SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2006, 06:09 PM
AngelofDeth AngelofDeth is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 359
Converting DVD VOB ac3 audio to mp2?

Could anyone point me to a guide, and or software (free) that can be used to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2006, 07:02 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
You could use SageTVTranscoder.exe with the parameters from this post. Since this will work for the MVP it should work to just convert the file as well I think.

Edit: Of course I suppose you also need to use something to specify the Input/Ouput file name so would need those too. So I guess it might not be that easy - opps.

Last edited by BobPhoenix; 09-01-2006 at 07:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2006, 07:26 PM
AngelofDeth AngelofDeth is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 359
I really don't want to transcode (in real time) the vobs, as my server isn't all that powerful. I also figured converting to standard mpeg2 would fix the problem with VOBs time being hosed too. (FF/RW won't work)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2006, 07:31 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
Yes but maybe a combination of the information from this post will help. Sounds like encoding to AVI files works so maybe mixing the parameters will work the way you want.

BobP.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2006, 08:15 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
This appears to work for me:

SageTVTranscoder.exe -i <input file> -f dvd -vcodec copy -acodec mp2 -ab 128 <output file>

BobP.

Edit: although I did convert the .VOB to an AC3 .MPG first with VideoRedo. I'm experimenting with the VOB directly now.
Edit2: It appears to work directly from the VOB but I got errors to start with because I was using the VOB directly off the DVD instead of using a single VOB of the whole DVD.

I tested this with a NON-CSS dvd that I recorded myself. VideoRedo reported audio as AC3 on the input file and the DVDR I recorded the DVD on lists audio format as AC3 so it should be. Tested the output file from command above and VideoRedo listed audio format as MPEG Layer 2 so should be working. I don't expect this to work with a encrypted DVD's however.

Last edited by BobPhoenix; 09-01-2006 at 08:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2006, 08:35 PM
AngelofDeth AngelofDeth is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 359
Thanks, that did the trick. Now if only SageTV 5.1 was out and actually fixes the widescreen problem I will be real happy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.