SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2009, 07:48 PM
sam99 sam99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 98
netflix loopback no sound

thanks to the old posts and some new assistance on these boards, i have the netflix plug in working except for one last hurdle. I am not getting any sound. I am assuming this is because I have the sound muted or turned down somewhere that I shouldn't on the server but I just can not seem to figure out where.

My setup:
old pci 128 all-in-wonder using the purple dongle thingy outputting s-video and red/white sound. The s-video plugs into the s-video input on one of my hvr-1600's. The red/white sound output goes into a splitter cord that ends in a jack that fits into the sound input on the hvr-1600. Video works, sound does not.

I have played with the sound settings and checked to see if anything is muted. I am not exactly sure whether I should be looking at line in values or aux values or what. I am assuming the problem is at the sound output on the all-in-wonder, but again, I am not positive. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
SageTV user since 04/07!
Server: Athlon 64 3000+ 2g, 2x500m mem, 80g OS, 4x500gb in hotswap enclosure, 3x1tb sata2, 2xHVR1600 dual tuners. Splitters on cable SD line (channels 1-99) and attic antenna for OTA HD
Client1: HD300, 60" Samsung 60A3000 great room
Client2: HD200, 40" Samsung LCD bedroom
Client3: HD100, 42" Panasonic Plasma kid's playroom; Client4: MVP, 36" CRT basement workout area; Client5: MPV 13" CRT garage workbench
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2009, 08:08 PM
Morgan111's Avatar
Morgan111 Morgan111 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Posts: 762
Sam,that sound output you are using, is it the system's audio output, or is it an output for the card's tuner? I have the motherboards sound output going to a hauppage 500 card. Plug in some headphones or speakers to the systems audio output jack while playing a movie. Check the audio mixer for a mute or low volume setting for the relevant source.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:27 PM
sam99 sam99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morgan111 View Post
Sam,that sound output you are using, is it the system's audio output, or is it an output for the card's tuner? I have the motherboards sound output going to a hauppage 500 card. Plug in some headphones or speakers to the systems audio output jack while playing a movie. Check the audio mixer for a mute or low volume setting for the relevant source.
well, at first i thought ah ha! and ran down and switched the output from the video card to the motherboard sound output, which i plugged a pair of headphones in to test sound output first. Came back upstairs expecting to be done with this and...

An exception occured in Java:
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no DShowPlayer in java.library.path


That message pops up when i try to run sage on the server now. Unplugged audio cable and same message after reboot. So now something hosed my server. Been searching on this message or similar ones for ideas and no joy. I can not believe I spent this much time on this today just to get this right before i was ready to go to bed, ugh.

I had also ran WMP for the first time on the server and so had to go through the setup, just to get some sound downstairs.
__________________
SageTV user since 04/07!
Server: Athlon 64 3000+ 2g, 2x500m mem, 80g OS, 4x500gb in hotswap enclosure, 3x1tb sata2, 2xHVR1600 dual tuners. Splitters on cable SD line (channels 1-99) and attic antenna for OTA HD
Client1: HD300, 60" Samsung 60A3000 great room
Client2: HD200, 40" Samsung LCD bedroom
Client3: HD100, 42" Panasonic Plasma kid's playroom; Client4: MVP, 36" CRT basement workout area; Client5: MPV 13" CRT garage workbench

Last edited by sam99; 03-01-2009 at 09:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2009, 10:38 PM
sam99 sam99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 98
and thus my saga comes to an end. First off, thanks morgan, your hint led me to correctly switch the output source from my all-in-wonder card to my motherboard and fed that into the tuner. Once i fixed my other problem, this solved my sound issue.

My other problem is that I noticed that my files in my sagetv folder started at E. In other words, I had no files starting with A, B, C or D. I thought that was odd and checked my backup folder and sure enough, I was missing some files including the dshow.dll. I had somehow deleted the first 10 files following the folders. Not sure how that happened, but i get such bad delayed response time when working on my server in vnc, that sometimes things get dragged and dropped and other stuff when i dont mean to. I have never looked into why that is and if there is something i can do about it. So anyway, copied those files back in from backup and fired it up and netflix is running smooth now.

Thanks for the great work on the plug in morgan! Just watched 30 minutes of an old 70's martial arts movie and was loving it, heh.
__________________
SageTV user since 04/07!
Server: Athlon 64 3000+ 2g, 2x500m mem, 80g OS, 4x500gb in hotswap enclosure, 3x1tb sata2, 2xHVR1600 dual tuners. Splitters on cable SD line (channels 1-99) and attic antenna for OTA HD
Client1: HD300, 60" Samsung 60A3000 great room
Client2: HD200, 40" Samsung LCD bedroom
Client3: HD100, 42" Panasonic Plasma kid's playroom; Client4: MVP, 36" CRT basement workout area; Client5: MPV 13" CRT garage workbench
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netflix Control: A Netflix Silverlight Remote Control Script brainbone SageMC Custom Interface 59 04-22-2013 01:44 PM
Netflix TheNakedMan SageTV Media Extender 2 02-25-2009 05:55 PM
Netflix API! jrog General Discussion 20 10-30-2008 08:04 AM
netflix loopback hack questions biooya SageTV Customizations 3 08-05-2008 12:11 PM
Using MS Loopback Driver for UNC path with a HD Homerun (HDHR) jprine01 Hardware Support 2 05-30-2007 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.