SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2003, 04:55 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,173
Question Pushing the Limits

I'm an Engineer, by trade, so am use to pushing the limits of a system. This is just to find out what is, and is not, possible with SageTV.

SageTV works with multiple tuners in a single PC chasis, but what about integrating multiple chasis? If I had two PCs, each with multiple tuner cards, could I have a Sage Client that treats them both as one large SageTV server? Can I have the second PC be a client to the first?

The best, practical, exampe of this would be if your recorder PC were a bit loud so that you stored it in another room and used a micro-ATX PC with a PVR-350 to display the image to the TV. Could the PVR-350 be used to record shows in conjunction with the main recorder PC? Or, if you were addicted to TV, could you have two PCs, each with 4 tuners, linked together as one large one and have a SageTV client display shows from both PCs?

To what extreme could I take this? Would the limit be the number of remote recorder PCs? Would it be a tuner limit? Would it scare small children? Would it be the end of the world as we know it (and I feel fine)?

Like I said, I tend to push the envelope. I don't plan on building something like this, but I would like to know what my options may be in the future (yes, my recorder PC is rather loud, but I can live with it).

- Jonathan

p.s., I can actually see some people doing this if they were wiring a new house. Have the multimedia station in the basement with a computer running all the cable/satellite inputs. From there, running Cat 5e to all the rooms and ship the programming up from the servers. At even high quality, were only talking 8 Mbps per stream.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2003, 05:16 PM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
Re: Pushing the Limits

The short answer is YES.

Because SageTV supports network encoders through the use of SageTV + Sage Recorder you could easily have two machines with 4 tuners in each that act as one large system. You do this by having SageTV on one machine (with as many tuners as you can support machine and disk throughput-wise), and then putting Sage Recorder on the other machine with more TV tuners. You then map the Sage ecorder tuners into the first machines Sage TV configuration (there is documentation on how to do this). At that point the machine running Sage TV can controll ALL of the tuners, even the ones in the other machine! Then you could simply connect the Sage Client directly to the one box running SageTV and have access to all of the shows both machines recorded.

Very easy, very built in, has been done before (although maybe not w/4 tuners in each machine).

What you can't really do is have two completely independant servers which both run SageTV and then have Sage Client automatically know that there are two servers. Sage Client can only connect to one server at a time (which is why the way I described it in the last paragraph works even though you have two encoding machines).

So while it isn't a complete distributed TV recording system, through the network encoder support you can do almost exactly what you are asking with TODAYs versions of the software (not months down the road in some 'future' version).

As far as the ultimate limit, I'll have to let Jeff answer that... I have never seen him say what the technical limit for the number of network encoders is...

Jason

Quote:
Originally posted by fidget
I'm an Engineer, by trade, so am use to pushing the limits of a system. This is just to find out what is, and is not, possible with SageTV.

SageTV works with multiple tuners in a single PC chasis, but what about integrating multiple chasis? If I had two PCs, each with multiple tuner cards, could I have a Sage Client that treats them both as one large SageTV server? Can I have the second PC be a client to the first?

The best, practical, exampe of this would be if your recorder PC were a bit loud so that you stored it in another room and used a micro-ATX PC with a PVR-350 to display the image to the TV. Could the PVR-350 be used to record shows in conjunction with the main recorder PC? Or, if you were addicted to TV, could you have two PCs, each with 4 tuners, linked together as one large one and have a SageTV client display shows from both PCs?

To what extreme could I take this? Would the limit be the number of remote recorder PCs? Would it be a tuner limit? Would it scare small children? Would it be the end of the world as we know it (and I feel fine)?

Like I said, I tend to push the envelope. I don't plan on building something like this, but I would like to know what my options may be in the future (yes, my recorder PC is rather loud, but I can live with it).

- Jonathan

p.s., I can actually see some people doing this if they were wiring a new house. Have the multimedia station in the basement with a computer running all the cable/satellite inputs. From there, running Cat 5e to all the rooms and ship the programming up from the servers. At even high quality, were only talking 8 Mbps per stream.

Last edited by JasonJoel; 08-01-2003 at 05:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2003, 05:23 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,300
Limit?? Not sure what it is...there's no specific limit anywhere in the software...most I've heard of yet is 5. Anyone topped that yet?
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2003, 06:20 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally posted by Narflex
Limit?? Not sure what it is...there's no specific limit anywhere in the software...most I've heard of yet is 5. Anyone topped that yet?
You do realize that you may force me to try it out! If I do, it will be all your fault.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.