SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2020, 07:13 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,129
Weird temp files

I have found that my C:/Windows/temp is filling up with files which are:
"MaloreOnlineVideo{19 numbers}.cln"
("19 numbers" being 19 actual digits, clearly a numbering system of some sort)

They have the size of 0 kb, but there are thousands of them so they add up.

I don't use Malore menus or anything from the Malore arrangement and nothing online in that respect, but I do have "Malore extras" turned on in the detailed setup and I'm guessing that is the reason these files show up.

Anyone know what they are, why they show up, and whether they can be stopped?

Edit: in a poor move, I deleted all those "CLN" files at the same time I was posting the above. Now everything recordings-related in Sage is gone: favorites, recordings, channel names in the guide, etc. The files are still there on the computer but Sage doesn't see any of it. I'm guessing the Malore file, while it appears to be an "option", actually drives the entire recordings programming... but why is it saving files in Windows/temp that are not overwritten (and instead keep piling up in the folder)?

HELP???
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.

Last edited by pjpjpjpj; 11-12-2020 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:01 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,933
I checked my PC and I donít have any such files in my Windows Temp folder. I also have Malore menus installed, so not sure whatís going on with your computer.

Have you tried restarting Sage? Normally files in the temp folder are safe to delete and would get recreated if needed.

I donít know what a cln file is - the only thing I could find on Google was that cln Giles were used for some sort of Windows 3.0 backup many years ago.

Is it possible you have some sort of ransomeware that was in process of encrypting your files or something?
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2020, 08:58 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,129
Something is really wacky. Sage runs fine. The recordings menu is empty (archived, current). Favorites are gone. All four of my tuners still show up but no channels are showing. The EPG guide is therefore blank. All my paths to everything are still there so movies, photos, music, etc., are still there.

Under "Videos", every single recording shows up. Years worth, organized as if they were just videos files. So with a lot of scrolling and searching, we can watch stuff that was recorded previously. However, with no channels and no favorites, nothing new is recording and we can't watch live TV.

All the temp files that I had deleted, I did "restore" out of the recycle bin and put them back in the windows/temp, and rebooted. Same behavior. I then did a complete c: drive restore from a system backup this evening from before everything went wacky last night, and it's still the same situation. What would cause that? Where is the data about when a file is a recording vs. a video? Wouldn't that be in the wiz.bin? I thought so but my wiz.bin shows the date modified as a few years ago.

I just don't understand how the whole system appears to be (partially?) corrupted based on me deleting some "malore online" temp files, and how a c drive restore didn't fix it (at least I think the restore completed)...
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2020, 11:24 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 295
Just a wild guess - could this have something to do with auto-delete settings? Maybe Sage thought it was supposed to delete shows and started doing so, but got more confused when you deleted the temp files?

Do you have a backed up Sage installation (just the Sage folders with wiz.bin and related stuff) you could try restoring? Since your actual videos are still there, it sounds like it's just what links them to their metadata to show up properly in Sage may be missing.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2020, 12:39 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
I have found that my C:/Windows/temp is filling up with files which are:
"MaloreOnlineVideo{19 numbers}.cln"
("19 numbers" being 19 actual digits, clearly a numbering system of some sort)

They have the size of 0 kb, but there are thousands of them so they add up.

I don't use Malore menus or anything from the Malore arrangement and nothing online in that respect, but I do have "Malore extras" turned on in the detailed setup and I'm guessing that is the reason these files show up.

Anyone know what they are, why they show up, and whether they can be stopped?

Edit: in a poor move, I deleted all those "CLN" files at the same time I was posting the above. Now everything recordings-related in Sage is gone: favorites, recordings, channel names in the guide, etc. The files are still there on the computer but Sage doesn't see any of it. I'm guessing the Malore file, while it appears to be an "option", actually drives the entire recordings programming... but why is it saving files in Windows/temp that are not overwritten (and instead keep piling up in the folder)?

HELP???
It nothing to worry about that just Malore Menu in SageTV under Customize
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2020, 11:25 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,933
All the symptoms you describe would happen if wiz.bin was lost.

Sage stores all the favorite settings, watched history, recording history, metadata for recordings, etc in wiz.bin. If Sage canít find wiz.bin (or it is corrupted) when it is starting up, it will create a new blank one to work with.

Recent versions of Sage (I think starting with v7), store copies of some of the metadata inside the recording files. So if wiz.bin is lost or corrupted, some of this information can be recovered. However, if you transcoded your recording files to a different format, this metadata may have been stripped. In some cases (depending on what plugins you have installed and how things are configured), Sage may also create text files containing the metadata alongside the recording files and may be able to use this info rebuild a lost wiz.bin file.

Although metadata for recordings may be able to be recovered as described above, if wiz.bin is lost you would still need to reconfigure all your favorites.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2020, 09:26 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,129
So......

Sage is eating my wiz.bin file.

Things went bad on 11/11. I found an older copy of wiz.bin (from 10/30) on my computer. I shut down Sage, replaced the wiz.bin (and wiz.bak) with the ones from 10/30, and restarted Sage.

It did not fix things, it's still messed up. But after I close Sage... wiz.bin is GONE. Disappears from the SageTV folder.

W.T.F.

There's not anything you have to do in Sage (properties or whatnot) to replace wiz.bin, is there? You just shut it down and replace the file and the program reads whatever one is in your folder, right?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2020, 11:02 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,129
BTW... Is wiz.bak just a copy of wiz.bin, such that you could rename bak into bin and replace bin with it? And if so, what triggers creation/updating of bak?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-14-2020, 07:58 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
BTW... Is wiz.bak just a copy of wiz.bin, such that you could rename bak into bin and replace bin with it? And if so, what triggers creation/updating of bak?
Yes, wiz.bak is just a backup copy of wiz.bin. Yes, you can just rename one to replace the other.

Iím not positive about the logic for when it updates wiz.bin and wiz.bak - it might be every time you shut down Sage or every time you start it?
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-14-2020, 01:08 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,129
Well, I gave up and ended up replacing wiz.bin with the last wiz.bin that I had that didn't crash... from June of 2017.

Spent this morning creating a bunch of subfolders for every show we have many copies of (within a master folder called "Old recordings") that I'm gonna make a menu item on the main menu, so whenever my wife wants to watch a previous recording, she can go there (since it's viewed as a video rather than a recording). Eventually we'll plow through and get most of them deleted. The kids stuff all auto-converts and moves to a separate drive anyway, so that isn't a problem.

Amazing how many new shows we've added to our Favorites since 2017... I just ran through our list of recordings and added back anything that was new since then (had to use "keyword/title" since Sage doesn't even know the newer shows exist yet).

So I think it's time to set up an automatic backup of just the wiz.bin file weekly on another drive...
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp Files dstanley Phoenix 0 08-12-2014 07:21 AM
Help with creating a playlist from Temp Media Files PLUCKYHD SageTV Studio 13 07-09-2010 11:27 AM
settings related to live tv temp files? vince100 SageTV Software 1 11-09-2009 06:51 AM
stvxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.img files in C:\temp mkanet SageTV Software 4 04-15-2009 11:28 AM
Moving thumbs and other temp files? MattHelm SageTV Software 3 02-19-2007 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.