SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2012, 11:44 PM
thebib62 thebib62 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Temp. License Key Expired

My temp key has gone past 21 days, and I want to purchase the software, but when I click 'buy now' it re-directs me to the homepage, where I can't click on anything but the email, and forum link.

How do I go about ordering SageTV?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:22 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
SageTV was purchased by google over a year ago, and you have not been able to purchase one since then. If you have access there is a classified section where you could purchase one.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2012, 10:54 AM
gilded07's Avatar
gilded07 gilded07 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebib62 View Post
My temp key has gone past 21 days, and I want to purchase the software, but when I click 'buy now' it re-directs me to the homepage, where I can't click on anything but the email, and forum link.

How do I go about ordering SageTV?
Used licenses and products for sale here:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=52
__________________
Headless Server: Q8400 2.66ghz / MSI P45 Neo2-FR / 4GB
Storage: 120 SSD for SageTV / 3TB for TV recordings / Unraid NAS 5TB for vids, pics, music w Plex Docker
Tuners: HDHR3 x 2
Extenders: Nvidia Shield x2 / 3 placeshifters
Server Software: Win 10 64, SageTV 9.1.5.683, Java 8_241, Real VNC
Other: MiniClient, Commercial Detector UI, Sage Recording Extender
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2012, 12:36 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
It looks like there are no server licenses for sale on that link or ebay. There were a number of server and client licenses being sold a couple of months ago. You'll have to keep watching both places for another license to be sold.

If you have an image of your computer, you can recover back to before the software was installed, then install it again for another 15 days. You would have to repeat that process until you find a used license for sale.

If you do not have an image of your computer, you would need to format the drive, re-install Windows and your other programs, then take an image, then install SageTV.

It's important to have an image before installing new software. If you do, then you can completely uninstall the software by recovering your system to the point in time before the install occurred. Otherwise, the add/remove programs does not completely uninstall the program, which is not enough to install the trial again.

It would be a big hassle to have to keep using the trial that way. It would be much simpler if you could simply buy the software. Unfortunately, Google does not want to sell you the software and does not want your money.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2012, 01:24 PM
wildgoose wildgoose is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 156
I don't understand why Sage doesn't just post a license for everyone to use.

The company's been bought, the product is no longer being sold. For all we know, the product could been abandoned for good. What harm would it cause to just provide a license for existing users to use? It's the least it could do for its existing user base.

I don't understand why Google would care either way. If a product has been abandoned by a company, would one be in violation of the law if one use the product without a license?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2012, 01:58 PM
gilded07's Avatar
gilded07 gilded07 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgoose View Post
I don't understand why Sage doesn't just post a license for everyone to use.

The company's been bought, the product is no longer being sold. For all we know, the product could been abandoned for good. What harm would it cause to just provide a license for existing users to use? It's the least it could do for its existing user base.

I don't understand why Google would care either way. If a product has been abandoned by a company, would one be in violation of the law if one use the product without a license?
Some are hoping that the license gets changed to open source so it can be freely used / shared. However, there may be code in SageTV that is licensed from the intellectual property holder and there may be code that is proprietary to SageTV LLC (now Google) that Google doesn't want to share freely.

If either of these conditions exist, an open source license or free keys may never happen.

It was kind of them to let us upgrade to v7 for free.
__________________
Headless Server: Q8400 2.66ghz / MSI P45 Neo2-FR / 4GB
Storage: 120 SSD for SageTV / 3TB for TV recordings / Unraid NAS 5TB for vids, pics, music w Plex Docker
Tuners: HDHR3 x 2
Extenders: Nvidia Shield x2 / 3 placeshifters
Server Software: Win 10 64, SageTV 9.1.5.683, Java 8_241, Real VNC
Other: MiniClient, Commercial Detector UI, Sage Recording Extender
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD-300 erronously displaying: Expired License stevech SageTV Media Extender 7 05-12-2011 10:58 PM
Plugin CPU temp razorspells SageTV v7 Customizations 2 10-12-2010 11:28 PM
Have valid Media Ext. license, yet get trial expired? vhurst SageTV Media Extender 5 05-16-2006 10:27 PM
CPU/MB Temp Monitor? InsertHere SageTV Customizations 12 07-23-2005 10:54 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.