SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2008, 04:33 PM
rwc rwc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 284
whs or unraid?

I'm planning on going to a 2 hdpvr system (at some point), and I was trying to figure out if it's better to go w/ 1 server running whs or 2 boxes--one with the server and one running unraid.

From a cost point of view, I'm leaning towards the 2 boxes UnRaid since I can build it from 'cheap' parts and still use my current server (a p4 3ghz) to record from the hdpvr.

Will it work streamign to extenders & clients and stuff?

thanks,

rwc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2008, 06:17 PM
PGPfan's Avatar
PGPfan PGPfan is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oldtown, Idaho USA
Posts: 862
Go with the 2 boxes. I've been going that route for a while now with no regrets. I keep all music and DVD rips on the unRaid, and run Sage on the WHS box with the recording drive out of the pool. Best of both worlds, and anything recorded on WHS that is deemed worthy of archiving, get's copied over to the unRaid.

-PGPfan
__________________
Sage Server: Gigabyte 690AMD m-ATX, Athlon II X4 620 Propus, 3.0 GB ram, (1) VistaView dual analog PCI-e tuner, (2) Avermedia Purity 3D MCE 250's, (1) HD-Homerun, 1.5 TB of hard drives in a Windows Home Server drive pool, Western Digital 300GB 'scratch' disk outside the pool, Gigabit LAN
Sage Clients: MSI DIVA m-ATX, 5.1 channel 100w/channel amplifier card, 2 GB ram, , (1) Hauppauge MVP, (1) SageTV HD-100 Media Storage: unRAID 3.6TB server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2008, 06:22 PM
brainbone brainbone is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 624
I'm currently testing unraid with SageTV. I chose unraid based on easy expansion (mix different size HDs in the future), and low overheard for redundancy (single parity drive) -- something whs, and other NAS solutions didn't seem to offer.

So far, it has been working well, but I only have 2 clients connected to it. I'd be interested in hearing what issues other may have had with Unraid and SageTV.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2008, 12:27 PM
BBCritical BBCritical is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 308
Unraid is rock solid once you get it up and running. The only thing I would like to see is the ability to use it as a drive to record to for hd recordings with sagetv. Drive space would no longer be an issue.
__________________
Server: Asus M3A; AMD Phenom quad core CPU; 3Gb RAM ; ATi x1600 PCIe Video Card
Tuners: 1 Adaptec PVR 3610, 2 PVR 500s; 1 HDHomerun; 2 HD PVR
Storage: 1.2 Tb

Clients: 2 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2008, 02:06 PM
bigbill's Avatar
bigbill bigbill is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 308
I use a UNC path for recording HD programs. Why would using an Unraid NAS box be any different than using a different windows machine for storage of sagetv shows? I have never used unraid, but it says it does windows networking on its webpage so it should be viewed as a windows UNC path like anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2008, 02:43 PM
PGPfan's Avatar
PGPfan PGPfan is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oldtown, Idaho USA
Posts: 862
The difference has to do with the write speeds for the unRaid. Writes are slower due to the need for calculating and writing to the parity drive in addition to the files destination drive. Read speeds has never been a problem.

This has supposedly been rectified by the inclusion of a 'cache' drive in unRaid, but I've never tried using the cache drive as the Sage recording drive so I have no idea if it'd work in the real world.

-PGPfan
__________________
Sage Server: Gigabyte 690AMD m-ATX, Athlon II X4 620 Propus, 3.0 GB ram, (1) VistaView dual analog PCI-e tuner, (2) Avermedia Purity 3D MCE 250's, (1) HD-Homerun, 1.5 TB of hard drives in a Windows Home Server drive pool, Western Digital 300GB 'scratch' disk outside the pool, Gigabit LAN
Sage Clients: MSI DIVA m-ATX, 5.1 channel 100w/channel amplifier card, 2 GB ram, , (1) Hauppauge MVP, (1) SageTV HD-100 Media Storage: unRAID 3.6TB server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2008, 04:05 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,907
I assume that the UnRAID server appears as a mapped drive to your SageTV computer.

Why can't you use the UnRAID drive for recording HD content with the mapped drive? Is the throughput too low to keep up with the recording process? Is mapped drive playback of HD content stored on the UnRAID server OK?

It looks like the UnRAID operating system can only be installed on a USB jump drive, instead of conventional hard drive or solid state drive. Do you know what happens if the USB jump drive fails? Can the USB jump drive be replaced with a backup USB jump drive, then boot up again without any data loss? Or are all your files stored on the UnRAID hard drives gone after the USB jump drive failure?

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD boot, 3 x 1.5 TB
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-28-2008, 12:59 AM
PGPfan's Avatar
PGPfan PGPfan is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oldtown, Idaho USA
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
I assume that the UnRAID server appears as a mapped drive to your SageTV computer.
When setting up my media directories in Sage, I just point it to my unRaid servers shared folder. For example my unRaid server has a share called "Movies" which is what I use as in import folder for Sage. In reality, this is a combination of multiple 'movie' directories across many drives.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
Why can't you use the UnRAID drive for recording HD content with the mapped drive? Is the throughput too low to keep up with the recording process? Is mapped drive playback of HD content stored on the UnRAID server OK?
See my post above. To write to unRaid, whichever disk is being written to AND the parity drive are spun up and written to. These writes take more time due to the cpu having to calculate parity. To overcome this speed problem, unRaid introduced a "cache disk" which is a separate disk that gets written to at FULL speed - no parity is calculated, so no speed penalty.

Later, like 3:00 in the morning, or whenever you assign it to, unRaid will then move the data off of the cache disk - calculating parity at this time - and will write the data to it's final destination. All this, keeping the directory structures fully intact so Sage has no trouble dealing with unRaid. It's quite an impressive system, really.

As for recording HD content directly to an unRaid drive, I can't comment there as I'm not recording HD yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
It looks like the UnRAID operating system can only be installed on a USB jump drive, instead of conventional hard drive or solid state drive. Do you know what happens if the USB jump drive fails? Can the USB jump drive be replaced with a backup USB jump drive, then boot up again without any data loss? Or are all your files stored on the UnRAID hard drives gone after the USB jump drive failure?

Dave
At the unRaid forums there is discussion on how to boot from an optical drive. To me, it's not worth the effort. unRaid just works. Don't worry about your data if you lose the USB drive, you are fine. It's happened to me once before and I was able to get the system back up and running in no time. Also, the deveoloper is GREAT to work with in times of crisis like that!

-PGPfan
__________________
Sage Server: Gigabyte 690AMD m-ATX, Athlon II X4 620 Propus, 3.0 GB ram, (1) VistaView dual analog PCI-e tuner, (2) Avermedia Purity 3D MCE 250's, (1) HD-Homerun, 1.5 TB of hard drives in a Windows Home Server drive pool, Western Digital 300GB 'scratch' disk outside the pool, Gigabit LAN
Sage Clients: MSI DIVA m-ATX, 5.1 channel 100w/channel amplifier card, 2 GB ram, , (1) Hauppauge MVP, (1) SageTV HD-100 Media Storage: unRAID 3.6TB server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:00 AM
brainbone brainbone is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGPfan View Post
See my post above. To write to unRaid, whichever disk is being written to AND the parity drive are spun up and written to. These writes take more time due to the cpu having to calculate parity.
Depending on the bandwidth of the drives and controllers you're using, this may not be a problem. If you're using a bunch of older PATA drives, PCI ATA controllers, or PATA drives on both the master and slave channels, then you're probably going to have some serious bandwidth issues. If you use all PCE-E SATA controllers or SATA controllers integrated into the motherboard's chipset (SATA controllers that don't use the PCI bus), you'll be much better off.

Also, there is a tweak to increase read performance on unraid 4.3.3 by ~ 30%. I haven't tested if it increases write performance.

I'm currently using a HVR 2250 (2 QAM tuners) and I don't seem to have a problem writing HD recordings to Unraid, without a cache drive.

Add to that a shameless plug for my email notification script, that can send an email to my phone if any of the drives in the unraid server starts acting up or overheats, and I'm pretty happy with it.

Last edited by brainbone; 11-28-2008 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage recording on WHS crashes server vhurst SageTV Software 5 11-26-2008 12:00 PM
Deleted SageTV save directory keeps reappearing in WHS Nerva SageTV Software 2 11-14-2008 12:35 PM
Sage for WHS license question, and other blather... vhurst SageTV Software 16 11-11-2008 07:32 PM
SageTV & WHS - storage only or recording too? jeroen020 SageTV Software 1 09-11-2008 09:19 AM
Linux or WHS? tmiranda SageTV Linux 8 08-12-2008 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.