SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2013, 11:13 AM
SkierHiker SkierHiker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 102
GoPro Videos Not Playing Back

I just got a GoPro Hero 3 Black for Christmas and have been doing some skiing videos. I'm shooting at 1920 x 1080, 48 fps and the video does not play back in SageTV. It's gets all garbled up then freezes. Playing back the video using WMP works though. If I re-encode the video to 24 fps it then works fine in SageTV. I'm going to do some more experiments with 30 fps but thought I'd get this posted for some feedback since I may want to shoot at 60 fps also.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Google Mini, Intel Pentium 4, 3.0 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 3 TB Sata, Comcast RNG110, ActiSys IR200L, Hauppauge HD-PVR.
Client: Windows 7 64 Bit, Dell Studio 15, Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1 ghz Processor, 4 GB RAM, 300 GB IDE, Intel RDPDD Graphics, Dell HD Audio.
Network: Cat 6, 1G
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2013, 11:23 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
You should probably post some info about the SageTV playback device (PC/OS version or extender) and some info about your video decoding settings...
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2013, 05:41 PM
SkierHiker SkierHiker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 102
The client is a Dell Studio 15 laptop. I updated my Signature with it's specs. SageTV Video Settings are set to the following:

Video Renderer - EVR
MPEG2 and H.264 Video Decoder Filter - ArcSoft Video Decoder
VC-1 Video Decoder Filter - Default
Media Player for non-MPEG Files - DirectShow
DScaler Deinterlacing Filter - Disabled

Could it be that the ArcSoft software is not capable of decoding 48 FPS video, or that DirectShow can't play it back?
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Google Mini, Intel Pentium 4, 3.0 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 3 TB Sata, Comcast RNG110, ActiSys IR200L, Hauppauge HD-PVR.
Client: Windows 7 64 Bit, Dell Studio 15, Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1 ghz Processor, 4 GB RAM, 300 GB IDE, Intel RDPDD Graphics, Dell HD Audio.
Network: Cat 6, 1G
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2013, 07:10 PM
SkierHiker SkierHiker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 102
Update - I tried various combinations of settings with 48, 30, and 24 FPS.

24 FPS works fine.

30 FPS only works with Microsoft Video Decoder Filter and DirectShow.

48 FPS kinda works with Microsoft or ArcSoft Video Decoder Filter and SageTV Player but it plays back in slow motion.

I tried all the Video Renderer options too and EVR was still the best.

I tried a bootlegged copy of CoreAVC 2.0 but it didn't seem to help (I would have bought it if it did).

All FPS videos work fine in WMP.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Google Mini, Intel Pentium 4, 3.0 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 3 TB Sata, Comcast RNG110, ActiSys IR200L, Hauppauge HD-PVR.
Client: Windows 7 64 Bit, Dell Studio 15, Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1 ghz Processor, 4 GB RAM, 300 GB IDE, Intel RDPDD Graphics, Dell HD Audio.
Network: Cat 6, 1G
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gopro, video fps


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Back to Playing Video Taddeusz SageTV Beta Test Software 3 05-21-2010 04:19 PM
Problem playing back HD neilbradley SageTV Software 1 01-01-2009 04:27 PM
Playing back Bluray, how do you do it. m1abrams General Discussion 3 11-17-2008 12:32 PM
Playing back during recording rsagetv99 SageTV Media Extender 5 03-13-2008 12:06 PM
Play videos back to back? magicshoes SageTV Software 4 06-26-2004 01:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.