SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 01-30-2011, 03:11 PM
RetroBox RetroBox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjrx0213 View Post
I'd like to nominate Display Changer as a nifty software tool.

I'm working with a new HTPC built for SageClient and I've been experimenting with S3 sleep to get a more "instant on" feel. Often, the client will wake up and put the HDTV into its native resolution instead of 1280x720. After a couple of frustrating hours searching the web for quick and dirty solutions to either programatically load an Nvidia profile or change the resolution, I came across a link to Display Changer (ironically, in an Nvidia developer forum).

I'm still playing with it, but I've got a remote control button mapped to fire it off and in my initial test, it changed my display from native to 1280x720.

At first it seemed like it wasn't working, but I figured out you've got to supply ALL of the following arguments:

-monitor
-width
-height
-depth
-refresh

Once I got all of args worked out, it did the trick. Nice not to have to re-invent the wheel (painfully, in my case).

It's free for personal use.
I had this exact same issue and I tied all sorts of software online to try and fix it' I probably run into Display Changer as well (rings a bell). The best solution I found was the DVI Doctor mentioned in the HARDWARE section; super easy to install and never had a window-resizing issue again.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7 (latest), Windows 7 (32-bit); Core2 Q8200, Asus P5N-D, ATI Sapphire HD5670 with Bitstreaming; DVD/BD Drive, 4GB Ram, 8TB Storage Internal
Tuners: Clear QAM Dual Tuner; HD-PVR -- Time Warner Cable / Control STB via Firewire; use USB-UIRT with LM Gestion Remote KeyMap
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01-30-2011, 03:28 PM
RetroBox RetroBox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocKKer View Post
A few tools I use to prove out new hardware or expose faulty "in use" hardware -

IntelBurnTest - This is for for Intel CPU's, this is a front end for the Intel Linpack. This stresses the CPU, memory and many of the subsystems on the motherboard. Can also expose CPU heat issues, etc. Run it for 24 hours.

For AMD platforms I use Prime95 stress test. Run 24 hours.

Memtest386+ as already posted, run for 24 hours.

Manufacturer's HDD diagnostic tool's - Use this for new HDD's or in use HDD's, run quick test, long test and optionally write zeroes. Write zeroes is a destructive test so if this there is data on this HDD, back it up or be prepared to lose it forever. For new drives there is no need to partition and format it for any of these tests (writing zeroes destroys partitons and file systems anyway).

HD Tune - Use this in conjunction with the manufacturer's HDD diagnostic tool. I run the Benchmark and Error scan. Sometimes the Error scan shows slow or bad blocks, I have fixed them by running the manufacturer's write zeros to the HDD.

As a final step, I also run a video encode, this usually runs for multi-hours and really stresses your system so any system defects should show up. You can use Handbrake, BR-Rebuilder, MeGUI, etc.
Thanks for those suggestions. I have used Prime95 before in an attempt to exorcise my system. Something really frustrating that is happening to me now is that my system will pass all the test (RAM, Stress Test, Video Test) and still BSOD on me every once in a while. I tried reading the MiniDump files and they are not tremendously helpful in my case - I wish I could understand what is causing these random reboots. It may be a heat issue.

To complement your thread, I also posted BlueScreenViewer as a method to read those MiniDump files in a Windows environment.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7 (latest), Windows 7 (32-bit); Core2 Q8200, Asus P5N-D, ATI Sapphire HD5670 with Bitstreaming; DVD/BD Drive, 4GB Ram, 8TB Storage Internal
Tuners: Clear QAM Dual Tuner; HD-PVR -- Time Warner Cable / Control STB via Firewire; use USB-UIRT with LM Gestion Remote KeyMap
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-26-2011, 04:16 PM
RocKKer RocKKer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 194
As a replacement for the FoxIt pdf reader I have found PDF Xchange viewer from Tracker Software - it's free as well, the only crapware I have found with it is it will install the Ask toolbar if you let it, just pay attention in the install and uncheck in the install dialog.

PDF Xchange viewer
__________________
SageTV Server v9.2.2, Ubuntu Server 18.04.4 x64, Java 1.8.0_252, Xeon E5-2690, 32GB, 6X6TB WD Red - Software Raid 6, 2X HDHR3 (OTA), 3X HD-200
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HTPC / combine old HTPC and Server loomdog32 Hardware Support 4 05-04-2009 06:40 PM
Troubleshooting Tools freedml SageTV Software 0 03-21-2009 08:24 PM
Video Tools help macsupergeek SageMC Custom Interface 0 11-15-2008 08:44 PM
Tools won't open, how do I? dfried SageTV Recorder Software 0 12-10-2006 06:49 PM
Fusion5 tunes some channels great, others not so great... cineburk Hardware Support 0 01-06-2006 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.