SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2006, 10:20 AM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 598
Arrow INSTALLER: SageMC

I have updated the SageMC Installer to include MeInMaui's graphics packs...

From the readme...

Quote:
Welcome to the initial installer of the SageMC Theme for SageTV! This was written to help those who are just starting out with SageTV to enjoy the benefits of SageMC, without having to wade through page after page of forum post to glean the knowledge that most of early 'adopters' have lived with for some time now...
In it's current version, it will install:
1. The original SageMC package, which was written by Mlbdude
2. The current 'Dev' build of the .STV/.XML and supporting files, which is currently written by flachbar
3. The IR-Excluder import, written by flachbar
4. The Colored Show Icons graphics pack, written by MeInMaui
5. The Colored Genre Icons graphics pack, written by MeInMaui
6. The Colored Selection Bars graphics pack, written by MeInMaui
7. The Colored Guide Bars graphics pack, written by MeInMaui
I am sure that there are quite a few addons and imports that folks will want... unfortunately not everything will make it into the installer. As SageTV continues to evolve, quite a few of the current imports will become unnecessary and outdated. This is not to say that requests will not make it into the package, but... :-)
For right now, the installer will not select SageMC as the default STV, nor will it import any STV Addons. These still need to be done manually...
In addition, the uninstaller provided has some issues, in that the sub installers used do not make backups, so uninstalling them will delete the referencing graphics.
I hope that this will help expand the user base of SageMC and make it much easier for people.



-Jason
__________________
True standalone tuner functionality with the --> HAVA Channel Changer<--
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2006, 10:45 AM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason
I have updated the SageMC Installer to include MeInMaui's graphics packs...

From the readme...
Hi Jason,

the current dowload doesn't seem to work ...


Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2006, 12:55 PM
JUC's Avatar
JUC JUC is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 1,399
I think this will be a really elegant way for people to use SageMC!! Once all the goodies & imports are included that will sure make things easier.
Thanks
JUC
__________________
Server: Athlon 2000XP; 1GB Kingston Ram; 250GB Seagate; 160GB Seagate; 160GB Western Digital; Lite-on DVD player; Hauppauge Rosyln; Hauppauge PVR-150; ATI AIW 7500; Actisys 200L; running stock v5 .stv


Client: MVP Extender running SageMC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2006, 01:08 PM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by flachbar
Hi Jason,

the current dowload doesn't seem to work ...


Dirk
I swear...

This happened when I uploaded the skins previously... I ended up placing them on the WIKI for just this reason... I will try and upload it again.

-Jason

EDIT: OK I give... it comes up with the following...

Quote:
Not Found
The requested URL /forums/downloads/jason-sagemc-installer.zip was not found on this server.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Apache/2.0.48 (Fedora) Server at forums.sagetv.com Port 80
The irony is that the filename that I uploaded is/was titled "SageMC_Installer.zip", so it's somewhere...

Opus: Any thoughts...? (OK... not that one!)
__________________
True standalone tuner functionality with the --> HAVA Channel Changer<--

Last edited by Jason; 09-28-2006 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2006, 01:09 PM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by JUC
I think this will be a really elegant way for people to use SageMC!! Once all the goodies & imports are included that will sure make things easier.
Thanks
JUC
All the goodies are there... At least those that are SageMC specific.

-Jason
__________________
True standalone tuner functionality with the --> HAVA Channel Changer<--
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2006, 02:38 PM
Lostinpvr's Avatar
Lostinpvr Lostinpvr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 86
Wink

When will the download work?
__________________
Sage Ver:SageTv 7.19.256 | Server:Intel DH55HC/i5 650 3.20GHz OS:W7P | Storage: 3 TB | Client's:HD200, HD300, 1-MVP, PS | Capture:2-HVR1600, 1-HD-PVR | STB:1-HD 2-SD | 2-USB-UIRT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2006, 04:47 PM
davidk21770 davidk21770 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 486
I'm wondering how 100 people have downloaded it so far!
(I even resorted to trying ie...)
__________________
HDHomeRun x2
Cable Box via Hauppauge HD PVR and USB-UIRT
2 SageTV's HD300

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4025 MHz, 8G G.Skill Performance
DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RS Plus; SilverStone Decathlon DA1000 (died - back to an ancient enermax)
eVGA 7900 GT KO RoHS -- Zalman VP900CU Cooling
Synology NAS 22TB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2006, 05:13 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
If you are updating an existing file in the downloads section, you have to use IE and make sure to only change the file. Don't change any other fields at the same time. If you need to change other info for the download, do those edits on another pass.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2006, 06:49 PM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
If you are updating an existing file in the downloads section, you have to use IE
Andy, I am always updating my downloads successfully with Firefox ...


Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-28-2006, 07:09 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by flachbar
Andy, I am always updating my downloads successfully with Firefox ...


Dirk
I thought that I use to do that as well but the last time I tried I had to use IE.

BobP.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-28-2006, 08:34 PM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix
I thought that I use to do that as well but the last time I tried I had to use IE.

BobP.
OK... I have tried IE, Maxthon (IE based...), and Firefox...

I dunno...

-Jason
__________________
True standalone tuner functionality with the --> HAVA Channel Changer<--
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-28-2006, 08:42 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Well, maybe you don't have to use IE, but I've heard about plenty of problems using other browsers. Anyway...

How big is the file? Maybe that limit has been hit again.

Are you able to upload and then update a smaller test file? (as a different download so people don't think they are getting the real thing.)

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-28-2006, 08:53 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Jason,

Does the installer dynamically download all of the required graphics/components after they are selected by the user? Or are all of the components included in the installer download? If it is the latter, you almost certainly would have exceeded the size limit for the upload. I had to split the two versions of the genre icons into two separate downloads because ther were ~12Mb combined and would not upload. After splitting them to ~6Mb each they uploaded fine, so it looks like the limit is probably around 10Mb.

BTW there will be some more graphics options available in a couple of days.....sorry.

Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-28-2006, 09:36 PM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
Well, maybe you don't have to use IE, but I've heard about plenty of problems using other browsers. Anyway...

How big is the file? Maybe that limit has been hit again.

Are you able to upload and then update a smaller test file? (as a different download so people don't think they are getting the real thing.)

- Andy
Heh heh... You know, I never looked... Wow...

In any case, its a monster! 22.6MB! Those graphics are a killer!

So... Any suggestions?

-Jason
__________________
True standalone tuner functionality with the --> HAVA Channel Changer<--
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-28-2006, 09:38 PM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInMaui
Jason,

Does the installer dynamically download all of the required graphics/components after they are selected by the user? Or are all of the components included in the installer download? If it is the latter, you almost certainly would have exceeded the size limit for the upload. I had to split the two versions of the genre icons into two separate downloads because ther were ~12Mb combined and would not upload. After splitting them to ~6Mb each they uploaded fine, so it looks like the limit is probably around 10Mb.

BTW there will be some more graphics options available in a couple of days.....sorry.

Mike
Nope... I am still working on the dynamic portion... I can get the download linked, but the extraction from within the installer and subsequent installation is what I am working out.

-Jason
__________________
True standalone tuner functionality with the --> HAVA Channel Changer<--
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-28-2006, 09:59 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason
In any case, its a monster! 22.6MB! Those graphics are a killer!

So... Any suggestions?
Remove some graphics? Use jpg level 1?

I'm assuming that you are uploading it there because you have no other place to host a file that size? Otherwise, you could turn the download link into a link to that place. I think that's what nielm did with a few of his downloads that link back to their wiki pages, like the one for WRS.

I don't know what the current size limit is yet, but I'm not sure whether it would be bumped to over 20MB. (I guess the size limit needs to be posted somewhere when I find out what it is.) Sorry, but I don't have a solution right now.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-29-2006, 04:05 AM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
I don't know what the current size limit is yet, but I'm not sure whether it would be bumped to over 20MB. (I guess the size limit needs to be posted somewhere when I find out what it is.) Sorry, but I don't have a solution right now.

- Andy
The current download size for the SageMC base package is 25 MB, but I guess the limit could have changed over time ...

Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-29-2006, 06:25 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by flachbar
The current download size for the SageMC base package is 25 MB, but I guess the limit could have changed over time ...
One of the options when creating a download is to link to a file stored somewhere else, instead of uploading a file. That one is a link & isn't stored with the other downloads, so the size limit doesn't apply.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-29-2006, 07:25 AM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
One of the options when creating a download is to link to a file stored somewhere else, instead of uploading a file. That one is a link & isn't stored with the other downloads, so the size limit doesn't apply.

- Andy
Ah ok, I expected the download link to point to the other location in this case, so it seem it is redirecting dynamically when you click the link ? The save file dialog in the browser still says "from: http://downloads.sage.tv" ...


Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-29-2006, 08:09 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by flachbar
The save file dialog in the browser still says "from: http://downloads.sage.tv" ...
No, not "still says"... that's actually one of the clues that the file isn't hosted by the forum's download plugin. Check the source of some other download, such as your latest STV builds.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.