SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2020, 02:01 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 231
Anyone using Multi-gig ethernet?

I just ran across this article on Tech Hive about relatively inexpensive multi-gig wired ethernet to bump up your network, or part of it, to 2.5 or 5.0 Gbps. Just curious if anyone has gone down this path yet?

I may try this with my wired link between my HTPC and my server. The HTPC is an Intel NUC so I'll have to use a USB adapter, and then a PCIe card in the Unraid server if there's driver support, plus two switches.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2020, 05:42 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
I don't. Never saw any reason for it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2020, 07:47 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I don't. Never saw any reason for it.
One of our local ISPs offer 1.5Gbps internet but I don't see the point of that unless you have networking hardware that supports > 1Gbps which is still very rare for consumer products.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2020, 08:30 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 231
For me it seems I'm always moving lots of big files around, so it would be nice to move them faster. Plus I was hoping it might help with the spinning circle of wait I see a lot during playback.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2020, 04:51 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
I don't know about solving the spinning circles, but if your hard drives (or SSD's) were fast enough, yeah, I could certainly see the advantage in moving large files around. With an SSD in systems on each end of the Ethernet cable, I never considered moving files at 600 megaBYTES per second!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2020, 09:34 AM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
One of our local ISPs offer 1.5Gbps internet but I don't see the point of that unless you have networking hardware that supports > 1Gbps which is still very rare for consumer products.
Even if you don't have hardware that supports it, there would still be the advantage that you would have more available bandwidth to support several power users on your network without any one person being able to maximize the throughput of your internet connection.

Really depends on what you do in a typical day and how many power users you have in your household.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2020, 09:35 AM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I don't know about solving the spinning circles, but if your hard drives (or SSD's) were fast enough, yeah, I could certainly see the advantage in moving large files around. With an SSD in systems on each end of the Ethernet cable, I never considered moving files at 600 megaBYTES per second!
I would agree, I don't think that increasing your network speed will solve the spinning circles.

The spinning circles are much more likely an issue related to CPU processing power at the server, a codec issue of some sort, or possibly an issue in the code of Sage itself.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-30-2020, 10:49 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker:WG View Post
Even if you don't have hardware that supports it, there would still be the advantage that you would have more available bandwidth to support several power users on your network without any one person being able to maximize the throughput of your internet connection.

Really depends on what you do in a typical day and how many power users you have in your household.
But what practical applications would use in excess of 1Gbps? The only thing that I can think of is if you were doing some serious Bittorrenting. But for the typicaly family that is average tech requirements with two adults and three kids are not going to need this. A house that has five geeky college students doing a lot of torrenting would maybe test a 1Gbps connection.

Even streaming 4K video uses less than 20Mbps. So you could have 20 people in your house streaming 4K video on Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc and still not reach 50% of a 1Gbps connection.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2020, 11:45 AM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
But what practical applications would use in excess of 1Gbps? The only thing that I can think of is if you were doing some serious Bittorrenting. But for the typicaly family that is average tech requirements with two adults and three kids are not going to need this. A house that has five geeky college students doing a lot of torrenting would maybe test a 1Gbps connection.

Even streaming 4K video uses less than 20Mbps. So you could have 20 people in your house streaming 4K video on Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc and still not reach 50% of a 1Gbps connection.
I can think of several use cases, but they all involve moving large files or blocks of data between systems. For example, backing up a computer to your NAS would benefit greatly with a faster network. Moving those videos you downloaded to the NAS or another computer if you downloaded them with a different system (I do). Moving ISO images of various OSes around to be burned to DVD or stored.

It may or may not help with video playback if the gating item is the hard drive(s) on the other end, but it might.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2020, 05:46 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
You know, it's an interesting question. If anyone is using it and has tested moving files from machine to machine on a network, both with SSD's, I'd be interesting in hearing the results.

It's just a matter of time I suppose before the next stage of Ethernet will be standard.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-31-2020, 11:24 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
But what practical applications would use in excess of 1Gbps? The only thing that I can think of is if you were doing some serious Bittorrenting. But for the typicaly family that is average tech requirements with two adults and three kids are not going to need this. A house that has five geeky college students doing a lot of torrenting would maybe test a 1Gbps connection.

Even streaming 4K video uses less than 20Mbps. So you could have 20 people in your house streaming 4K video on Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc and still not reach 50% of a 1Gbps connection.
As I said, it depends on the number of power users in your household.

I've got a 300/15 Mbps connection and that's only because Shaw got rid of their 150/15 package and bumped me up to 300/15. We can have 3-4 Netflix streams going and not be affected by any other background traffic that may be queued up. I only wish we had a faster upload speed. 15mbps is not that fast for when I'm accessing Plex content from outside the house or I'm uploading content to work over VPN.

The greatest benefit I've seen to a faster pipeline is downloading updates for games on the PS4. While I can remember the days of 9600 baud dial up and appreciate that it may take a few minutes to transfer several GB of data, my kids have a different perception of the world and how fast things should move
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-01-2020, 08:52 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
Agreed that faster upload speed is what is needed for many people. It seems like cable is at a structural disadvantage here. My package with Rogers is 350/20 but I often test much faster on the download side. Rogers' Gig service gives 1Gbps download but only 50Mbps upload. Bell's service gives more symmetric service.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-01-2020, 11:09 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,933
You need to remember that LAN speed and WAN speed are 2 different things. Just because you donít see a need for a higher speed internet connection doesnít mean there isnít a valid use case for a highs speed internal network.

Not too many years ago even a 10Mbps download speed from an internet provider was considered lightning fast, but most home networking gear was 100Mbps. So historically, home networks were usually much faster than internet connections. Now most home networks are 1Gbps, and internet speed are getting close to that (some providers are even offering more than that). So it makes sense that home networking gear would get faster.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-02-2020, 07:14 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,301
My network switch (Aruba 2500-48poe bought used on Ebay for $100) has a couple of 10Gps ports, but I have no reason to use them.

Perhaps one day there will be a need, but I don't think the average residential user will need anything faster than 1Gps for years (decades) to come. Heck, most US internet speeds are well below 1Gps. So unless you are moving huge files on the LAN, there is no need for anything faster.

If anything, I suspect most residential use is through wireless access points now. Faster wireless is coming and that is a good thing, but it's still below 1Gps speed right now.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-02-2020, 09:15 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
I would think that the best use of 10G ports would be to interconnect to another switch. But you already have a 48 port switch so you probably only need one.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-03-2020, 01:11 PM
jvl711's Avatar
jvl711 jvl711 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 634
I use adapter teaming on my Hyper-v server. I have two 1 gig ports teamed to a Mikrotik switch. I run a dozen or so VMs on the machine (Including SageTV), so I figured it would be nice to have a little extra headroom.

If I had a 10gig port available on the server and switch I would use it.

Josh
__________________
Projects I am currently maintaining
SageTV Andoid Client
Media Format Parser Plugin
JavaFFmpegLibrary

If you like the work I am doing and would like to support it you can become a Patreon member.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI over Ethernet w/3D? Skirge01 Hardware Support 11 01-26-2013 01:16 PM
HD-200 and ethernet over powerline dead_ferrets SageTV Media Extender 12 01-11-2010 04:42 AM
Two Ethernet Adapters? PeteCress SageTV Placeshifter 10 09-30-2009 12:53 PM
Would Sage benefit from multi-core, multi cpu configurations? kamikaze2112 Hardware Support 10 09-26-2008 09:13 AM
Multi-Tuner Multi- User System Question mightyt SageTV Software 2 09-11-2004 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.