SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-19-2010, 03:55 PM
ccsmoke ccsmoke is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 153
Foxit is a good pdf reader for those that are tired of adobe's updates..

http://www.foxitsoftware.com/pdf/reader/

Those looking to spice up harmony remotes by adding some cool channel logos in black, iconharmony is great for that

http://www.iconharmony.com/icons/home
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-20-2010, 08:55 AM
RetroBox RetroBox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
Just thought of another. DVD Flick: http://www.dvdflick.net

Really nice DVD burning app that can quickly and easily turn most any media format into a playable DVD. The menus aren't great but they're functional.
+1 here.

DVDFlick is actually pretty amazing. I remember how hard it was to get something on a DVD that would play in a standard player and this tool makes it dead simple, regardless of what format /codec you throw at it. It will even let you play a game of Tetris that is built into the program as you wait.

A great complement to this tool that is not really an HTPC gem of sorts is ImgBurn. It is a small, no-nonsense CD/DVD burner (data or image). I used to love Nero back in the day, but it got too big.... I now use ImgBurn for all my CD/DVD burning needs.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7 (latest), Windows 7 (32-bit); Core2 Q8200, Asus P5N-D, ATI Sapphire HD5670 with Bitstreaming; DVD/BD Drive, 4GB Ram, 8TB Storage Internal
Tuners: Clear QAM Dual Tuner; HD-PVR -- Time Warner Cable / Control STB via Firewire; use USB-UIRT with LM Gestion Remote KeyMap
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-20-2010, 08:57 AM
RetroBox RetroBox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccsmoke View Post
Those looking to spice up harmony remotes by adding some cool channel logos in black, iconharmony is great for that

http://www.iconharmony.com/icons/home
That's another good one and a little obscure - I was doing some research on how to change those horrible Activity icons on the Harmony when I also run into this website. I do use the TV network logo package on my Harmony 900 for my favorite channels and they look great. Thanks for pointing this out.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7 (latest), Windows 7 (32-bit); Core2 Q8200, Asus P5N-D, ATI Sapphire HD5670 with Bitstreaming; DVD/BD Drive, 4GB Ram, 8TB Storage Internal
Tuners: Clear QAM Dual Tuner; HD-PVR -- Time Warner Cable / Control STB via Firewire; use USB-UIRT with LM Gestion Remote KeyMap
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:36 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
Magic Disc - Mounts disc images (ISO, BIN/Cue, NRG, IMG, MDF, etc.) - FREE

Handbrake - Most people already know about this, but it is one of the easiest to use app to convert DVDs to MP4 or MKV. - FREE
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:02 AM
RetroBox RetroBox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayamaniac View Post
Magic Disc - Mounts disc images (ISO, BIN/Cue, NRG, IMG, MDF, etc.) - FREE

Handbrake - Most people already know about this, but it is one of the easiest to use app to convert DVDs to MP4 or MKV. - FREE
One piece of software I am looking for is a good hard drive imaging tool. I have tried Norton Ghost and a hardful of other ones over the years, but nothing really stands out as being easy to use and powerful. Any suggestions?
__________________
Server: SageTV 7 (latest), Windows 7 (32-bit); Core2 Q8200, Asus P5N-D, ATI Sapphire HD5670 with Bitstreaming; DVD/BD Drive, 4GB Ram, 8TB Storage Internal
Tuners: Clear QAM Dual Tuner; HD-PVR -- Time Warner Cable / Control STB via Firewire; use USB-UIRT with LM Gestion Remote KeyMap
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:11 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroBox View Post
One piece of software I am looking for is a good hard drive imaging tool. I have tried Norton Ghost and a hardful of other ones over the years, but nothing really stands out as being easy to use and powerful. Any suggestions?
This is a very useful list. Thanks for putting it together. I hope it doesn't get too unwieldy, so that it's difficult to go through and find what you're looking for.

Sadly, you need more than just software, but Windows Home Server is absolutely awesome for backing up and restoring your PCs.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:31 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccsmoke View Post
Foxit is a good pdf reader for those that are tired of adobe's updates..

http://www.foxitsoftware.com/pdf/reader/
I used to be a big fan of foxit... after my latest episode with foxit... I'll install the adobe bloatware before I ever try it again...

I installed the foxit reader... it asked if could install the Ask toolbar... I said no... then installed the product. When I launched firefox, the Ask toolbar showed up!!!

I removed foxit and ask toolbar from the Add/Remove programs. I later logged in as another user and then started firefox... Ask was gone... but foxit toolbar installed itself as a plugin, and didn't remove itself when I removed it from add/remove programs... so now my firefox has the foxit toolbar. I can disable it... but there is no remove option.

I realize it's "free" and free means Ad supported, or toolbar supported. But that doesn't mean it has to malware like... I'm done with Foxit.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:39 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroBox View Post
One piece of software I am looking for is a good hard drive imaging tool. I have tried Norton Ghost and a hardful of other ones over the years, but nothing really stands out as being easy to use and powerful. Any suggestions?
If you are using Windows 7 imaging is built in. Just go to Back up your Files and choose Creat a System Image. It is in the standard Microsoft Image formt.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:50 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I used to be a big fan of foxit... after my latest episode with foxit... I'll install the adobe bloatware before I ever try it again...

I installed the foxit reader... it asked if could install the Ask toolbar... I said no... then installed the product. When I launched firefox, the Ask toolbar showed up!!!
I noticed a similar thing and it ticked me off, as well. So, I went to Adobe and found that they were being sly with their Mcafee scanner install. Rather than having it below the link to download Reader, they put the checkbox off to the right, in a second column. I didn't notice this until the download started and both programs were being downloaded.

God, I hate PDFs!!!
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-21-2010, 09:58 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroBox View Post
One piece of software I am looking for is a good hard drive imaging tool. I have tried Norton Ghost and a hardful of other ones over the years, but nothing really stands out as being easy to use and powerful. Any suggestions?
I use Acronis True Image. It has bare-metal restore capabilities.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 10-21-2010, 11:50 AM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I use Acronis True Image. It has bare-metal restore capabilities.
Have been using Acronis for years and it has been great. I still use the Acronis True Image 11 Home from a few years back, but it still works very well so see no reason to upgrade. It has a boot CD so it doesn't even need to be installed for backup or restore. And it can read/write to FTP and Windows Network.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-21-2010, 01:21 PM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I used to be a big fan of foxit... after my latest episode with foxit... I'll install the adobe bloatware before I ever try it again...

I installed the foxit reader... it asked if could install the Ask toolbar... I said no... then installed the product. When I launched firefox, the Ask toolbar showed up!!!

I removed foxit and ask toolbar from the Add/Remove programs. I later logged in as another user and then started firefox... Ask was gone... but foxit toolbar installed itself as a plugin, and didn't remove itself when I removed it from add/remove programs... so now my firefox has the foxit toolbar. I can disable it... but there is no remove option.

I realize it's "free" and free means Ad supported, or toolbar supported. But that doesn't mean it has to malware like... I'm done with Foxit.
Some software should never be installed. On an HTPC, I'm a big fan of 'portable' software.

FoxIt is available as portable - http://www.portablefreeware.com/?id=1041

(actually all software can be made portable. VMWare thinapps is a great tool for this, but I'm pretty sure that portablefreeware site has some free tools for making apps portable)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-21-2010, 06:47 PM
ccsmoke ccsmoke is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I used to be a big fan of foxit... after my latest episode with foxit... I'll install the adobe bloatware before I ever try it again...

I installed the foxit reader... it asked if could install the Ask toolbar... I said no... then installed the product. When I launched firefox, the Ask toolbar showed up!!!

I removed foxit and ask toolbar from the Add/Remove programs. I later logged in as another user and then started firefox... Ask was gone... but foxit toolbar installed itself as a plugin, and didn't remove itself when I removed it from add/remove programs... so now my firefox has the foxit toolbar. I can disable it... but there is no remove option.

I realize it's "free" and free means Ad supported, or toolbar supported. But that doesn't mean it has to malware like... I'm done with Foxit.
I had an earlier version of this sorry didn't realize they added this in the newer versions according to CNET reviews. I will in the future, do more research before posting. I hate toolbars and maleware which is why I was so fed up with adobe reader to begin with. Was a very cool program without the bloatware though. CCleaner able to remove the program completely?

RetroBox- If you would be so kind in removing the link, sorry for the trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-22-2010, 08:15 AM
RetroBox RetroBox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccsmoke View Post
I had an earlier version of this sorry didn't realize they added this in the newer versions according to CNET reviews. I will in the future, do more research before posting. I hate toolbars and maleware which is why I was so fed up with adobe reader to begin with. Was a very cool program without the bloatware though. CCleaner able to remove the program completely?

RetroBox- If you would be so kind in removing the link, sorry for the trouble.
I installed FoxIt v331 on a new computer yesterday and did see a mention of toolbars and some other crap that was pre-selected for installation, but was easy enough to opt-out. After reading what you guys put down here, I chose to do a "Custom" install after passing on the "suggested software" vs. going with the "Default" and actually found more crap software and link files that copy to Desktop that were pre-selected! Tricky, tricky, tricky. I did unselect those too and all I got was the FoxIt Software. I know there is a newer version out there that I haven't tried - either way, I think the good folks at FoxIt have gone to the dark side and are getting nixed!

As ybrew mentioned, there is a portable version and I like it and I use it, but not on my HTPC.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7 (latest), Windows 7 (32-bit); Core2 Q8200, Asus P5N-D, ATI Sapphire HD5670 with Bitstreaming; DVD/BD Drive, 4GB Ram, 8TB Storage Internal
Tuners: Clear QAM Dual Tuner; HD-PVR -- Time Warner Cable / Control STB via Firewire; use USB-UIRT with LM Gestion Remote KeyMap
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-22-2010, 08:31 AM
RetroBox RetroBox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
If you are using Windows 7 imaging is built in. Just go to Back up your Files and choose Creat a System Image. It is in the standard Microsoft Image formt.

Gerry
Didn't know about that - I will be trying it out with a new build I'm completing. Sometimes the trouble is not knowing what you have, or even if you know you have it, trust that it is any good.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7 (latest), Windows 7 (32-bit); Core2 Q8200, Asus P5N-D, ATI Sapphire HD5670 with Bitstreaming; DVD/BD Drive, 4GB Ram, 8TB Storage Internal
Tuners: Clear QAM Dual Tuner; HD-PVR -- Time Warner Cable / Control STB via Firewire; use USB-UIRT with LM Gestion Remote KeyMap
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-22-2010, 04:03 PM
whartsell whartsell is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Very useful free automation/remote software for windows
EventGhost

I use it to control sage on one htpc as well as to create popup OSD menus to control other apps or even restart the htpc.
It supports most usb ir receivers as well as http, X10 and serial
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-22-2010, 04:25 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 661
http://www.ninite.com/

Saves a ton of time, especially after doing a fresh install.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-22-2010, 07:56 PM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
http://www.ninite.com/

Saves a ton of time, especially after doing a fresh install.

Very cool!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-23-2010, 08:41 AM
SomeWhatLost's Avatar
SomeWhatLost SomeWhatLost is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 528
well, now that there is a remote control/automation section, you cant forget CQC, it does everything... and has a very nice Sage driver too...

and and that brings up another program I use a lot but didn't see on the list...
has anyone mentioned SageTV?, its a really good PVR solution, and when combined with CQC and a bunch of extenders, its just an all around super duper Whole House Video Solution... some people use it as an audio solution also... not my thing but hey, it does work for that too... and I am guessing no one here has heard about Sage

Sage should be on the list though... really...
__________________
NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...

Last edited by SomeWhatLost; 10-23-2010 at 08:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:25 AM
RetroBox RetroBox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
http://www.ninite.com/

Saves a ton of time, especially after doing a fresh install.
+1 on this one. I just completed a new system install and this tool really helped a ton! I was able to install Java, Flash, Hulu Desktop, VLC, Silverlight, WinZip and 7-Zip all in one shot without having to worry about bloat.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7 (latest), Windows 7 (32-bit); Core2 Q8200, Asus P5N-D, ATI Sapphire HD5670 with Bitstreaming; DVD/BD Drive, 4GB Ram, 8TB Storage Internal
Tuners: Clear QAM Dual Tuner; HD-PVR -- Time Warner Cable / Control STB via Firewire; use USB-UIRT with LM Gestion Remote KeyMap
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HTPC / combine old HTPC and Server loomdog32 Hardware Support 4 05-04-2009 06:40 PM
Troubleshooting Tools freedml SageTV Software 0 03-21-2009 08:24 PM
Video Tools help macsupergeek SageMC Custom Interface 0 11-15-2008 08:44 PM
Tools won't open, how do I? dfried SageTV Recorder Software 0 12-10-2006 06:49 PM
Fusion5 tunes some channels great, others not so great... cineburk Hardware Support 0 01-06-2006 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.