SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:49 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Studio Tools for SageTV V7

I've revamped my Studio Tools for SageTV V7. You will now find the following three plugins in the SageTV plugin repository.

GKusnick's Tools Library contains a set of strongly-typed wrapper classes for the SageTV API, plus some other miscellaneous utilities.

New features in this component since SageTV V6 include:

* Support for V7 Effects widgets.

* Wrappers for the new PluginAPI.

* Various extensions to the SageTV API.

GKusnick's Studio Plugin Framework implements a platform for creating Studio plugins that extend the Studio user interface with custom commands and menus.

Changes in this component since V6 include:

* The Plugins > Manage... dialog is gone; the framework now relies on the SageTV V7 plugin manager to install, enable, and disable Studio plugins.

* Some architectural changes to the way Studio plugins are written. Any Studio plugins you've created yourself will need some code changes to work with the new framework. I'll be happy to help sort out any issues you have in porting your plugins.

GKusnick's Studio Tools runs on top of the framework and implements the searching and editing features you've become addicted to.

Changes in this component include:

* An Enable/Disable STVIs dialog that lets you unload unwanted STVIs from within Studio before you start editing.

* The STVI Tools menu is gone. This has been more or less obsolete since the addition of Studio's built-in STVI generator, so I decided to take advantage of this opportunity to retire it rather than porting it to the new Studio plugin framework. If there's demand I can look into resurrecting it as a separate Studio plugin.

All three plugins include source and documentation, including a brief how-to for writing your own Studio plugins.

Upgrading from the pre-V7 version of my Tools should be fairly seamless; just select GKusnick's Studio Tools from the repository and install. The other two components will be pulled in automatically as dependencies. Obsolete properties and directories from previous versions should be cleaned up automatically.

For reference, the old Studio Tools thread is here. I now consider that thread closed; questions or issues with Tools V1.0 and later should be posted here, in this thread.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2010, 05:35 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Hello,

I'm having trouble getting your plugin to work on a Client PC running a clean install of v7.0.9.

Not really sure what the problem is but in the plugin manager the Studio Plugin Frame Work has Failed but the Studio Tools part is or looks ok.

The error in my log is:

Code:
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.581 [SageTV@1e67e6a] CorePluginManager is checking plugin: gkusnickstudioframework type: Standard version: 1.0.1 by: GKusnick
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.584 [SageTV@1e67e6a] Plugin gkusnickstudioframework is enabled, try to load it from class: gkusnick.sagetv.studio.Inject
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.591 [SageTV@1e67e6a] ERROR cannot instantiate plugin object due to: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.593 [SageTV@1e67e6a] java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.593 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.595 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.597 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.601 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.604 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sage.plugin.a.a(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.605 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sage.plugin.a.if(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.607 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sage.plugin.a.for(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.610 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sage.plugin.a.<init>(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.613 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sage.plugin.a.int(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.618 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at sage.SageTV.run(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.623 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.625 [SageTV@1e67e6a] Caused by: java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.627 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at gkusnick.sagetv.studio.Inject.<init>(Inject.java:255)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.661 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	... 11 more
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.663 [SageTV@1e67e6a] Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.668 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at gkusnick.util.Log.PropsLoad(Log.java:409)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.670 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	at gkusnick.util.Log.<clinit>(Log.java:332)
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.673 [SageTV@1e67e6a] 	... 12 more
Fri 5/21 12:28:05.675 [SageTV@1e67e6a] Loading of plugin gkusnickstudioframework failed!
Let me know if you need anymore info, I can't live without this plugin

Cheers

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2010, 02:13 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
I'm having trouble getting your plugin to work on a Client PC running a clean install of v7.0.9.
"Clean install" is the key phrase there. I'm failing to handle the case where a .properties file doesn't exist yet.

The fix will be in V1.1, but meanwhile, just create an empty file in your SageTV install directory called gkusnick.util.Log.properties and you should be OK.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2010, 02:54 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Yep, thats got it......easily the best plugin around, love it

Thank you

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2010, 05:58 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Greg,

I go away for a few days and when I come back the Sage world is rocked with v7....

I do a lot of my Studio work on a linux machine and I noticed that this new version will not install on linux. Any way you can make it compatible?

Tom

PS. I've been studying up on Java and I'm starting to have a (small) clue about what I am doing
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:39 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I do a lot of my Studio work on a linux machine and I noticed that this new version will not install on linux. Any way you can make it compatible?
Right, this came up once before. The problem is that the plugin is flagged as "desktop only" to keep it from loading on remote clients (Placeshifter and extenders). However Linux doesn't have a non-remote client; Placeshifter is the only UI you get.

Attached is an updated manifest file that turns off the "desktop only" flag. Unzip that into your SageTV installation folder and it will overwrite the manifests in the online repository (for my plugins only) and allow you to install the plugins.

Do keep an eye out, though, for any strange behavior on extender clients. If nothing bad happens, I'll consider making the change permanent in my next release (because clearly Linux users need to be able to install the plugins).
Attached Files
File Type: zip SageTVPluginsDev.zip (1.1 KB, 454 views)
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2010, 08:09 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Thanks Greg. I'll try this out over the weekend. I suspect it will get the same results as the old version, which was good. The only thing that did not work was global searching.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2010, 09:46 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
The only thing that did not work was global searching.
Global searching works for me. If you have a reproducible case where it doesn't, let me know so I can fix it.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2010, 01:37 PM
koelec koelec is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 309
Greg,

I used the stvi export for every stvi I created. It really made creating stvi's a breeze. You say that studio now has the same ability built-in? I just looked for it in V7, but all I found was the export selected menus option, which does not do relinking of references like your stvi export does. Please tell me I'm wrong.

Chris
__________________
plugins:Slimplayer, OSD autohide override, movie trailers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New tools for Studio users GKusnick SageTV Studio 206 11-29-2009 10:08 PM
Looking for Word to PDF & HTML conversion tools (for SageTV manual) Opus4 General Discussion 14 11-09-2005 11:20 AM
any chances of altering the graphics in sage without studio? studio users please read reboot_this SageTV Customizations 1 12-03-2004 04:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.