SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2014, 10:29 PM
Diego Garcia Diego Garcia is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 264
v7 Hangs on Startup

I'm noticing two problems that appeared a couple of days ago. Not sure if they're related...but I don't believe in coincidences .

The first involves playing back certain video files over my LAN to an HD200. The files, all from the same cable TV show, will not display. The HD200 appears to crash, after a brief pause, when I try to play them. I say "appears to crash" because the screen goes black and I have to power cycle the HD200 to get the user interface back.

The second involves the SageTV UI (i.e., not the service) hanging on my server when it starts up. It stays frozen on "waiting for UI to initialize" or some such for an extended period of time. The only solution -- which doesn't always work -- is to reboot the server. Obviously not a good solution .

One other thing: the first time the problem appeared the Sage UI crashed on the server with the message that the JVM had run out of memory. The process was using just shy of half a gigabyte of RAM at that point.

I looked in the log file and don't see anything odd. In fact, I don't see much of anything at all.

Any tips/pointers/suggestions on how to diagnose and resolve this?

This is all occurring under Win7 32 bit, 4GB RAM, plenty of hard disk space.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2014, 04:47 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,513
Couple things you can try. First, the fact that your HD200 appears to crash but not crash might be because the sage service is not responding the way it should and therefore the client HD200 might be just fine.

Have you checked CPU resources in the task manager to make sure there are no issues?

Have you checked on the server at start, all programs, accessories, system tools, system restore to see if there were any new programs, windows updates, etc. installed recently? You could do a system restore and go back to a prior restore point a few days ago before this incident started to see if that resolves it.

The other thing you can try doing is stop the service and make a backup copy of your sage.properties file and try a prior one before this started. I had a hell of a time getting my new HD HomeRun Prime to work and spent a most of the day working on it and banging my head against the wall only to find out it was a bad sage.properties file on the server.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2014, 10:53 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,857
You should also check the Windows Event Log for error messages. You may have a hardware problem on your server (maybe a failing hard drive or something?).
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2014, 07:44 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,513
Tiki - I was just thinking that when I reread the post - it could be that he has a hard drive going bad. He could schedule a scandisk.

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service startup hangs on system startup Sparhawk6 SageTV Software 6 04-08-2010 08:35 PM
HD200 hangs on startup rswoods SageTV Media Extender 12 12-12-2008 02:10 AM
SageTV hangs on startup dpalmer95 SageTV Software 5 01-01-2007 02:58 PM
Sage 5 Hangs at Startup didymus7 SageTV Software 7 11-10-2006 05:03 PM
.9 beta hangs during startup for me carlgar SageTV Beta Test Software 10 03-13-2006 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.