SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2007, 12:42 PM
reboot_this's Avatar
reboot_this reboot_this is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Big D"
Posts: 257
Which Java version is stable with which SageTV version?

I wanted to create this thread to be a sort of reference to stable java versions. I want to upgrade to the latest public release but am not sure whether I should also upgrade Java as well.

The following should be all that Java stability should be affected by, but will add others if someone else knows more about Java. Please copy and paste the list below into your post so people know what your answers refer to within each post.

EDIT: If anybody posts here then changes their SageTV setup (i.e. motherboard, SageTV version, Java version, etc) and it's stable, please repost, so as many different "stable" setups that can be known - the better!

1. What chipset your motherboard is based on (i.e. Nvidia based, Via based, etc.)
2. Current operating system
3. SageTV version (with full version label, ie. x.x.x), and whether Beta or not
4. Running SageTV as a "service", yes or no
5. If you use the sage computer for "sage use" ONLY or not
6. STV you use
7. Java version you use (must be stable for you)
8. If you record SDTV only or HDTV only or both
Additional comments:

Here is my answer:

1. What chipset your motherboard is based on (i.e. Nvidia based, Via based, etc.)
NVIDIA NFORCE2 Ultra 400

2. Current operating system
Windows XP Pro, SP2

3. SageTV version (with full version label per sage sys info, ie. x.x.x), and whether Beta or not
v6.0.12.110 Beta

4. Running SageTV as a "service", yes or no
yes

5. If you use the sage computer for "sage use" ONLY or not
sage use mainly, very light internet surfing

6. STV you use
Default STV

7. Java version you use (must be stable for you)
v1.4.2_06

8. If you record SDTV only or HDTV only or both
SDTV only

Additional comments:
None
__________________
HTPC HW: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Q9400, 2GB Corsair RAM, PNY Nvidia GT210 vid card, 3 HVR2250s, 2 PVR250s, USB-UIRT (2 STBs), Internal FireWire/Dual IDE Converter (IFC-1)
HTPC SW: XP Pro/SP 2, SageTV v7.1.5.252 Beta, Java v1.6.0_10, PVR drivers v1.18.21.23257, HVR drivers 7.6.1.27118
HD100 Extender: 2 (server is just a server)
Future plans: 1 more HVR2250, 1 Ceton CC 4-way tuner, 10TB diskspace
Issues: 1 PVR250 not working, system board?

Last edited by reboot_this; 04-27-2007 at 02:07 PM. Reason: Added more detailed specs to my chipset info, added comment, added spaced my answers as others to keep things clean because it easier to read
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:46 PM
mattdcknsn's Avatar
mattdcknsn mattdcknsn is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 338
1. What chipset your motherboard is based on (i.e. Nvidia based, Via based, etc.)
Intel E7501

2. Current operating system
Windows XP SP2

3. SageTV version (with full version label, ie. x.x.x), and whether Beta or not
SageTV 6.1.8.133

4. Running SageTV as a "service", yes or no
Yes

5. If you use the sage computer for "sage use" ONLY or not
Sage only

6. STV you use
SageMC 6.3.2C

7. Java version you use (must be stable for you)
1.6.0

8. If you record SDTV only or HDTV only or both
Both

Additional comments: I only use this computer as a Sage Server, no output to TV at all. It is connected to a single client (configured for HD) running the same version of Java. A single MVP is connected via Powerline adapter. I will update this post with specs of the client machine when I can get to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2007, 06:17 AM
CharleyZ CharleyZ is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 32
1. What chipset your motherboard is based on (i.e. Nvidia based, Via based, etc.)
NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP

2. Current operating system
Windows Server 2003

3. SageTV version (with full version label, ie. x.x.x), and whether Beta or not
SageTV v6.1.9

4. Running SageTV as a "service", yes or no
YES

5. If you use the sage computer for "sage use" ONLY or not
Sage ONLY

6. STV you use
Currently default STV

7. Java version you use (must be stable for you)
JRE 1.6.1

8. If you record SDTV only or HDTV only or both
SDTV

Additional comments:
This is a server only and does not have any connections to a TV (or a real video card for that matter). I watch TV via two wired MVPs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get QAM Content with your existing QAM capture cards! Stealth1971 General Discussion 172 02-02-2008 05:58 PM
Can SageTV version 5 use an HD Home Run to record unencrypted QAM channels? GoldenTiger Hardware Support 2 03-05-2007 11:11 PM
Placeshifter version question walter scott SageTV Placeshifter 2 12-21-2006 08:09 PM
Linux version install errors rschellenberg SageTV Linux 4 08-06-2006 09:16 PM
IVTV version gt9228a SageTV Linux 2 05-23-2006 02:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.