SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-28-2020, 06:12 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
Keith - thanks! It does have an old battery and has even popped a message saying it needs to be replaced. I didn't know it automatically slowed itself down due to this.
I don't remember what the Windows 7 task manager looked like, but the way that I finally figured out the problem was the Windows 10 task manager showed the computer running at 0.41GHz, even when it was plugged in to the power adapter.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-28-2020, 06:48 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Interesting, I tried the command and got:
ERROR:
Description = Invalid query
I tried this on my other Win10 system and it came back null, but no error.
Here's a link I found which shows a couple ways to get it.

https://www.howtogeek.com/660517/how...ommand-prompt/

Additionally, used this command to find out what type of license it is.
slmgr /dli
Here's a MS article which supposedly explains things, but in their typical fashion, only continues to obfuscate it.
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...e-388b11236bf1

The more poking around I do on this the more confused I become.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-10-2020, 10:41 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,138
Over the weekend I upgraded both my Sage server and an old laptop from Win8.1 and Win7 (respectively) to Win10. No issues, it didn't even ask me for anything regarding a license whatsoever.

The only issue is my Sage server (which I don't use for viewing) has an old VGA monitor hooked to the onboard video of the MB, and whatever driver was running it before apparently was obsoleted and does not have a Win10 replacement, so as of right now I don't have any reasonable resolutions being offered by the generic monitor driver that it reverted to. I chose 768 lines (the icons are REALLY LARGE) over the slightly-better option that wasn't 16:9 and stretched everything horizontally. I need to spend a few minutes finding a better driver. Thankfully this doesn't affect HD300s.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-11-2020, 06:29 AM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 339
Maybe consider turning the server over to linux if you cant get it running right with win 10?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-11-2020, 09:12 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,138
Did a little digging last night and it appears my MB is too outdated. The onboard graphics is Nvidia GeForce 7025, and they stopped making drivers for it at Win8.1, it's reached EOL. There may be some other driver out there that would work with it in Win10 but I haven't found it in any googling yet.

Problem now is that my PCIe slots are already taken with other cards I've added so I don't have the ability to add even a cheap Win10-compatible graphics card. So my options are to buy a new MB or to revert to Win8.1. You get 10 days to revert to 8.1 after installation of Win10 with "no harm done" (according to my computer's recovery info).

I'm not in the programming industry and have basically no exposure to Linux so I'm not even considering that...

....and then it hit me... duh... $10 USB3-to-VGA adapter. I have plenty of USB ports in the back of the server right next to the MB's VGA port...
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.

Last edited by pjpjpjpj; 08-11-2020 at 02:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-11-2020, 02:16 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Linux has come a long way. I went all in Linux when Win7 was EOL instead of moving to Win10. My wife and kids use these Linux machines without issue. Linux Mint's install media allows you to boot to a live version of the OS to give it a try before you install it. You might be surprised at just how easy it is to use.

Just an option.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500, 16GB RAM, OMV Linux 4.17, 3 TB of Data
SageTV 9 Docker, Open DCT Docker
Silicondust HDHomeRun Duo + Quatro
Sage Mini Client on Amazon Fire Sticks and Android TVs
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-30-2020, 08:07 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 339
My go to is Mx Linux. I run older ( Win Xp era ) hardware on it. Both my desktop & a Dell laptop are doing just fine. The only hiccup you may encounter is due to incompatibility with various hardwares & Mx Linux. I am using Nvidia graphics and Intel supported MBs. Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-01-2020, 01:55 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,192
I get all my windows licenses from "scdkey". They are OEM, but at that price, who cares if you need a new one. I've never had an issue with the license from them.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-02-2020, 12:03 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,504
You can Install windows 10 without Activating it the only thing you lose is syncing across all your PC's when you logon.... and personalization.... make sure to use an offline Account.

You can choose to activate it if you like it... and want to contribute to Bill Gates.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 12-02-2020 at 12:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Directv Serial Control worked on win10 upgrade but not win10 reinstall personalt Hardware Support 3 01-20-2016 02:16 PM
Has anyone used a PIAF based distro with SageTV? bcjenkins SageTV Linux 0 05-08-2010 07:28 AM
Best Linux Distro To Use? forefront SageTV Linux 4 02-15-2009 02:02 PM
Distro/OS cenwesi SageTV Linux 18 12-24-2007 11:13 PM
Installing SageTV on another distro? Ikarasu SageTV Linux 23 01-18-2006 10:20 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.