SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-23-2010, 09:38 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
The only reason I've been looking is I'm really wanting to run unRAID, and with my R5000, I'm basically stuck running Windows for Sage, so to do so requires running two OS's side by side, which either means two sets of hardware or two VMs.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-23-2010, 10:51 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Right, that's my situation too. But unfortunately, I'm running a server/client, so i can't really use ESXi. I am thinking about using VMWare and hosting an unRaid server in windows.. just haven't gotten around to it.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-24-2010, 12:35 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Right, that's my situation too. But unfortunately, I'm running a server/client, so i can't really use ESXi.
I don't follow, I'm running a client (extender)/server setup too. Unless by that you mean you use your server frontend. If that's the case, PCI passthrough (VMDirectPath/VT-d) will let you pass a video card through to the VM. You just have to make sure you get a supported video card.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-24-2010, 12:39 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I don't follow, I'm running a client (extender)/server setup too. Unless by that you mean you use your server frontend. If that's the case, PCI passthrough (VMDirectPath/VT-d) will let you pass a video card through to the VM. You just have to make sure you get a supported video card.
yes, that is what i mean. i dont know how well the passthrough would work on my system, its using integrated graphics. i also dont think it would really gain me anything virtualizing the whole thing. like i said, the only real advantage i see would be to use unraid with windows.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-24-2010, 01:21 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
True, the only thing is if you were to virtualize anything, I think you're better off running ESXi over say VMware Server since ESXi eliminates the overhead of running a VM system on top of another OS.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:19 PM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
So I am contemplating the possibility of virtualizing, but I am not sure the route to go or if this works. Here is my setup:

WHS w sagetv v7. 2XHDPVR, 1X HDhomerun

I am just beginning to build a new unraid server.

My thoughts are:
1. Build the unraid server and install VMware server and virtualize my whs server inside vmware server.
or
2. Build the new computer. Install esxi and virtualize both unraid (w direct passthrough to the hard disks) and my whs server.

What are your thoughts on the senarios and possibility of success.
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-11-2010, 05:19 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Why unRAID and WHS?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-11-2010, 05:52 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
maybe bcause he already owns the license of SageTV for WHS and not want to buy another license? I'm assuming that the SageTV WHS license won't work in another OS.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-11-2010, 07:31 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
It will work on any Windows OS (AFAIK). It was mainly a curiosity, there's a decent amount of overlap between the two OS's.

To the question, I'd probably go with option 2. Everything I've gathered is that ESXi is much "lighter" than VMware on top of another OS. You do lose a bit of performance for the "host" OS by running it on top of VMware instead of under it, but you lose less performance on the guest-OS.

And from my limited testing the HD PVR and HDHRs should be fine virtualized.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-13-2010, 04:45 PM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
WHS works great for backing up all my computers. I also really like the my movies auto ripping feature. Unraid for hosting all the movies (blurays really take a lot of room), easily expandible, more efficient use of disk space.

I don't like that you cannot backup the whs os but I have had to reinstall before and it isn't that bad. As long as you are backing up the sagetv folder (this is very important), all the rest is easy to recover. The backup and restore of windows computers using whs is hard to beat.
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
esx, esxi, hd-pvr, lantronics, ubox-2100, vmware, vsphere


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.