SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2004, 11:38 PM
falltime falltime is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 40
Help w/ USB-UIRT to control SA-3100 STB

I am usually pretty good at figurng this stuff out, but I cant get the USB-UIRT to recongnize commands from my Digital Cable Remote - Scientific Atlanta 3100. Is it not compatible? Seems weird b/c it has got to be the most popular cable box around.

Anyone got any ideas.

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2007, 04:36 PM
LazyGun LazyGun is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 115
Sorry to bump an old thread, but has anyone got this working?
My USB-UIRT doesn't flicker it's LED when trying to train the PC. But if I try it with my old Hughes Remote, it does.

So I guess my UIRT is working. But it doesn't seem to notice my Comcast remote for this SA-3100.

The remote has a jumper inside by the battery compartment, but I have no idea what that does either (if it is even relevant ).

Thanks

LazyGun
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2007, 05:08 PM
LazyGun LazyGun is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 115
So, apparently the remote is a 56khz (from a post on the USB-UIRT forum), and I assume the UIRT I have is not the 56khz option. So, it won't learn my remote codes.
Does anyone have .ir file for their Comcast remote that controls this box (or I assume a similar box) that I could have?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:43 AM
Armondole's Avatar
Armondole Armondole is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 67
try putting the remote a few centimeters away from the receiver when learning the codes...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2007, 08:16 AM
mattdcknsn's Avatar
mattdcknsn mattdcknsn is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 338
Also, make sure that Sage is NOT running in service mode. I had that problem earlier, and I am not sure if it has been fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2007, 08:32 AM
LazyGun LazyGun is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 115
I tried all kinds of distances (I was even tempted to duck tape the thing to the remote ) so I don't 'think' it's that, but I will try more tonight.

And I'll try the service mode thing. That surprises me as the LED blinks on the UIRT when I use a different remote.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2007, 09:12 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdcknsn View Post
Also, make sure that Sage is NOT running in service mode. I had that problem earlier, and I am not sure if it has been fixed.
BTW: this problem should have been fixed for v6.1.6 and later.

Also, check the USB-UIRT forum -- I think there is a test program to check usage of the USB-UIRT. But, if it is the 56khz issue, then I suppose it may just depend on finding an existing .ir file. (I thought it could send those codes, but not learn them w/o that optional detector.)

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2007, 10:11 AM
LazyGun LazyGun is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
But, if it is the 56khz issue, then I suppose it may just depend on finding an existing .ir file. (I thought it could send those codes, but not learn them w/o that optional detector.)

- Andy
That was my guess when I couldn't get the LED to blink.
I'll look for the test program tho. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2007, 07:48 AM
LazyGun LazyGun is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 115
It works!

So i downloaded the lrnHelper.exe from the USB-UIRT forums, and hey presto it started to receive my IR commands.
So I just pressed each button, copied it into the .ir file..and away I went.
I've attached my IR file in case anyone else wants it.

I didn't try the service mode thing, and I noticed I am still running 6.0.
So it could well have been that issue.

Anyway..all is good now.

Thanks for your help.

P.S. attached it as a txt file..so rename it to .ir if you need it.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SA3100.txt (2.9 KB, 200 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems controlling DEC-3000S with USB UIRT oaamaas Hardware Support 2 04-10-2007 01:52 PM
USB UIRT not always tuning phunny Hardware Support 3 03-24-2007 07:51 AM
STB control and setup questions mcbinder Hardware Support 0 04-18-2006 12:25 PM
DirecTV D11 Serial (USB) control works Se7enLC Hardware Support 3 04-07-2006 08:24 AM
Usb Uirt doesnīt work in Sagetv Service mode in V4 Nadim Hardware Support 3 12-08-2005 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.