But I loaded it on the Tivo stream and it works well for the most part. It does seem to just crash on rare occasions, gut starts right back up. I found that this crash usually happened on initial startup and waiting a couple of minutes reduced the frequency.
The remote really does work well after getting used to it.
The miniclient on the Tivo stream in my opinion performs far better than it does on the Firestick.
Yeah, if the remote borrows anything from the regular TiVo remote (one of the very best), that would go a long way to making it a better, Sage experience.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2020, 01:45 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Yeah, if the remote borrows anything from the regular TiVo remote (one of the very best), that would go a long way to making it a better, Sage experience.
Agreed - this seems to have the best remote of any AndroidTV device by an order of magnitude.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2020, 02:56 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Agreed - this seems to have the best remote of any AndroidTV device by an order of magnitude.
And on sale at the moment: https://www.tivo.com/products/stream...SAAEgKgqvD_BwE
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2021, 07:43 PM
thopkin1 thopkin1 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 31
I picked up a tivo stream 4k about a week ago. Very happy with it so far. Best remote of any streaming device I've used. Sage mini-client works really well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stream TNT? tsitalon1 General Discussion 9 05-01-2012 08:06 AM
Transport Stream .vs Program Stream Polypro SageTV Software 24 07-01-2011 01:28 PM
Tivo Desktop, .tivo files and Sage SzDoc SageTV Software 3 11-12-2009 02:24 AM
MPEG2 Transport Stream vs Program Stream GollyJer SageTV Software 8 03-05-2007 08:06 PM
importing an .asx stream?? possible?? Techoverload SageTV Customizations 1 09-27-2004 05:35 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.