SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 02-14-2016, 09:27 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
Anyone willing to put on a little YouTube video showing how the navigation works when playing local files from a share, or via Plex?
I could but if you have seen any of their interfaces(plex) ie roku, firetv, Xbox one it's exactly the same.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-14-2016, 09:53 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
I could but if you have seen any of their interfaces(plex) ie roku, firetv, Xbox one it's exactly the same.
Ahh, I haven't, but could look those up. I use PHT (RasPlex) and IOS.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-17-2016, 08:59 AM
nebulink nebulink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 295
I am also looking to make a move to Tivo Bolt with OTA. This box has all my needs.

OTA - Live TV for sports and news
Netflix - Covers On-Demand needs
HULU - Covers all sitcom On-Demand needs
Vudu - No more ripping DVD's or the need for apps like Plex. Great Product
Plex - Good for items that are not available on Vudu.

All packaged up in a single box. I am looking forward to making the move and getting rid of DirecTv's $140/mo bill.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-17-2016, 10:57 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebulink View Post
Vudu - No more ripping DVD's or the need for apps like Plex. Great Product
I agree with this comment Vudu is a great supplement to OTA. my worry with a whole collection is the new data limits cable companies are starting to impose...

I will say I have been using it almost a week now and haven't looked back. The mini's are almost as responsive as the bolt itself (which says allots) and that is using the Tivo's built in Moca. It streams from plex just fine (albeit transcoded for the mini).

Most importantly my wife loves it. happy wife happy life
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-17-2016, 12:46 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,241
Have you guys seen the recent OTA discussion at the tivocommunity? Someone over there is making a big stink about the new digital broadcast standard (ATSC 3.0 with H265) and how it will be here within 2 years and make the current Tivos with the ATSC 1.0 tuners obsolete.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-17-2016, 04:47 PM
nebulink nebulink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by cncb View Post
Have you guys seen the recent OTA discussion at the tivocommunity? Someone over there is making a big stink about the new digital broadcast standard (ATSC 3.0 with H265) and how it will be here within 2 years and make the current Tivos with the ATSC 1.0 tuners obsolete.
I think he is incorrect. The standard will not be finalized for another year or two. Then there will be a period of time that all broadcasters will need to upgrade equipment and then implement. I would say this is going to take 3-4 years to complete. Also with the new ATSC 3.0 Standard it will allow broadcasters to broadcast the service over the Internet. It looks like to me that Tivo is positioning themselves for this transition by adding additional streaming services.

"since the ATSC 3.0 digital broadcast standard is based on Internet Protocol, it will let broadcasters transmit content developed for and sent over the Internet. This will allow them to create new hybrid services and augment regular TV broadcasts with greater interactivity."
Source

Last edited by nebulink; 02-17-2016 at 05:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-17-2016, 05:23 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
I say longer than 3-4 years before they all go. Look how long it took them just to transition to HDTV and how many times that got pushed back.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-17-2016, 05:55 PM
nebulink nebulink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
I say longer than 3-4 years before they all go. Look how long it took them just to transition to HDTV and how many times that got pushed back.

Agreed!
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-18-2016, 09:25 AM
Rob23 Rob23 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebulink View Post
I am also looking to make a move to Tivo Bolt with OTA. This box has all my needs.

OTA - Live TV for sports and news
Netflix - Covers On-Demand needs
HULU - Covers all sitcom On-Demand needs
Vudu - No more ripping DVD's or the need for apps like Plex. Great Product
Plex - Good for items that are not available on Vudu.

All packaged up in a single box. I am looking forward to making the move and getting rid of DirecTv's $140/mo bill.
With this type of setup, what is your ongoing monthly subscription fees? I ask because I currently use only Sage with OTA, so am happy with zero monthly fees related to TV. That said, I'm intrigued by the Tivo Bolt. Is there a monthly fee to use it?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-18-2016, 09:37 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob23 View Post
With this type of setup, what is your ongoing monthly subscription fees? I ask because I currently use only Sage with OTA, so am happy with zero monthly fees related to TV. That said, I'm intrigued by the Tivo Bolt. Is there a monthly fee to use it?
The bolt comes with one year "free". After that it is $150 a year or $14.95 a month subscription fee.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 02-18-2016, 09:52 AM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
I agree with this comment Vudu is a great supplement to OTA. my worry with a whole collection is the new data limits cable companies are starting to impose...

I will say I have been using it almost a week now and haven't looked back. The mini's are almost as responsive as the bolt itself (which says allots) and that is using the Tivo's built in Moca. It streams from plex just fine (albeit transcoded for the mini).

Most importantly my wife loves it. happy wife happy life
The other problem with Vudu is it is not 100% supported on other devices. I was ready to subscribe to that but I prefer Amazon FireTV and FireTV Stick over Roku. However, there is no Vudu app for Amazon FireTV Stick. Once there is, I will pay to move my movies over to that platform. But until then, I am on a holding pattern.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-18-2016, 01:05 PM
massmanjr massmanjr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: texas
Posts: 16
Tivo just extended the 'skip mode' (Tivo's version of Comskip) to the Roamio line.

https://www.tivo.com/softwareupdates...Email#skipmode

It's not as powerful as Comskip, but a step in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-18-2016, 01:19 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by massmanjr View Post
Tivo just extended the 'skip mode' (Tivo's version of Comskip) to the Roamio line.

https://www.tivo.com/softwareupdates...Email#skipmode

It's not as powerful as Comskip, but a step in the right direction.
I disagree on the it's not as powerful. While it doesn't appear on all shows it does the majority we watch and has been spot on whereas I never could get comskip as perfect as this. But this is a person watching marking them which of course is going to be more accurate. It also appears within about 10-15 minutes after showing which is pretty fast.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-18-2016, 02:10 PM
massmanjr massmanjr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: texas
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
I disagree on the it's not as powerful. While it doesn't appear on all shows it does the majority we watch and has been spot on whereas I never could get comskip as perfect as this. But this is a person watching marking them which of course is going to be more accurate. It also appears within about 10-15 minutes after showing which is pretty fast.
I agree, Tivo's version is more precise than comskip. I guess I just miss the ability to run comskip on all recordings, regardless of channels.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 02-18-2016, 02:54 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by massmanjr View Post
I agree, Tivo's version is more precise than comskip. I guess I just miss the ability to run comskip on all recordings, regardless of channels.
Ya I can see that I guess it depends on what you record. Most of ours is prime time stuff so the skip is there. Allot of the kids isn't but they don't care as much lol. Like you said it's a good start and better than dish commskip offering which is pretty much just locals and long delays to skip. Baby steps... I personally never thought there would be a commercially available product with it.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 02-18-2016, 07:40 PM
nebulink nebulink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistergq View Post
The other problem with Vudu is it is not 100% supported on other devices. I was ready to subscribe to that but I prefer Amazon FireTV and FireTV Stick over Roku. However, there is no Vudu app for Amazon FireTV Stick. Once there is, I will pay to move my movies over to that platform. But until then, I am on a holding pattern.
I have FireTV as well but decided to move towards Roku and Now Tivo. Both boxes support Vudo and Amazon Prime.

FireTV was great for Kodi but I can settle with Plex. However, I find myself not needing Plex or Kodi since Vudu does such a great job.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02-18-2016, 07:51 PM
nebulink nebulink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob23 View Post
With this type of setup, what is your ongoing monthly subscription fees? I ask because I currently use only Sage with OTA, so am happy with zero monthly fees related to TV. That said, I'm intrigued by the Tivo Bolt. Is there a monthly fee to use it?
I just made the plunge to move to Tivo today. You ask about my service fees, well here it is.

OTA - Free
Amazon Prime - Already a member for the free two day shipping.
Netflix - Have been a Sub for years.
HULU - Don't currently subscribe but I could for $11.99/mo
Vudu - I purchase/rent movies as I want

I get rid of DirecTV which costs $125/mo but I have to subscribe to Tivo for $15/mo. This change will save me about $1,350/yr. However, the first year I do not have to pay for the Tivo sub since it is included in purchase of the Bolt.

I think this is a great deal!

So far I like what I am seeing with this new Bolt. It performs very nice.

Last edited by nebulink; 02-19-2016 at 04:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 02-20-2016, 09:30 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Of note they now have HBOGO it showed up in my apps yesterday.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tivo Desktop, .tivo files and Sage SzDoc SageTV Software 3 11-12-2009 02:24 AM
Odd playback issue with the movie "Bolt" - bug in Sage? Texas-Hansen SageTV Media Extender 3 03-29-2009 03:38 AM
TIVO to Go & SageTV ? davefred99 General Discussion 0 07-14-2008 02:26 PM
SageTv and Tivo? waynedunham General Discussion 4 11-17-2006 10:48 AM
Sagetv and Tivo tvmaster2 SageTV Software 2 09-11-2006 02:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.