SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2007, 07:24 PM
zzmystique's Avatar
zzmystique zzmystique is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 211
can't play WMA files on MVP (wmv files play ok)

How do you configure the MVP to play wma files?

The wma files are detected but nothing happens when I click play (MP3's play fine). WMA files play ok through the Sage Media Centre, SageTV client and through Placeshifter.

Have I missed something obvious?

Thanks
__________________
ZZMystique
My setup: Server: SageTV v7, Intel i5, 8GB, 180GB SSD, 4TB HDD, Win7HP & (DVB Viewer Pro with DVB Viewer for SageTV using 2xTBS6281 DVB-T2).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2007, 02:09 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,946
Is there something weird about the files? My WMAs play back fine on the MVP...what Sage version are you on?
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 48GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x10TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 3x8TB SATA Array, 1x hdHomeRun DVB-T2 Quattro, IPTV via xTeVe, unRAID 6.8.1, tvHeadEnd for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 1 FireTV, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2007, 07:36 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Are they protected WMA files? AFAIK, SageTV will only transcode unprotected files.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2007, 07:31 AM
zzmystique's Avatar
zzmystique zzmystique is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 211
my version of sage is SageTV v6.1.9 - I don't think the files are protected - is there a way to easily tell?
__________________
ZZMystique
My setup: Server: SageTV v7, Intel i5, 8GB, 180GB SSD, 4TB HDD, Win7HP & (DVB Viewer Pro with DVB Viewer for SageTV using 2xTBS6281 DVB-T2).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2007, 07:55 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Are these files you ripped yourself with Windows Media Player? If so, right click on the menu somewhere and go to Tools -> Options. The click the Rip Music tab. Make sure that "Copy protect music" is unchecked. If it is checked then all the music you've ripped has DRM applied to it and is unplayable in anything but WMP.

If it's not checked then where were these WMA files from? Did you rip them? Did you buy them from a service?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2007, 08:20 AM
zzmystique's Avatar
zzmystique zzmystique is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 211
The files were ripped from the original cd's on a pc which i have since reloaded xp. The files are protected, so looks like i will have to delete and redo them unless you know of a free utility to convert them to mp3.

will post results when i have re ripped them.

Thanks for your help
__________________
ZZMystique
My setup: Server: SageTV v7, Intel i5, 8GB, 180GB SSD, 4TB HDD, Win7HP & (DVB Viewer Pro with DVB Viewer for SageTV using 2xTBS6281 DVB-T2).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2007, 06:16 PM
joat joat is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 25
Missing pre-requisites

You may also want to go back and ensure that you have the necessary files installed to support transcoding. For Linux (I'm not sure how it's done in Windows), you want to make sure that transcode (mine is 1.0.2) is installed.

- joat
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MVP won't play Audio from HDHomeRun shows with 5.1 audio. mechling-burgh SageTV Media Extender 1 12-08-2008 03:52 PM
Codec help for viewing HD content on MVP waynedunham SageTV Media Extender 17 04-30-2007 08:12 AM
MVP Playback of .ts files dj7675 SageTV Beta Test Software 3 03-09-2007 08:38 PM
Problem with WMV Video Files jfgast SageTV Software 0 07-08-2006 02:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.