SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2020, 08:09 AM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 842
64-K Blocks: Have I shot myself in the foot?

Got an itty-bitty NAS to host RecordedTV so nothing more has to plug into the NUC I moved to.

When I set it up, I specified 64k blocks figuring that bigger is better speed-wise and fewer/larger files wouldn't be that much of a capacity hit.

But things are getting weird:
  • Sage not recognizing any free space
  • Not being able to record
  • "Not Found" when trying to view.
I did the thing where Sage was shut down, all media location references were removed from Sage.properties, Sage Restarted, Sage shut down again, and then restarted again with media location references re-introduced.

Also, I think I did the advanced_video_file_recovery=true thing.... although I suspect I am still missing something... but that would only account for the Not Found issue....

It's seeing/listing show titles, but that's about all.


Any chance I have shot myself in the foot with the 64k blocks?
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Windows 10, i5 NUC
Clients: HD200*3 over Cat5e Ethernet + 1 slightly flakey HD 300 + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus 5tb QNAP for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna

Last edited by PeteCress; 10-15-2020 at 09:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-15-2020, 08:40 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,301
I don't think the issues you are experiencing is related to the 64k block size. I have used that block size previously (and I'm sure many others have as well) and haven't experienced any of these problems.

Does the NAS go to sleep? I could see where any energy savings options might cause issues.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2020, 09:25 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,933
Are you running Sage as a service? If so, did you use the Sage Service Control applet to set the user and password for the Sage service to use? If so, did you verify that the username you used has permission to read/write to the NAS?
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2020, 02:10 PM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Are you running Sage as a service? If so, did you use the Sage Service Control applet to set the user and password for the Sage service to use? If so, did you verify that the username you used has permission to read/write to the NAS?
Running as a service but had no clue about the ID/PW thing.

Will set same and report back... although it may be awhile because I am getting hung up in the process of migrating Sage's TV entries: the advanced_video_file_recovery thing and all that.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Windows 10, i5 NUC
Clients: HD200*3 over Cat5e Ethernet + 1 slightly flakey HD 300 + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus 5tb QNAP for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2020, 02:34 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
I think the only issue with 64k blocks is that if you have a lot of small files like .properties or Comskip files they can take up a lot of room.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2020, 06:48 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I think the only issue with 64k blocks is that if you have a lot of small files like .properties or Comskip files they can take up a lot of room.
True and 64K blocks are no longer recommended not necessary.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shot in the dark trouble shooting... moothekow SageTV Github Development 13 12-13-2015 12:22 PM
Feature Request: one-shot favorite robind SageTV Software 20 05-24-2011 08:30 AM
What is the 10 foot interface? ractar28 SageTV Software 4 03-23-2009 10:45 AM
First shot of hd-pvr no dice PLUCKYHD Hardware Support 19 02-23-2009 11:16 AM
Shot Myself in the Foot! rmbu SageTV Software 4 12-27-2005 05:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.