SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 06-02-2010, 09:13 PM
Sage User

Quick & Dirty Guide for Noobs?

Okay, so I'm just about done with my very first server build and I'm really looking forward to loading SageTV and joining this great community. My problem is, as a noob, I can't find any "guides" to starting from scratch. Maybe there is one on these forums that I just can't find.

I have a sizable (300) amount of DVD's including Movie's, TV shows, Concert video's & some instructional videos. I also have about 50 BRD's that I'd like on my server as well.

I have a sizable music library (iTunes)(250Gb) that I'd like to bring over as well. Meta-data is already attached.

Before I load everything up en masse I'd like to "prepare the way" so to speak. I certainly want to organize my collection in such a way so that I can assign meta-data to the information. But I'm not sure how to go about this or perhaps I should use some naming conventions that will make some meta-data tool work more accurately.

Should I just copy ALL my stuff into one folder and let SageTV sort it out or is that asking for trouble?

Added into that is the hubbub over the Sage 7. I know there are probably many different approaches to do what I am asking. But some sort of primer with pros/cons of various approaches by one of you SageTV sages would certainly make this voyage a bit less anxious.
Old 06-03-2010, 07:19 AM
Sage Icon